We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grassy establishment”
Review of Green Grass Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Grass Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jaffna
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Although we didn't stay here (our family did but it was fully booked when we couldn't get a room) we spent both evenings here in their bar. The faulty tower-esque service was a great conversation point. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Emil. If you order food however, be prepared to wait. The string hoppers are particularly good. The rooms are clean and large, and the kids can run around in safe surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Coookster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Green Grass Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 181 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

Nice little hotel in Jaffna, we didn't expect to find such a place, certainly not for this price. Bargaining is recommended, we ended up paying a little more than half their initial price for a superior room.
The swimming pool is certainly a big plus of this hotel, as is the attentive and friendly staff at the front desk and the restaurant. Our room was flawless, everything worked as it was supposed to, and we ended up staying much longer than intended. The bathroom was a little bit tiny, but was pretty decent.
Especially worth mentioning is the restaurant, they serve easily the best food of all of Sri Lanka, we rarely ate anywhere else, their local Jaffna food is just as delicious as is their Indian food. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Street_Spirit85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

It was very unfortunate to highlight the fact that this hotel is not worth for the money. Bathroom fittings were improper, broken and dirty. Doors were not safe and the mattress was damaged. The rooms are worth 60% of the price paid, based on the existing quality and other services. However, the food was good and the staffs were friendly. I don’t blame hotel staff for the weaknesses. It should be a management responsibility to maintain the guests’ facilities. Unfortunately, it seems to me like the owner is trying to make maximum without providing the adequate facilities. It is a shame.
I hope the management would take immediate actions to improve the facilities and conditions of the rooms without further delays.

Room Tip: Do not take room no: 01 if you need your privacy and need a good sleeping quality.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We moved here after our first guesthouse was very dirty. The room was clean if a little stuffy, however it was fine with the a/c on (which was included in price). The receptionist was very helpful and there is an extensive menu in the evening.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank fionajosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Me and my friend recently stayed at green grass Hotel. Without doubt this an extremely well managed hotel and we have never stayed at a place where the staff have been so consistently helpful, friendly. Nothing was too much bother for any of them unless the construction. Our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed. The hotel provides good access for those with mobility issues.

We also stayed another hotel before the day, it was really disgusting. Anyway we found a nice hotel in Jaffna city.

They are forming a new building with deluxe and suite, near the railway station construction also almost finished, I hope we’ll go next time by train.

We are looking forward to our next visit ……..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lanadela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Jaffna has very limited choices when it comes to Food & stay.
Green grass is popular with expats since this is the oldest hotel in Jaffna where most foreigners stay.
Breakfast is ok and you get good Jaffna food.
Rooms need renovation but clean.
outside area is superb with a swimming pool.
Evenings cant enjoy the garden resataurant with drink beacuse of too many mosquitos.

Room Tip: Although this hotel is popular recently new hotels have come up check those out. But it may be costl...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAJ k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Visited with my family and there were three of us. Since we were happy to share we got a triple room. The room was quite old and the bathroom smelt of sewage. Had to get our own lime and vinegar and empty it into the drains. The shower was dismal. The water only managed to wet me after about 2 mins. I used the pool and the shower near the pool most of the time and it was better.
We ordered dinner by the poolside this was good as the evening breeze was very cooling. The dinner was ok nothing to write about.
This place was recommended to us as the best place to stay. Maybe I didn't get a good room but it wasn't that great.
The new building seems to have a few more modern rooms. It will be good to come back and experience these rooms.
Overall it was an OK stay. I would come back once the rooms have been updated.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Sarana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaffna hotels
0.6 mi away
Jetwing Jaffna
Jetwing Jaffna
#1 of 9 in Jaffna
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Whale Hotel
Blue Whale Hotel
#5 of 9 in Jaffna
17 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tilko Jaffna City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Margosa Bongo Stay
14.9 mi away
PJ Hotels
PJ Hotels
#3 of 9 in Jaffna
39 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Thinnai
The Thinnai
#1 of 49 in Jaffna
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Grass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Grass Hotel

Address: 33 Aseervatham Lane, Hospital Rd, Jaffna 40000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Northern Province > Jaffna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jaffna
Price Range: $32 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Grass Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green Grass Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing