We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not near the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Nippon villa was fine... Not great, but fine. And at that price who can complain??
Room was very basic and hotel is far away from the main beach... About a ten minute walk.
Our toilet didn't flush and my boyfriend had to fix it.
Nice view from the eating area, but the ocean directly outside is mostly reef so difficult to swim in.
The sun beds are lovely though. And staff were helpful, and the rooms were cleaned daily.
You get what you pay for, and for the cheap rates Nippon villa is fine, especially if you can get an ocean-facing room.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eblatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Nippon Villa Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 111 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have to go along with the other reviews.
This place is dirty and dilapidated.
We stayed in that hotel for one night and would not and could not have stayed one extra night.
This is way overpriced, a total rip off.
We are a family who are used to travelling (2 kids) especially in south east asia.
The coffee was appallingly disgusting.
I will post in some photos later on to testify my saying.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here as there was not a lot of options available when we arrived in Hikkaduwa. It is still a building site but seems to be getting near completion. We had a flatscreen TV put in our room the day before we left. Staff were friendly but not so the management. Pool was good and kept very clean. Rooms had the not quite finished look with exposed wires and our ceiling fan did not look that secure. Good location on the beach where it was a bit quieter then some other places. Restaurant not open due to renovations but breakfast was ok with standard fair.

Room Tip: go for the first floor as ground floor noisy and will get worse when restaurant re-opens.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vegemightyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

most of the guest in this hotel says bad things about this hotel but what they are hiding is that they were looking for the cheapest place to stay and what they expect is 5 star treatment i stayed in this hotel few times and i have to say i got my moneys worth .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pumu2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was not a nice hotel. The place is a building site bricks etc all over the place. The room was small it had a/c which was the only plus but towels sheets chairs were all dirty and the bathroom was terrible. I turned the shower on and cloudy water came out and smelt like rotten eggs and that smell then took over the whole room! Friendly people but steer clear! The swimming pool was very similar to the shower water!

Room Tip: Do not stay here is my biggest tip!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We have been in Sri Lanka almost 2 weeks and this is by far the worst place we have stayed. Half of the building is in disrepair, the pool looks like you could catch something from it and there is no way I would eat anything in the 'restaurant'. We have seen one lady who was very friendly but she finished work about 6 and since then have not seen a soul. Lots of random men standing around and staring at you. I understand that you get what you pay for but this place should simply not be allowed to operate.

Room Tip: There are none!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

SO Nippon Villa was not in our original list of hotel. But after having traveled for 7 hours from Ella, we wanted to checking in to the first hotel we found. From the outset, it seemed like a good deal. Cheap, bang on the beach, nice pool overlooking the sea. But the rooms were a huge disappointment. The bathroom was tiny, the flush wasn't working and the bath door was jammed, all the fitting were falling apart.

The pool was nice but I'm not sure if it is cleaned regularly. The beach is right there, but this part of the beach you can't swim in because of the corals. You need to walk down south over rocks to access the other beach. But the sea is crystal clear and the corals make it a wonderful sight.

There is a Ayurveda center here, but it shuts by 6 in the evening.

The hotel didn't server any food, apart from breakfast and tea/coffee.If maintained well this place can really be a good hotel for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avenra Beach Hotel
Avenra Beach Hotel
#16 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
#26 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nippon Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nippon Villa Beach Resort

Address: Galle Road | Wewala, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $41 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nippon Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Nippon Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nippon Villa Beach Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing