We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
28
30
9
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28
30
9
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional architecture jaffna town superb staff boutique hotel home away from home felt like home sri lanka peninsula strengths
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 73 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2018

We stayed in the Margosa Green from 17 until 19 July 2018, as a last stop during our trip through Sri Lanka. We absolutely loved the place, the ambiance (it felt like home abroad), the friendly staff (the Margosa Green just reopened after the former staff quit), the completely refurnished and spacious rooms and the amazing food prepared by the local chef (both breakfast and dinner). The manager brought us to Jaffna by car when we wanted to visit the old fort and was always happy to give us advice on where to go / what to visit. We definitely recommend!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VASEEKARAN K, General Manager at Margosa Green, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Dear Sir/ Madame,

Thank your for taking the time to write this detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and the property.

Best wishes from The Margosa Green Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

it was an amazing stay over there. The owner and staff were very kindly treated us. Peaceful environment. Location is little far from town anyway it is one of their strength. Their biggest strengths were owner and its staff.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sinthu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VASEEKARAN K, General Manager at Margosa Green, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Sinthu V,

Thank you for your valuable comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Regards.

Team Margosa Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

As a group of 6 women (and 1 child), we stayed for 3 nights in Margosa while on a road trip through the east and north of Sri Lanka. It was a wonderful experience with first class service from arrival to departure, well worth the price. Staff were friendly and nothing was a problem for them from cooking our favourite dishes to making endless cups of teas. The villa itself is a gorgeous, traditional Jaffna house, modernised and tastefully furnished with lovely grounds. We shared 2 double rooms: Mango and Guava, both beautifully appointed. It was a wrench to leave and we have all vowed to return with our families. A truly special place.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaseekaran S, Manager at Margosa Green, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Sir/ Madame.

Margosa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel at short notice, when we were already in Jaffna and it couldn't have been a better choice. The room was lovely, the staff very obliging and the food was great. We had a lovely 2 night stay and would definitely recommend this as a top choice in Jaffna.

Only improvement we can suggest is that the shower head leaked around the edges so you don't get the full effect. Perhaps it needs rescaling.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fishysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VASEEKARAN K, Manager at Margosa Green, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Sir/ Madame,

Great to know that you enjoyed the food and the stay at The Margosa Villa and many thanks for the lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Kind regards from the Margosa Bongo stay team.

Best regards

Vaseekaran K
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Margosa is located within 10km radius from the Jaffna city in the middle of a beautifully maintained garden with calm and quiet surroundings. The colonial architecture and homely atmosphere was jus refreshing after a long journey of 10hours from Colombo. One of the biggest strengths of Margosa was its staff. They were quite concerned about our needs and understood exactly what we wanned. The two chefs were jus amazing and made us gain so much of weight during the three days stay. The Jaffna crab curry, Ennei pittu and mutton curry were jus out of the world! The rooms were fairly equipped and furnished with a nice bathroom partly opened to sky. All in all Margosa was an unforgettable experience in Jaffna for us. I would like to point out few things for further improvement. the wifi signal strength was poor inside the rooms, the toiletries were inadequate (only some soap), the gravel pathway to the car porch was too rugged.

Room tip: rooms on the right hand side are spacious
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dushra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VASEEKARAN K, General Manager at Margosa Green, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Dear Dushra,

Greetings from the staff of The Margosa Bongo stay...!!!

Many thanks for taking the time and writing a very informative review of our property. But most importantly that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Kind regards from the Margosa Bongo stay Team.

Thank you
Vaseekaran K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews