We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
105
44
7
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
105
44
7
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews organic farm apartment style bed room sri lanka dining table large fridge lounge kitchen well worth the visit separate sitting area executive chef stylish hotel nice place to relax modern amenities a lovely stay don t forget late checkout pool and gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 160 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2019

I stayed at The Thinnai for 3 months (Jan-March 2019) and cannot convey how much I enjoyed it. I have stayed in many boutique and other hotels around the world, but I must say that The Thinnai is perhaps the best, given the service, comfort and price. From the moment I arrived to a serene and welcoming reception, I knew this was going to be more than just a comfortable stay. The staff are highly trained, friendly but not over-intrusive, and really give you a sense that you are amongst family. I cannot say enough how fantastic the staff were - receptionists, managers, cleaners. From booking a three-wheeler, to offering information about happenings around town, to simply having a brief chat at the end of the day, the staff were definitely one of the best parts of my experience at The Thinnai. I had a birthday during my stay, and the manager and some staff even sent up a little cake and sang happy birthday to me! The rooms are stunningly appointed; all suites, the decor is exquisitely done, with a nod to traditional Jaffna aesthetic (think teak wooden slanted roofs), but with modern amenities like a super comfy bed with crisp bedding, and a gorgeous marble bathroom. The grounds are themselves something to behold, and I often saw couples taking wedding photos against the backdrop of perfectly manicured gardens and a koi pond. The restaurant is well-priced and a good option if you don't feel like venturing out - the Jaffna crab is not to be missed! The pool is also a nice place to relax during the day or evening, offering umbrellas to hide from the scorching Jaffna sun. All in all, I highly recommend The Thinnai in a heartbeat to anyone looking for a bit of luxury and tranquility in Jaffna!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalagama N, General Manager at The Thinnai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your sincere thoughts with us and we are glad that you have enjoyed the precious moments with us. We are grateful for all the positive endorsements shared on Trip Advisor especially about the service offered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Thinnai All Suite Boutique Hotel for another memorable experience.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,
M.G.N. Mangalagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

We stayed in The Thinnai for 3 nights with family and also visited their organic farm ( april 2019). visited jaffna after more than 12 years. the staff were very polite and did there best to make your stay enjoyable. good to see the north of srilanka doing its best to attract tourist by having a very good hotel
The restaurant manager Mr.Thinesh did a great job making sure we had traditional food adjusted for our taste. We recommend the jaffna Kool to try if you ever have a chance.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomads2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalagama N, General Manager at The Thinnai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to see the good comment given about The Thinnai & Thinnai Organic followed by your stay and we are delighted to note of your positive endorsements about the service offered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Thinnai All Suite Boutique Hotel for another memorable experience.
Thank you.

Yours faithfully,
M.G.N. Mangalagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

Wonderful staff, great rooms/suites. Would highly recommend for family or group. The suites are extremely comfortable on two levels. Apartment style. I found the staff to be welcoming and warm, going the extra mile for guests. Good basic gym facilities too.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanchanaA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalagama N, General Manager at The Thinnai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Thinnai hotel and that the team looked after you so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Thinnai All Suite Boutique Hotel for another memorable experience.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,
M.G.N. Mangalagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

We spent 3 night at the Tharmarai suites. First impression of the hotel..it reminded of home. The Tharmarai suites is like a connected 2 storey house. We had a bed and sofa bed on the ground floor with a full bathroom. The 1st floor had 2 rooms (1 with 2 single beds' and the other with a queen size bed) and a full bathroom. The rooms are very clean, bathrooms are functional and works well and the beds are very comfortable and it could accommodate all 6 of us easily. There was also a large fridge and a dining table.

The service by its staff was very good. The restaurant staff was very courteous and helpful and they were patience. The chef even shared some of his recipes with us! The GM (Mr.Mangalagama) and Mr.Patrick (not sure what his position was) ensured that the service levels and helpfulness was at their highest levels.

Location wise, this place is great to the Jaffna market, there is supermarket walking distance. The density of units is very low which makes the experience and service so worthwhile and the units a built away from the main road so you don't hear the traffic noise.

All in all very highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsthavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalagama N, General Manager at The Thinnai, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your sincere thoughts with us and we are glad that your team have enjoyed the precious moments with us. We are grateful for all the positive endorsements shared on Trip Advisor especially about the service offered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Thinnai All Suite Boutique Hotel for another memorable experience.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,
M.G.N. Mangalagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

We were impressed by this stylish hotel, with typical sculptures and paintings. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We had a suite complete with sofa, chairs, dining table and large fridge. The dining room was delightful; some days we had the breakfast buffet, others the a la carte. The menu had a wide choice of Sri Lankan and international type food. We particularly enjoyed the pool and sunloungers and stayed to watch hundreds of fruit bats fly over at dusk each evening. The bar upstairs offered 2 for 1 drinks and cocktails up to 9 in the evening!

Room tip: Ground floor apartments have a patio; whilst upper floor have a balcony.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjorie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalagama N, General Manager at The Thinnai, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Thinnai hotel and that the team looked after you so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Thinnai All Suite Boutique Hotel for another memorable experience.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,
M.G.N. Mangalagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews