We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Great food.”
Review of Hotel Lux Etoiles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lux Etoiles
Ranked #23 of 49 Jaffna B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel Lux Etoiles is situated in a peaceful, residential lane in Jaffna where it is safe to walk around and the splendid temple is only a 5 minute walk away. The swimming pool adjacent to the hotel is superb - a "serious" pool for swimming unlike some of the tiny pools found in other tourist places. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff of this hotel. They went out of their way to look after us and provide whatever was asked for. The food was a great delight - well prepared true Jaffna cuisine. We thoroughly enjoyed every meal including local style breakfasts and dinners. Another great advantage of the Lux Etoiles is its wi-fi facility, which is highly efficient and freely available in the reception area. No hotel is perfect and here the dining room is rather dark but that did not spoil a most enjoyable stay. Excellent service was provided throughout our 5 days there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 91 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Please do not stay in Room 7 & 11. They are not Delux rooms.These rooms are attached to an old renovated (looks like) wing. Rooms were Smelly & Bathroom ceiling not done. The funny thing is that the hotel charged Rs.200 per person per visit for using swimming Pool. We were not told at the time of checking in about this charge. Be aware of this charge before using the pool. It's a rip-off !!!!!!!!!. we also had problem with Electricity kept tripping and also Generator noice. The food is very good. The staff are lovely & Frindly. Great location. Close to Nallur Temple and Rio cool bar.

Room Tip: Please do not stay in Room 7 & 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The best thing about Hotel Lux Etoiles are the staff who were very helpful. The food at the hotel is also very good (we had both breakfast and dinner).

The location of the hotel away from the centre of town but Nallur is a very pleasant part of town.

The rooms are relatively basic but are clean. For our first night we stayed in room 6 which is right next to reception. This was quite noisy at night as the staff watch tv all night. When we asked them they did turn it down but having to do so at 3am is not ideal. The next night we moved to another room which was better but it didn't have an outside window.

Given we paid $60 a night I feel that the hotel is a bit overpriced but it may be that this is as good as it gets in Jaffna at the moment.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6 as it is very close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stratt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wonderful food and good service - very helpful staff. This was our first visit to Jaffna, and they helped to make it a great trip. There is also a nice swimming pool. The rooms are clean with A/C and comfortable enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chamaeleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This is a great little hotel in a nice part of Jaffna. The rooms are a bit dark but very clean. The staff are lovely, very friendly and kind. The restaurant is fantastic. I think the chef can cook just about anything. We arrived at 3pm and were hungry, so he made us some delicious fried rice. We also had the chicken masala curry and the Jaffna crab curry- both fantastic, the best curries we've ever had. Jaffna is more expensive than the rest of Sri Lanka but this hotel was great value. We will definitely stay here if we go back to Jaffna.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrClarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 days to attend Nallur temple. Very closely situated. Few minutes walk to the Temple. Very clean and good standard hotel. They provided us with excellent vegetarian meals and the menu changes every day.There is access to WI Fi. The best aspect of the hotel is their staff. They take very personal care of you and nothing is too much. Very friendly staff.
There is a pool. we did not make use of it but did look very clean and tidy
IWe booked directly with their manger- Bernard.and he arranged local transport at reasonble rate.
We hope to stay here again.
Dr.& Mrs Sivakumaran-London

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadarajah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arrived on the overnight bus from Colombo and made our way to this hotel that we had pre booked. It was early but we preferred to walk around Jaffna and find somewhere else to stay rather than stay there when we saw the "deluxe" room we were offered. The one star is for them refunding half of the deposit we had paid.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Sisters-in-law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaffna hotels
5.3 mi away
The Margosa Bongo Stay
1.2 mi away
Jetwing Jaffna
Jetwing Jaffna
#1 of 9 in Jaffna
298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tilko Jaffna City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Whale Hotel
Blue Whale Hotel
#6 of 9 in Jaffna
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaffna Heritage Hotel
Jaffna Heritage Hotel
#7 of 49 in Jaffna
149 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Thinnai
The Thinnai
#1 of 49 in Jaffna
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lux Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux Etoiles

Address: No 34, Chetty Street Lane | Nallur, Jaffna 021, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Northern Province > Jaffna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Jaffna
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lux Etoiles 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Jaffna Penusila Hotel Lux Etoiles......you'll feel that you are in your own paradise on your vacation...the clean and hygienic hotel run by a French man.....traditional Jaffna good served in ancient style.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lux Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing