We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lobster in Kalutara.”

J Lobster Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Kalutara
Price range: $20 - $200
Description: J Lobster Restaurant is a hidden gem on the emerald isle of Sri Lanka. Located just 40 min south of the capital city , Colombo. J Lobster is an oasis in an otherwise bustling city.Hidden away among coconut groves and lush beach vegetation, J Lobster has always kept nature in mind and has long been considered by regulars as a hideaway on the beaches of Kalutara.
Restaurant details
Description: J Lobster Restaurant is a hidden gem on the emerald isle of Sri Lanka. Located just 40 min south of the capital city , Colombo. J Lobster is an oasis in an otherwise bustling city.Hidden away among coconut groves and lush beach vegetation, J Lobster has always kept nature in mind and has long been considered by regulars as a hideaway on the beaches of Kalutara.
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic Sri Lankan restaurant. Sea food is fresh, we ordered lobster, jumbo prawns and tiger prawns. Delicious. And last but not least: very friendly staff- Sandy.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Agachr1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLobsterseafood, Administration at J Lobster Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thank you for your review of the J Lobster Seafood Restaurant Kalutara.

Thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you and look forward to extending our Sri Lankan Hospitality to you on your future visits.

Thank you

Yours sincerely
Prasad Silva
Guest Relation Officer
J Lobster Seafood Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 83 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited J Lobster restaurant and the food was amazing. We had the grilled lobster, with rice and noodles. I usually don't like lobster but they certainly turned that around for me. Being a small restaurant, the staff are very attentive and really do look after you. If you are staying in the area this restaurant is definitely worth visiting.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Passport759136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLobsterseafood, Administration at J Lobster Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing J Lobster seafood Restaurant .

We are pleased that your enjoyed your recent meal in our restaurant. We appreciate your comments about the ambiance as every aspect of the interior has been designed to ensure that our guests are treated to a unique dining experience.

Our team will be delighted to learn that their efforts have been appreciated. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Prasad Silva
Guest Relations Officer
J Lobster Seafood Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

First review on TripAdvisor and had to review as soon as I got home. Seafood platter for two was the best seafood we’ve ever had anywhere in the world, (and we love seafood).
Best part about J Lobster is it’s unique location right next to the train tracks, but Jeewan and his team are incredible, and really look after their guests - even making my girlfriends birthday extra special last minute. Make sure you go here when in Kalutara - Amazing, thank you for making our trip extra!!!

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLobsterseafood, Owner at J Lobster Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Dear jack

Thank you for reviewing J Lobster Restaurant . We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent meal at our restaurant. The ambiance of the restaurant has been designed with much thought and care to treat our guests to a unique dining experience. We appreciate your comments about food and service as we continuously strive to excel in our standards. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Kind Regards
Jeewan De Silva
Business Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018

We went to this restaurant last week and was recommended by various people -
we were not disappointed - IT IS FANTASTIC ! THIS IS FIRST CLASS FOOD,
the best fresh sea food we ever had. Cooked perfectly by JJ's experienced chef !
We had the special with lobster king prawns calamari crab and whole barracuda fish
with mixed noodles, salad thin chips all washed down with beers and a lovely bottle of sauvignon blanc ! Yes you can order wine here, yippee - so perfect, what more can we say!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank debpaulg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLobsterseafood, Owner at J Lobster Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Dear Sir/Mam

Thank you for reviewing J Lobster Restaurant . We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent meal at our restaurant. The ambiance of the restaurant has been designed with much thought and care to treat our guests to a unique dining experience. We appreciate your comments about food and service as we continuously strive to excel in our standards. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Kind Regards
Jeewan De Silva
Business Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

Just fabulous seafood platter ..great selection enormous tiger prawns great lobster and calamari ..crab and barracuda all for just over £20 for two people !!
You must go to experience this food if you are in Kalutara ..English cricketer is the owner speaks good English great staff very attentive ..thank you j lobster for a fabulous night
Also look on trip advisor for j lobster tours !!

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank levsfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLobsterseafood, Owner at J Lobster Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Dear Sir/Mam

Thank you for reviewing J Lobster Restaurant . We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent meal at our restaurant. The ambiance of the restaurant has been designed with much thought and care to treat our guests to a unique dining experience. We appreciate your comments about food and service as we continuously strive to excel in our standards. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Kind Regards
Jeewan De Silva
Business Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Lobster Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Kalutara, Western Province
 
Kalutara, Western Province
Kalutara, Western Province
 
Kalutara, Western Province
 

Been to J Lobster Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing