We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont order anything and charge it on your room always pay cash and take the recipe bad service”
Review of Turyaa Kalutara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turyaa Kalutara
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Dont order anything and charge it on your room always pay cash and take the receipt because they stole the money i give and charge it on my room number one of the waitress also they are very slow when you order any food they may bring it after 1 hour nice hotel but bad service

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rashroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 819 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

the hotel was originally the Ramada but a very expensive make over has changed the hotel from a Sri Lankan luxury hotel to a boutique style hotel where the rich of Columbo come for their weekends away. We loved it as the Ramada but are now unsure. The staff are delightful the rooms are excellent and the food fantastic but the atmosphere has gone. The roof top ayurvadic massage has been replaced by a balanese massage in faux massage parlour and prices have rocketed. The shops have gone replaced by a board room leaving only a jeweller. Aitken Spence have a lot to answer for we shall not return.

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea choose floor 3 for geat views of the sea and the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I checked in to this hotel this sunday to attend weddign on monday. Initial impression cleanliness and friendliness of the staff was very good. We stayed on for lunch and used the good facilites of the hotel. During the buffet lunch viaariety of food and drinks and service were extremely good
cons: during the evening we found the security att eh reception was sadly lacking for an international standard hotel. No poerters or any oneat the reception.
next morning the breakfast was very disappointing. The place was dirty and the staff were very indifferent and non-caring.A far cry from the lunch of the previous day.

Room Tip: Be careful about security Delay going to breakfast till the F&B manager arrives
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sudhi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My family made reservations at this hotel for dinner and was assured that we could use the pool at the time. When we arrived there, the front office staff kept us waiting for 20 minutes trying to find out from a manager if it was acceptable for us to use the pool, she was quite perplexed that four of has arrived with a dinner voucher for 2 (surely we were not going to sneak 2 people into the restaurant ??). Our requests to speak to a manager was to no avail.
We found the food to be over-rated and bland, and lacked a range of choices, although the restaurant staff were very courteous quite unlike the front office. lack of training in handling a range of situations seemed to be the main problem with these staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Asantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A group of us stayed here, having booked last minute. The journey from the airport was suppose to be 2 1/2 hours, over 4 hours later we arrived. This was due to the horrendous driving conditions in Sri Lanka.
The rooms were clean, some had fridges, some not, some had wardrobes, some did not. The rooms were spacious, breakfast was buffet style and had enough choices. We did not eat evening meals in the hotel we got a taxi to Kalutara to the Red Lobster, which was a locally run restaurant and the food was amazing.
Would we stay here again, yes.

Room Tip: Floor 4 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CraigDN72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our 9th visit to Sri Lanka and the third to this hotel and the Sands is one of our favourite hotels in our price range. As the Ramada it was a nice hotel but the renovations have improved it further. It is now bright and spacious. We consider it to have the best rooms of all the coastal hotels that we have stayed in. The rooms are large, quiet, spotlessly clean and with fantastic sea view to watch the sunsets or approaching storms from the balcony. The new shower room is excellent with plenty of hot water. The staff in all departments were exceptionally polite, attentive, without being overbearing, and they felt more like friends than hotel staff. They could not do enough for you. The food was good with a variation of sri lankan and european dishes. We personally found the air conditioning in the restaurant a bit cold.
We were there for three weeks and found it completely relaxing, although there is a good, large swimming pool, gym and sauna, daily boules competition and water aerobics on several days if you wanted some exercise. You have to be cautious at swimming in the sea at times during the year but this is clearly stated in guide books. There are long stretches of beach either direction to walk off breakfast. This is swept twice daily to keep clean.
Although for some people the hotel might feel isolated if you are prepared to venture out a short distance up the road you can catch local buses and trains into Kalutara for 15 rupee and beyond..Quite a fun experience for a couple of OAP's. The hotel evening entertainment was OK for us but foryounger people it might not be lively enough.
There is a low security fence to the beach which stops the inevitable beach boys and sari sellers. The local beach boys stopped pestering us when we made it clear we were not interested in using them after which they were always friendly and no problem. We have always travelled with Mercury Direct and Aitken Spence and have no complaints whatsoever. We always use Aitken Spence to visit other parts of the island.
We were there for three weeks but still did not want to go home. The whole atmosphere was friendly, relaxing but professional. It feels like home. We hope to go back sometime next year.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and on higher floors there is an uninterrupted view of the beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roger278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited this hotel in August whilst I was in SriLanka. The hotel had been recently refurbished so great atmosphere and every thing was brand new. The staff was very friendly and gave amazing service.
The rooms were clean and massive with great sea views.
There was a great selection of food for locals and the foreigners.
Since it has been recently refurbished not many people knew about the hotel. So the hotel was quite.
I would highly recommend this place and I you are in Sri Lanka this hotel is closer to Colombo and provides great service, food and atmosphere. Absolutely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShaniW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
1.3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,537 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Club Waskaduwa Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turyaa Kalutara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turyaa Kalutara

Address: Kudawaskaduwa. Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka (Formerly The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $74 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turyaa Kalutara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Turyaa Kalutara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Kalutara Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Kalutara
Kalutara Ramada
Ramada Resort Sri Lanka
Turyaa Kalutara Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing