We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
54
56
51
25
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
56
51
25
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome comingtv channelspool areastayed for two nightsnice poolpleasant stayvery nice hotelsri lankaocean viewwifiweddingbeacharunaseapoolsidegalle
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 216 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

Spent 3 nights with a group of friends together and the hotel was perfect for the adventure. The most amazing part was how nice the staffs truly were, especially the front desk. The food from the restaurant was great. Had a big pool and the beach and the ocean view was spectacular. Would stay again and again!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
Thank huceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018

The Avenra Beach Hotel has a nice infinity pool and easy access straight on to a quiet and clean stretch of beach. They're the only reasons to stay there, really. The rooms are okay (comfortable King bed in our room; not so comfy extra bed in the 'twin' shared by our teenagers) if you pay the extra for a pool/beach view but they're not ageing well and the bathrooms are not great (rusty screws in the weak and often cold shower, although the toilet was new and clean). The TV channel options are poor; Wi-Fi doesn't really reach the bedrooms and there were no tissues or mini-bar in the room.

Breakfast wasn't great, with either Nescafe or awful brewed coffee, tasteless scrambled eggs and an uninspiring selection of the usual processed meats. The vegetarian and vegan in my family were left very uninspired by the breakfast selection.

We had one lunch meal at the hotel, which was poor - just basic pasta, which arrived cold and had to be re-heated. Service is pretty good but I would recommend eating elsewhere (there are lots of better options just a short walk down the beach).

That said, the Avenra is not particularly well located for amenities and you'll need to take a tuk-tuk into 'town' for anything more than basic supplies such as bottled water, as the main road to Hikkaduwa (about 1.5 kms to the 'centre) is busy and there are no footpaths.

Generally, the Avenra is okay if you just want a basic hotel with good beach and pool access for up to 3 days. It isn't exactly cheap, though, and if you want some luxury and amenities, you're better off elsewhere.

Oh, one other point to note: on our second night, a group of guests decided to have a late night drinking session in one of the cabanas next to the pool. They weren't particularly out of order but sound carries at night and by 1.30am I'd had enough. This shouldn't be tolerated in a family hotel so where was the security guard, who'd been parading around in all his unformed finery during the day?

Room Tip: Sea/pool view rooms have a balcony and are pleasant but they pick up all the noise from the pool area at night.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ADTripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Went for a wedding reception function recently. One of the most beautiful wedding halls i have been. Food is quite okay.Very nice beach view at the pool area. Staff is also kind and attentive. Ordered some Mojitos and it was also quite good.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kasun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018

Spent a week here, which was very enjoyable. The resort itself is quiet and most people seem to go to sleep around 9-10pm. This is the case with Hikkaduwa in general apart from one or two lively bars on the beach. The setting of the hotel is beautiful looking out on the sea. The pool is one of the best features of the hotel. Food is the hotel is good but quite expensive comparing to other restaurants in the area. If you're a couple looking to relax it is an ideal place to stay. Even if it is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Sea View with balcony
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BoredomOvertookUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

We had our wedding there and stayed two nights. Everything was just great. Excellent food and friendly staff. Special thanks to F&B Manager Thushara Kodithuwakku for the support given throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mahesh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews