We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Beach Location with a Twist”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaffna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thalsevana Holiday Resort
Ranked #5 of 45 Jaffna B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Golden Beach Location with a Twist”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 for 3 nights during a tour of the North & East of Sri Lanka. The location of this Resort at Kankesanthurai (KKS) cannot be faulted on the Northern most shores of Sri Lanka with a fantastic private beach which affords unsurpassed views of both sunrise and sunset. The Hotel itself was comfortable with very spacious and clean A/C rooms and bathrooms. The water in the bathrooms did smell bad though. The food was good but selection a bit limited. I think we had grown rather tired of the ever present "kata sambol" which unfortunately was not that edible! The staff were very helpful if somewhat formal, as is the whole place. That perhaps is not surprising given the military background of the resort (see below).

This resort will appeal more to some than others. Why? Well for one it is some distance from the main hub of activity in Jaffna. Second it is within high security military zone. The downside is there isn't much else within reach. The plus side is that you are in a very secure location. However it does lead to the bizarre contrast of gazing out on a gorgeous sunset while listening to the "last post" being sounded and watching armed soldiers wandering around!

If you want a quiet scenic location away from the hubbub of Jaffna and are happy with staying within a rather formal environment then this is certainly for you. May appeal more to Sri Lankans more than Overseas Tourists.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveldoctor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    50
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
11
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This resort is managed by Sri Lanka Army and located in a high security zone. Therefore accessing the property may require completing additional formalities. Once you are in , you feel it is really worth. Away from the buzzling city of Jaffna, resort is right beside the northern coast of Sri Lanka (KKS). Atmosphere is very calm and serene. Staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful. Lovely Sri lankan food and service. Rooms are spacious and clean. Ideal place for a relaxing holiday.Love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This must be safest place in Jaffna. Very clean. We stayed in a villa. Villa we stayed in was extremely large including the bathroom. The beach was breathtaking. Staff is very friendly and food was very tasty and you have to order what you want. Only problem there with the food is they have set menus. In the night they had a calypso band which was so nice to have by the beach. I recommend this hotel to any one who wants stay in Jaffna.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinithi_Peiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staff extremely attentive and pleasant, possibly overly so.
Renovations occurring, which leads to noise sunrise to sunset, so if holiday and sleep in are your thing, do not stay here currently.
Located on military base.
On the water with fabulous views and sunsets.
Much sea glass which makes for a pretty walk.
Food limited in menu, but ample. Reasonably priced.
Wifi limited to two rooms, and even then, they turn it off.
Very slow to get bills.
Bar bills can get mixed up.
Rooms very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Thalsevana for three days and enjoyed every minute of it. We had six in the party., ages ranging from 30 to 80. Rooms were clean, service was courteous, food was wholesome. Pol roti made by the army cooks was delicious. Most of all we loved relaxing on the private beach in the evenings. Beautiful, clean beach. Rooms were spacious, and there were facilities to sit outside in the veranda watching the sunset and enjoying a cup of tea and chatting with friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Padmini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel.Staff is very courteous .Lovely location .Very safe. Hotel is very clean which is an impossible thing to find in Jaffna Hotels.They speak English and had a calypso band.Beach is fantastic and can have a good swim.Food is tasty but basic , but you can order your own stuff.overall it is the best hotel in jaffna Very very CLEAN.Must have a swimming pool .Had a fantastic serene time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The service was very courteous and good. All the staff are from the army, including the manager Mr Raymond, who is a major. The rooms at Thalsevana II were air conditioned but very basic. Also very cheap at Rs. 2000 a day. The more up market rooms are 5500 and are plush. The food is a bit pricey at Rs 600 for a basic string hopper or rice and curry buffet. The tap water is salty so you have to buy bottled water or bring your own. The bathrooms can do with a regular cleaning. Located by the sea (can bathe) on a beautiful location. Can watch both the sun rise and set. 20km from Jaffna and most of the road has been made.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dinesh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaffna hotels
10.7 mi away
Jetwing Jaffna
Jetwing Jaffna
#1 of 9 in Jaffna
249 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Margosa Bongo Stay
10.6 mi away
Green Grass Hotel
Green Grass Hotel
#7 of 9 in Jaffna
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Tilko Jaffna City Hotel
12.5 mi away
PJ Hotels
PJ Hotels
#3 of 9 in Jaffna
36 reviews
10.0 mi away
Jaffna Heritage Hotel
Jaffna Heritage Hotel
#4 of 45 in Jaffna
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalsevana Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalsevana Holiday Resort

Property: Thalsevana Holiday Resort
Address: Kankasanthurei, Jaffna 40000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Northern Province > Jaffna
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Jaffna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing