We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely simple homestay, great welcome”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
RECEPTION The Washrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
RECEPTION
The Washrooms
Typical Jaffna Food
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Jaffna, Northern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
JLM36
Waterloo, London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely simple homestay, great welcome”
Reviewed January 21, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed three nights, in a simple twin room, very clean, with air conditioning. Dilhan our host was fantastic, full of ideas and so helpful with lots of different recommendations. The room is one of a few that are part of the upstairs of the property. There's a large dining room with a kettle and tea and coffee, which is a great touch. Dilhan was kind enough to offer us a home cooked dinner the last night, which we were very grateful for and very touched. We felt that his home was our home and really enjoyed our stay. Would return many times!

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lovely host
Liked least: Little bit of noise at nights with the train, the church, but nothing important
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2016
Dear Respected Guest,
Thanks for choosing my place to stay and for your valuable review.
Regards from Jaffna,
Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelbre...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value and food!”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place has good rooms for a good price and is clean and comfortable. It is a little out of the way but it depends what you are there for. There are food options close-by still and tuk-tuks are everywhere (and the owner, Dillan can organise one for you, with a driver who lives next door and you can trust - Dillan can also arrange for him to give you a tour of the peninsula for reasonable prices). They can also do breakfast and dinner, which are highly recommended, I enjoyed hoppers for breakfast and Jaffna food for dinner (far more than I did elsewhere in Jaffna). I stayed for four nights.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2015
Dear Respected Guest,
Thanks for your valuable review & recommandation.
Regards,
Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinJ594
Danube-Auen National Park, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Clean, simple accommodation and a wonderful host....”
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked into D Villa for three nights having found it on the web and Trip Advisor. The accommodation is on the upper floor of Dilans house, there are 4 or 5 rooms and a common sitting area. The rooms are clean and functional with good working a/c and a roof fan and well large enough for two adults in large twin beds (actually two doubles). The bathroom was a wet-room with a shower, loo and wash-hand basin on two levels keeping the loo out of the way of the shower. We did a B&B rate and the breakfasts were good home cooked fare. The fridge was stocked with beer and water and you helped yourself on an honesty basis. This is a good, clean, functional villa offering exceptional value for money.

I can not write this without mentioning Dilan (the owner) who speaks perfect English and is very kind and helpful. He sorted us out a neighbour who drives a Tuk-Tuk who collected us after breakfast and finished after we had gone out for dinner. He suggested things to see that were well off the normal tourist-track and briefed the driver on the route and sequence and suggested excellent places for lunch and dinner. Dilan is who makes the place and he is very kind, helpful and accommodating.

My view: this is a simple, clean and well-run facility with good food and an exceptional host / owner offering fantastic value for money.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Dilan suggesting trips and things worth seeing
Liked least: Bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2015
Dear Mr & Mrs Gavin,
Thanks for your valuable review which gives more courage to keep doing the same service to the guests. And, will do so...
Regards from Jaffna,
Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kated01
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our stay at D'Villa Guest House. Dylan is a fantastic host - he speaks excellent English and was full of ideas to help us make the most of our stay in Jaffna. He also works with a really sweet and kind tuk-tuk driver who took us on a great day trip around the peninsula and charged much lower prices than the other drivers we came across.

The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were fantastic. Can't recommend this place enough - just go!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality and the breakfasts!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
Dear Respected Guest,
Thanks for your review about my Guest House.
Best Regards,
Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone M
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite Hotel in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at D'Villa for 4 nights. Dilan, the owner was always very friendly and helped us very competent with all our questions. Speaking an excellent English, he could tell us a lot about Jaffna and its history, and recommended some places we would not have found without him. The D'Villa has 5 guest rooms which all have the same standard. Our room was very clean and we felt like at home.

We ate at the guesthouse two times (homemade, authentic, delicious Jaffna food) - it was absolutely fantastic!!

Thank you very much Dilan for everything!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service, Food, perfect Host
Liked least: that we had to leave...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2015
Dear Respected Guest,
It is my pleseure to serve you at my guest house.
Thanks for your valuable Review.
Regards from Jaffna,
Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LachlanAn...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I stayed for 3 nights in April 2015 with my wife. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The rooms were well presented, clean, spacious, comfortable, air conditioned.

Dilan was very helpful with all our arrangements. For example we had to change our dates from our original booking a couple of weeks before arrival and that was no problem for Dilan.

Food was magnificent, my wife is a Sri Lankan Tamil raised in New Zealand and she thinks the food was almost as good as her mum and aunties'.

Good value for money. Location is fine in Chundukuli.

We made the booking via email after getting contact details from here and paid in full at checkout - this seems to work best for the owners.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2015
Dear Lachlan & Anusha,
Thanks for staying at my place and for the review.
Regards,
Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Excellent host - very helpful. The place was clean. Breakfast was good.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 10, 2015
Dear Respected Guests,
Thanks for staying at my place and for your encouraging review.
Will keep the same service offered to our guest in the future too.
Regards from Jaffna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing