We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with superb service”
Review of Turyaa Kalutara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turyaa Kalutara
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

An excellent hotel with superb service as expected from a premier company ACE (Aitken Spence). Will be going there again at the end of this year. Hats off to the General Manager's presence at all times,which makes the running of a smooth ship.A bit stark, needs more colourful vegetation. Must be a market for 'bring your own sunbeds'. I agree with the previous review Haze 62. The dress code of some of these eastern Europeans, was much to be desired. The management should insist the Agents brief their clients on all aspects including the intake of alcohol. Its disgusting to see, especially the men in their sleeveless vest exposing their tattoos and hairy armpits either at lunch or dinner.Beware!! Sri Lanka will end up like Benidorm.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank croiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Turyaa Kalutara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 791 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here 1 - 19 February 2013. The hotel was lovely & clean, rooms were bright, clean & airy with good view of the sea. We stayed in Room 208 and even had a lawn (astra turf) leading from the balcony. However, it could have been a hotel anywhere in the world, I felt it was totally bland and lacking in charm. Very little outside the hotel so nowhere to wander to in the evenings etc. as very little entertainment inside the hotel. Totally lacking in comfortable areas to sit near a bar and the dine around scheme was a complete myth!! Having said all that, the location as far as beach and sea was wonderful - good pool, gymn, spa etc. but not enough sunbeds to go round (the promised ones had still not arrived on 19 Feb!!). Staff were, without exception, wonderful, friendly and always helpful. Great variety of food but could have been hotter (after several complaints, we felt it was definitely improving by the time we left).

Room Tip: High rooms give a better view (over the tops of trees) all rooms have sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is our second visit to Sri Lanka 1st February - 14th February 2013 - first time to this hotel. Our room was a good size with sea view (309) - the bathroom was on the small side - very modern & both kept extremely clean. On our first evening we found the food to be only luke warm & the plates cold. We told the rep the next morning & he reported to the kitchen & they were quick to put things right. The food overall was ok but nothing to write home about. The majority of guests were from the Ukrain some of which did not understand the dress code or good manners. Some used their fingers to sample the food. Some B&B guests took bags of food from the breakfast buffet to eat during the day on their sunbeds. The choice of imported wine was very limited & not always available.Pool & grounds were ok although a shortage of sun beds could start world war III. The entertainment was almost non existent & the bar areas during the evening had absolutely no atmosphere at all. Food for the 'dine around' came from the main buffet restaurant & not all drinks were all inclusive (i.e. hot chocolate) or available in all bars & restaurants. Big waves & strong currents make sea bathing a no go for children & weak swimmers. Having said all the above the staff were very helpful & friendly especially our cleaner 'Babuda', waiters, lifeguards & animation team were all 'stars' doing their best to please everybody.

Room Tip: Furthest one from the lifts as people arriving & departing in the early hours of the morning d...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Haze62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at The Sands for 2 weeks from 6 February and having read previous reviews we were very apprehensive about our stay. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel overall. We were upgraded to a cabana room which was clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel could not do enough to please us. The food was OK although the curries were better than the international meals. The evenings were very unexciting. There was only "beach bar" in the hotel grounds to spend the evening as that was the only proper bar at the hotel. There was another "bar" which they put on entertainment but it wasn't didn't seem to us like a proper bar area.The range of drinks available under All Inclusive was limited and cocktails were not really cocktails, just spirits with a couple of mixers. There was a shortage of sunbeds - 100 rooms and 120 sunbeds - so not enough to go round. You have to be up very early in the morning to grab your bed. This problem needs to be addressed although the hotel is well aware of the situation and has not done anything about it. The pool boys were very nice and helpful and they did their best to help but unfortunately they got all the aggro from guests who wanted beds when there were none left. Sri Lanka is a lovely country and we would go back again, but not to The Sands as they need to improve the sunbed situation and the lack of atmosphere in the bar area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovemyhols_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed from the 25 January for 3 weeks having booked a cabana room. On arrival after we had been kept waiting for nearly half an hour we were taken up to the 2nd floor of the main hotel. I pointed out that that perhaps a mistake had been made as we had booked a cabana room. So back to reception to get it sorted and we were then taken to our booked room, which had hastily been cleaned. Not a good start. The hotel we were told has recently been refurbished and it was just about ok. The food was good but tended to be repetitive. The hotel is advertised as dine around, however its the same food served in different restaurants. We tried the restaurant with waiter service and was ok to begin with, however at a later date the food was served cold, and we found out that it all comes from the main buffet kitchens further away. The entertainment in the evenings was virtually non existent so after dinner and perhaps a drink it was back to our room about 9.30. Cocktails are alcohol and mixers ie coke or squash. There are not enough sunbeds although the pool boys did their best. The majority of staff were very kind and helpful although there are quite a few that do not understand English. Would we come back to Sri Lanka? Yes. Would we come back to The Sands? Oh Dear.

Room Tip: Rooms in main hotel are larger
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

we stayed at the sands, kalutara, 20th jan to 10th feb 2013. had a brilliant holiday, hotel was good, the food, the staff, the rooms were excellent, the only two points on the downside were not enough sunbeds, but understood that while we where there more were on order, and the evenings where a bit boring with very little entertain, but during our 3rd week there seemed to be more, so it seems they do listen to what clients say. we will definitely be going back next year if only to see our lovely staff members who becames friends.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 4th floor and where very happy. some floors have rooms with larger balconies.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

When i first arrived, I was taken aback by the size of the pool area, garden and the beauty of the location. More thasn ideal for a relaxing beach holiday.
The food was excellent. There was a large range of local and international food (which tasted fantastic) and also there was a good selection for vegetarians.
However, everyday the only fruit available en masse was pineapple, papaya and banana. This got extremely tedious. The funny thing was, a little bit of apple or orange was served with desert but they really offered that for breakfast for lunch.
The staff were all wonderful, very friendly and nice to talk to.
The entertainment was terrible. The management team had no idea to organise fun. Many people were unhappy. water aerobics lasted a measely 20minutes. They have some sports faciltities but didn't utilise them. And who on earth would put a library in a gym??! Obviously aitken spence - that's who!
During my stay, I met many people who had stayed here before its refurbishment. They were of the opinion that the life had been ripped out of the hotel.
Before there was a pool bar, great for socialising. This has now been taken away.
There was a play area for children - gone.
Squash courts - gone
crazy golf - gone
previous guests had given a donation to have flowers planted - ripped up and gone.

Another major fail occured on Independence day - Feb 4th. The management invited the guests to a ceremony on the morning of the 4th. Being a tropical island and national day, we were hoping for a little carnival. Complete opposite. There was a solemn flag raising, with some music crackling over the p.a. system. The majority of regular staff were kept indoors to finish their chores. Afterwards, we were given tea and biscuits. Bitterly disappointing.
Many guests were trying their hardest to go to the Tangerine. apprently they know how to liven things up.
On another crazy note. A few nights of the week a special night was staged at the restaurant outside by the pool. The only problem being that this restaurant is a lot smaller than the main room and so people were left stanidng waiting at the tables!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burning_wheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
1.3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,167 reviews
22.8 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
966 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Club Waskaduwa Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turyaa Kalutara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turyaa Kalutara

Address: Kudawaskaduwa. Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka (Formerly The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $71 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turyaa Kalutara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Turyaa Kalutara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Kalutara Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Kalutara
Kalutara Ramada
Ramada Resort Sri Lanka
Turyaa Kalutara Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing