We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best clean guest hose”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Mahishe Cottage

Room with 2 single beds, cloth track, towels and etc
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Room with 2 single beds, cloth track, towels and etc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Room with 2 single beds, cloth track, towels and etc
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Jaffna, Northern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Castagnet...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best clean guest hose”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We've spent here 2 days... quiet, clean and comfortable rooms... delicious home made breakfast .... comparing to Sri Lanka's standards is the most clean place we have seen... the owner is really helpful and honest!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2017
Dear Reapected guests Luca and Gessica,

Thank you so much for the time that you used to send your review and happy to receive a wonderful review.

We (me and tuk tuk man) were very happy by hearing your jokes and we really enjoyed few hours while having chatting with you.

We wish you a good luck both of you to have good life.

Cheers
Mahishe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gimhaniin...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Very Unpleasant Place”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The ratings for this property in tripadvisor and google are really misleading. The place was really messy and not inviting at all. They could have at least kept the front porch pleasant to enter. There was no enough space to park our vehicle in front of the house, so the driver had to take the vehicle to where he stayed. There was a very untidy kitchen and a living room and we were stuck in our rooms because the house was very unpleasant! In the night they cut water too! What if someone wants to use the rest room in the night? The beds were very small and rooms were overloaded with beds. Our driver said the place he stayed was better than that and it was obviously less expensive as well! The breakfast was very oily and nobody liked it too. So there were a lot of food left without eating. Overall, everybody in our group was very frustrated because of this stay. We learned a good lesson not to book any place by only looking at the reviews! Even a very cheap hotel room would serve its purpose better than this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2017
Dear Respected Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time that you used to send the review. specially you have more suggestion about the cottage physical structure and we will see in future how it can be developed and I believe from your review and I know that you were happy with our service, cleanliness, staff, location and with the facilities those factors are taken into the consideration to rate the review and hope that you enjoyed here.

We are not here to send/reply for your all recommendations, because 100 of reviews are saying about Mahishe Cottage.

Once again thank you and we wish you a good luck for your personal and professional life.

Cheers
Mahishe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Kiel, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really great stay!”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We went to Jaffna with the nightbus from Kandy and reached Jaffna at around 7 AM. After The exhausting trip we just got a Tuc Tuc and went to mahishe cottage without any booking. The driver called the owner so we were able to get a Room so early in The Morning.
The stay was great, we had a very clean room with a big fan and AC. Also We had the Chance to get a traditional breakfast with The Original Jaffna coffee And tea two times that tasted fantastic.
You can reach the guesthouse easily with a Tuc Tuc from downtown or you have a short Walk from The big temple.
The host did everything so We had a nice stay at mahishe cottage. I can recommend this guesthouse to evereyone who is going to visit Jaffna for some
Days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you so much for your recommendations and both of you were one of my valuable guests. Cheers Thinesh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing