We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood, be careful with Xtras”

Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Russian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Red Lobster is a family business since 2005 in Kalutara area. Mainly we are serving Sea Foods with high quality & taste. We have beautiful and natural Restaurant in Kalutara, Sri Lanka. There are not parts before or after "Red Lobster". We are just "Red Lobster". You are serving below mentioned services to you. Restaurant ,Tours (To all the cities in Sri Lanka) , Spa (Ayurveda Massage )
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at Kalutara Avani hotel with my wife 2 weeks ago (march 2013) and had a try at Red Lobster. The food and service were really excellent. As far as every restaurant in Sri Lanka also offers a wide variety of other services we also booked a 3 day tour (historical sites + tea plantations). Well... There were some surprises, to say the least, during the trip. Some "mistakes" were made by the driver and the guide. The negotiated price took a substantial hike upwards and as a nice person much better off than the RedLobster team, I didn't make a big deal out of this. But I don't like to feel cheated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank K0PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 400 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

what a great restaurant, the food was delicious, amazing value and real fresh ingredients. Yohan was very welcoming and also recommended some great trips and took us around personally. Please be careful about many places around who tries to steal identity of this great place!.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Lucia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yohansrilanka, Owner at Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your great encouragement.

Yours friendly,
Yohan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

my wife and i were staying in the tangerine beach hotel in kalutara and not having a good time,thou the hotel was staffed by fantastic people and the grounds and location great the buffet food was dire,.
we had read about the red lobster through trip adviser and was always going to visit it, but now it became a make or break moment for the holiday.
we arrived at the restaurant to find it closed ,but after our tut tut driver found yohan the owner ,we never looked back.
each time we visited(and it was a lot because of hotel) we were treated fantastically by yohan and his family
the food was great and so fresh
simply speaking it saved our holiday
my wife is notoriously fussy, but she would have gone back every night.
we recommend this place , for real sri lankan cooking ,home made

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank dwhit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We Stayed at the Tangerine hotel in September and looked up Red lobster tours and Restaurant before we arrived. It is ran by a local family and are the best in town!!! The food and atmosphere is fantastic!!! Very friendly and great value for money, a real taste of Sri Lanka!..Do not get The Red Lobster mixed up with the Fresh Lobster!!! near by. The Red Lobster family especially Yohan will look after you, they made me safe and welcome (some of the beach boys can be quite persistent and intimating at times) These guys really looked after us and made our trip to their beautiful country a very special one I will truly treasure for the rest of my life.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Corrinamc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yohansrilanka, Owner at Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your great encouragement.

Yours friendly,
Yohan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having booked our holiday to Sri Lanka we began planning our itinerary. After visiting tripadvisor.co.uk we stumbled upon Red Lobsters Tours, after reading the many great reviews we contacted Yohan via Face book with our wish list and awaited a response. Yohan swiftly replied and was more than helpful in ensuring all our needs where met. We had a one week in Sri Lanka staying in Kalutara at the Avani beach resort which was only 200 yards from the Red Lobster restaurant, the base for Red Lobsters Tours (not to be mistaken for Fresh Lobster restaurant and tours which is located across the road on the beach). Our itinerary was to include trips to Yala National Park on a two day safari (which was a great experience as we saw two leopards, but I expected more as I imagined it to be like safari in Africa. Overall, a good trip worth doing). Everything was taken care of by Yohan including the hotel for the overnight stay. We also wanted to visit Pinawala Elephant Orphanage which turned out to be the best trip by far, Yohan made sure we didn't miss a thing; we fed one elephant fresh fruit followed by a young elephant a bottle of milk, all of which was included with our trip and at no extra cost. Our final trip would be to Sigaria Rock fortress, climbing the 1200 or so steps to the top are well worth the effort as the views are spectacular, our guide was fantastic ensuring we where well informed.

We had regular contact with Yohan as he updated us and reassured us that everything was booked and taken care of, we where a little apprehensive to say the least as we decided to go against our holiday tour operators advice of booking our excursions with them and not risking using the locals. The price Yohan gave us was half the price our tour operator quoted us and for only a £20 deposit paid by international bank transfer.

On arriving at our hotel we visited Yohan at the restaurant to discuss the finer details. We met Yohan's family who all work in the restaurant and on the tours even Yohan’s beautiful 5 month old daughter Yohani. They where all so very welcoming and friendly. Yohan explained our trips to us and informed us that not only would we visit the three sites we wanted but on route we would be visiting Temples, Sea turtle rescue & hatchery, Tsunami photograph museum, Tea factory, Rubber tree plantation, River boat safari and the Dutch fort at Galle. Also for booking our trips with Red Lobster Tours Yohan gave us a free 1 hour massage, a free meal in the restaurant (sea food was fabulous) and a free TukTuk ride to where ever we wanted (he recommended Bentota beach for a day in the sun). WOW! On all our excursions there was only myself and partner in the group which gave it a more personal touch.

Overall I can not recommend Red Lobsters Tours and Restaurant enough, Yohan and his family bent over backwards to ensure our trip to Sri Lanka was a memorable one.

Thankyou.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yohansrilanka, Owner at Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your great encouragement.

Yours friendly,
Yohan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant also viewed

 
Kalutara, Western Province
 

Been to Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing