We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant and tour company”

Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Sri Lankan, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Red Lobster is a family business since 2005 in Kalutara area. Mainly we are serving Sea Foods with high quality & taste. We have beautiful and natural Restaurant in Kalutara, Sri Lanka. There are not parts before or after "Red Lobster". We are just "Red Lobster". You are serving below mentioned services to you. Restaurant ,Tours (To all the cities in Sri Lanka) , Spa (Ayurveda Massage )
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant and tour company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We ate at the Red Lobster and the food was lovely. Yohan and his family were very accommodating. We also booked some tours through the restaurant and Patrick was an excellent driver and only took you where you requested. Definitely recommend them for food and for booking your trips.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yohansrilanka, Owner at Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your great encouragement.

Yours friendly,
Yohan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    39
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

One of the best food experience! If you want to pamper yourself eating fish including lobster, this is the place to go. Where else can you eat a variety of fish, 2 curry's, rice, salad, fruits and 2 beers for £22?! The owners are very friendly and it is a shame tourists go all inclusive and do not try the local food. If you are a fish lover than this is a place to go. It is walking distance from Avani Hotel and a very safe and clean place. It beats the hotel food by a mile! The owner's sons speak good English and a list of other languages.

Red Lobster also do tours. Although the tours are a little bit pricey, the family looked after us throughout the day.You can have the exprience of a private tour on the private people's carrier or you can decide to go cheaper and find other tourists that are willing to share the car.

I would recommend anyone to at least try once this fish experience. It is honestly the best food I have ever eaten.

Well done boys!

Tess and Robert (New Zealand)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tesa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yohansrilanka, Owner at Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your great encouragement.

Yours friendly,
Yohan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fresh home made food by a lovely family business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

P have just returned from Sri Lanka on 5th April we ate at the Red Lobster numerous times and the food was fantastic so fresh and so good value. We had 2 lobsters each at least 8 huge king prawns, unlimited rice, pasta, curry sauce, a beautiful salad. Desert bananas, melan, pineapple, cake we were fit to burst, all this for £20 each, yohan the owner is a gentleman. We also used Yohan to do a 4 day tour of, Kandy,elephant orphanage, temple of the tooth, tea plantation etc it was amazing and well organised by Yohan and the hotels he organised were beautiful. Will done Yohan, I would highly reccommend using this family for tours and taxis. The beach boys give this restaurant a bad name but believe me the beach boys are gangsters and con artists who rip tourists on taxis, tours and are connected to the kanilanka hotel as they have family working at this hotel as contacts?!!!... 100% good food red lobster

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank burkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yohansrilanka, Owner at Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your great encouragement.

Yours friendly,
Yohan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We had read previous reviews on Trip advisor recommending the Red Lobster. Given the average fare served at the Kani Lanka we were more than happy to pay it a visit.

It only takes a few minutes to walk from the hotel. We were impressed with the quality of the food and the friendly service we received.

Highly recommended if you are staying in Kalutara.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yohansrilanka, Owner at Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your great encouragement.

Yours friendly,
Yohan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food & lovely Family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at the Kani Lanka Hotel in November; before we arrived we researched the local area.
We decided to give Red Lobster a try as it had such great reviews. We were not disappointed.
Yohan and his brother made us feel extremely welcome and went out of there way to make sure we had a great time.
The food was home cooked by their mother, which we cannot fault. The first meal we had was the sea food dish, which had lobster, Jumbo Prawns, Crab, Squid and Fish. The meal also came with a huge bowl of vegetable rice, a few curry dishes and lots of fresh fruit for afters. All this for around £20.
We enjoyed the meal so much that we booked another meal for our last night, which was just a great as the first meal.
Yohan and his brother told us lots of great stories and we really enjoyed seeing lots of great photos. After our last meal Yohan & his family gave us a bag of wonderful fresh spices. So far we have produced a few great curries.
I would highly recommend going to the red lobster for dinner. They also offer great tours for a very good price.
Meeting Yohan and his family and having dinner at their restaurant was a great highlight of our holiday.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jenny157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yohansrilanka, Owner at Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your great encouragement.

Yours friendly,
Yohan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant also viewed

 
Kalutara, Western Province
 
Kalutara, Western Province
Kalutara, Western Province
 

Been to Red Lobster Tours Spa & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing