We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, comfortable place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaffna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thalsevana Holiday Resort
Ranked #5 of 45 Jaffna B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Thalsevana for three days and enjoyed every minute of it. We had six in the party., ages ranging from 30 to 80. Rooms were clean, service was courteous, food was wholesome. Pol roti made by the army cooks was delicious. Most of all we loved relaxing on the private beach in the evenings. Beautiful, clean beach. Rooms were spacious, and there were facilities to sit outside in the veranda watching the sunset and enjoying a cup of tea and chatting with friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Padmini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    50
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
11
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel.Staff is very courteous .Lovely location .Very safe. Hotel is very clean which is an impossible thing to find in Jaffna Hotels.They speak English and had a calypso band.Beach is fantastic and can have a good swim.Food is tasty but basic , but you can order your own stuff.overall it is the best hotel in jaffna Very very CLEAN.Must have a swimming pool .Had a fantastic serene time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The service was very courteous and good. All the staff are from the army, including the manager Mr Raymond, who is a major. The rooms at Thalsevana II were air conditioned but very basic. Also very cheap at Rs. 2000 a day. The more up market rooms are 5500 and are plush. The food is a bit pricey at Rs 600 for a basic string hopper or rice and curry buffet. The tap water is salty so you have to buy bottled water or bring your own. The bathrooms can do with a regular cleaning. Located by the sea (can bathe) on a beautiful location. Can watch both the sun rise and set. 20km from Jaffna and most of the road has been made.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dinesh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Thal sevana is the safest and standard hotel in Jaffna although it is located 30 mins away from Jaffna. Run by the Army, you get such value for much less. Rs. 3000 for a AC room with six single beds. Ideal for family or group of friends. Food needs improvement. Nice sea view and a walk way along the beach adds value.

Room Tip: Book in advance, during long weekends it is almost always sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prashantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at thalsevana for 3 days. The rooms were very good. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The best thing is that the rooms are not gaudy like the others in Jaffna, the rooms are painted white and the sheets are also very clean unlike the very colourful and crowded hotel rooms around Jaffna. The food is also very good but the menu could be more planned especially the portions and how they serve it. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.
However the location is not very convenient and it is about 30 minutes from Jaffna. The staff could also be a bit more flexible rather than obeying the strict rules imposed by the management.

Room Tip: Try to get room at Thasevana 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UdSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaffna hotels
10.7 mi away
Jetwing Jaffna
Jetwing Jaffna
#1 of 9 in Jaffna
249 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Margosa Bongo Stay
10.6 mi away
Green Grass Hotel
Green Grass Hotel
#7 of 9 in Jaffna
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Tilko Jaffna City Hotel
12.5 mi away
PJ Hotels
PJ Hotels
#3 of 9 in Jaffna
36 reviews
10.0 mi away
Jaffna Heritage Hotel
Jaffna Heritage Hotel
#3 of 45 in Jaffna
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalsevana Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalsevana Holiday Resort

Property: Thalsevana Holiday Resort
Address: Kankasanthurei, Jaffna 40000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Northern Province > Jaffna
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Jaffna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing