We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
44
51
31
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
44
51
31
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jaffna railway station green grass hotel excellent service and food conveniently located right convenient location an affordable price speak some english restaurant staff mutton curry lovely hotel golf buggy sun loungers laundry service breakfast buffet jaffna food room boy rooms are clean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 146 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2019 via mobile

I have been teaching at the university for the past two weeks and stayed here again. Do not confuse it with Green Grass Hotel - that is adjacent and owned by the same company. Valumpuri is more upmarket. Since last year a Jetwing has opened opposite but I think they will be more expensive. If you like Sri Lankan food you will love eating here. Traditional breakfast is the meal of the day - just ignore any pre-conceptions about only eating curry in the evening and enjoy it for breakfast. There is a call order for omelettes and you can have toast and marmalade but if that's what you want why come to Jaffna at all? The rooms are nice and the best have balconies. There is no sea view from anywhere but from the top floor it's impressive enough. Air con in the rooms and wifi throughout. Much improved since I also started using the green grass connection. Pool is a good size for swimming. Some people think it's cold but I expect that is only because they are so hot. Poolside furniture is tired. They could really use some locally made wooden sun-loungers with wicker and cushions with some matching chairs to go round the tables. The changing rooms have been tiled since last year but there are no hooks or benches. Staff are very helpful (provided they have understood) most speak some English and some speak good English. Confusion when asking for a towel at the pool is that they deliver it to your room so don't keep asking or you will have several on your bed! There are areas for improvement. The back stairs that lead down to the pool need attention and decorating. There are often weddings here and while the noise is intrusive if you are in your room in the evening it doesn't carry on into the night.
So will I stay here again? Yes I expect so because it is so convenient being next to the station (trains are pretty rare so don't worry about noise, although my room was at the back both times and there is a 6am train that might wake you if you at the front). Before booking here I would check out the prices at the two Jetwings. It is probably better value here but not quite so plush.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Dazelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019 via mobile

We did reach the hotel around 6am and appreciate that they gave us an 8 hrs early check in. Staff is really good and helpful, specially the room boy who did attend is wonderful. He did always check whether everything is in order (sorry ...can’t remember his name).
I must say , their food is extra perfect . We did enjoy their cuisine at our best. Thanks from The other side of the country.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank JanaNSula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

Our travel agent booked a standard room for us at Green Grass hotel, but we were sent to the adjoining Valampuri that has the same owner.
We were givven. A room in the annex. The room is small, has no window and is old and run down. Towels have stains.
On the plus side: airco and fan are working. Breakfast is good an dinner at the patio of the Green Grass hotel is also really good.
A disappointing experience. My advise: do not book a standard room

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jacobo889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019

We stayed at The Valampuri for 3 nights in February. We were a few friends visiting relatives and also there to oversee a charity sporting event. Very pleased with our stay. Clean, spacious and tidy rooms. Efficient friendly staff. The food was excellent whether it was in room dining, breakfast or at the Green Grass restaurant. The pool was fantastic and really nice to cool down at the end of the day. We also availed ourselves of the conference room facilities and found it to be excellent. All the staff were friendly and looking to meet our needs which was refreshing. In particular Gowtham, the hotel manager and Madonna the reception manager always greeted us with a smile. To cap it all when we left, we were dropped by a golf buggy to Jaffna railway station which is 100 meters away. Perfect. Cant wait to return for our next stay.

Room tip: Third floor - both sides of the corridors rooms have excellent views
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank muralikaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed for 2 nights at this hotel during our train trip to Jaffna. The hotel location is very convenient for train travelers as it’s located right next to the railway station. So you could get down from Jaffna railway station and walk to the next door hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant is authentic Jaffna food so it’s a good food experience.. Jaffna mutton curry, Jaffna crab curry are a must to have as it’s full of good flavors here. Rooms were nice and clean and worth the price paid.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Th_Gam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews