We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Turyaa Kalutara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turyaa Kalutara
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spend the last one and a half week in this hotel and enjoyed it so much. The staff is helpful, friendly and very service minded, trying to make our holidays a real pleasure. Our cabana was clean, spacious and nice, with a great ocean view and decent beds.

The food in the various restaurants was good, offering both western and asian dishes and also the salads and fruits were safe to eat for our western stumachs.

One point of attention is the number of Russian guests, which is clearly outnumbering the other origins.

For sure, we would considering staying again in this hotel, when visiting Sri Lanka another time?

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkvanKesteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    271
    88
    34
    24
See reviews for
267
309
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Four of us went to this hotel, booked for us by Mercury Travel. We had a lovely time on the 10 nights we stayed there. This hotel cater for all the nationalities. Chef Suneil tried his best to cater for the vegetarian food we liked. Guest Relations staff, specially Tillini and Mealika helped us a lot. The service is very good. All the staff have nice smiles on them and happy to help whenever needed. Only thing I found in this hotel is short of sunbeds. If anyone needs one, have to get up at 6am and reserved with beach towels! Swimming pool is shallow and have a very small deepend for the swimmers. Overall this hotel is brilliant, and very clean. I would like to return there again.

Room Tip: Like higher rooms with seaview as will have less flies and good view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usha73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

An excellent hotel with superb service as expected from a premier company ACE (Aitken Spence). Will be going there again at the end of this year. Hats off to the General Manager's presence at all times,which makes the running of a smooth ship.A bit stark, needs more colourful vegetation. Must be a market for 'bring your own sunbeds'. I agree with the previous review Haze 62. The dress code of some of these eastern Europeans, was much to be desired. The management should insist the Agents brief their clients on all aspects including the intake of alcohol. Its disgusting to see, especially the men in their sleeveless vest exposing their tattoos and hairy armpits either at lunch or dinner.Beware!! Sri Lanka will end up like Benidorm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank croiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here 1 - 19 February 2013. The hotel was lovely & clean, rooms were bright, clean & airy with good view of the sea. We stayed in Room 208 and even had a lawn (astra turf) leading from the balcony. However, it could have been a hotel anywhere in the world, I felt it was totally bland and lacking in charm. Very little outside the hotel so nowhere to wander to in the evenings etc. as very little entertainment inside the hotel. Totally lacking in comfortable areas to sit near a bar and the dine around scheme was a complete myth!! Having said all that, the location as far as beach and sea was wonderful - good pool, gymn, spa etc. but not enough sunbeds to go round (the promised ones had still not arrived on 19 Feb!!). Staff were, without exception, wonderful, friendly and always helpful. Great variety of food but could have been hotter (after several complaints, we felt it was definitely improving by the time we left).

Room Tip: High rooms give a better view (over the tops of trees) all rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is our second visit to Sri Lanka 1st February - 14th February 2013 - first time to this hotel. Our room was a good size with sea view (309) - the bathroom was on the small side - very modern & both kept extremely clean. On our first evening we found the food to be only luke warm & the plates cold. We told the rep the next morning & he reported to the kitchen & they were quick to put things right. The food overall was ok but nothing to write home about. The majority of guests were from the Ukrain some of which did not understand the dress code or good manners. Some used their fingers to sample the food. Some B&B guests took bags of food from the breakfast buffet to eat during the day on their sunbeds. The choice of imported wine was very limited & not always available.Pool & grounds were ok although a shortage of sun beds could start world war III. The entertainment was almost non existent & the bar areas during the evening had absolutely no atmosphere at all. Food for the 'dine around' came from the main buffet restaurant & not all drinks were all inclusive (i.e. hot chocolate) or available in all bars & restaurants. Big waves & strong currents make sea bathing a no go for children & weak swimmers. Having said all the above the staff were very helpful & friendly especially our cleaner 'Babuda', waiters, lifeguards & animation team were all 'stars' doing their best to please everybody.

Room Tip: Furthest one from the lifts as people arriving & departing in the early hours of the morning d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haze62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at The Sands for 2 weeks from 6 February and having read previous reviews we were very apprehensive about our stay. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel overall. We were upgraded to a cabana room which was clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel could not do enough to please us. The food was OK although the curries were better than the international meals. The evenings were very unexciting. There was only "beach bar" in the hotel grounds to spend the evening as that was the only proper bar at the hotel. There was another "bar" which they put on entertainment but it wasn't didn't seem to us like a proper bar area.The range of drinks available under All Inclusive was limited and cocktails were not really cocktails, just spirits with a couple of mixers. There was a shortage of sunbeds - 100 rooms and 120 sunbeds - so not enough to go round. You have to be up very early in the morning to grab your bed. This problem needs to be addressed although the hotel is well aware of the situation and has not done anything about it. The pool boys were very nice and helpful and they did their best to help but unfortunately they got all the aggro from guests who wanted beds when there were none left. Sri Lanka is a lovely country and we would go back again, but not to The Sands as they need to improve the sunbed situation and the lack of atmosphere in the bar area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovemyhols_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Child Okeford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed from the 25 January for 3 weeks having booked a cabana room. On arrival after we had been kept waiting for nearly half an hour we were taken up to the 2nd floor of the main hotel. I pointed out that that perhaps a mistake had been made as we had booked a cabana room. So back to reception to get it sorted and we were then taken to our booked room, which had hastily been cleaned. Not a good start. The hotel we were told has recently been refurbished and it was just about ok. The food was good but tended to be repetitive. The hotel is advertised as dine around, however its the same food served in different restaurants. We tried the restaurant with waiter service and was ok to begin with, however at a later date the food was served cold, and we found out that it all comes from the main buffet kitchens further away. The entertainment in the evenings was virtually non existent so after dinner and perhaps a drink it was back to our room about 9.30. Cocktails are alcohol and mixers ie coke or squash. There are not enough sunbeds although the pool boys did their best. The majority of staff were very kind and helpful although there are quite a few that do not understand English. Would we come back to Sri Lanka? Yes. Would we come back to The Sands? Oh Dear.

Room Tip: Rooms in main hotel are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
1.3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,132 reviews
22.7 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
929 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,381 reviews
14.1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turyaa Kalutara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turyaa Kalutara

Property: Turyaa Kalutara
Address: Kudawaskaduwa. Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka (Formerly The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turyaa Kalutara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turyaa Kalutara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Kalutara Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Kalutara
Kalutara Ramada
Ramada Resort Sri Lanka
Turyaa Kalutara Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing