We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Definitely not the place to stay`!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Definitely not the place to stay`!"”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Situated between the noisy and heavy polluted Galle Road and a nearly not existing beach with very loud disco music all over the night, this hotel is not ideal for peace seekers.
The rooms are all very old, not clean, with noisy AC. The hotel still shows the terrible wounds of the Tsunami tragedy.
The very small pool looks not very clean and the beach is not existing during high tide.
The hotel is overrated!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    35
    14
    17
See reviews for
27
46
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2011

A normal business class hotel. A place to crash after a hard days work. But defintela a good middle class business class hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masilamane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borlänge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Staff very service minded.
Near beach, but not possible to swim outside hotell without shoes!
5 min. walk to nice beach.
Trip advisor says (and the Tuk tuk driver who drived uss fromm Bentota) room with Ac is 45USD inclusive breakfast. .It showed that it was 45USD without breafast! After 4 nights!
Cleaning is nice, but the rooms are old!
Worst is te pool, we did not swim in it at all, because it looked dirty! Pool man was there every day, but we could not see any difference!
Look for something better for the same price!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leiden, Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We were supposed to stay at the Super Corals hotel, but we moved to Nippon Villa because we were not happy with the rooms at Super Corals. The staff at Nippon Villa prepared rooms for us as soon as possible and served a great breakfast while we were waiting. This is a small but charming hotel. The rooms are located around a courtyard and there is a small swimming pool. Access to the beach without the fences that most larger hotels have. Some of the rooms have a four-poster bed and a balcony overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MvWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

we stayed at nippon vlla for 10 days december, 2010, a big group of us for friends wedding. from the first day when one part of group arrived late at night nothing was to much trouble, the staff down from the wonderful BL, down to the ladies who cleaned the rooms were brilliant, annoushaka, saman, and sarat and nana....thanks you made our stay memorable, we were made to feel like one big part of a family. the location was lovely, like our very own piece of beach, the swimming pool was cleaned every morning by sarat....its close to the beach so its effected by the sea conditions but we used it on loads of occassions....the hotel was clean and rooms cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels..nothing was to much trouble, in fact we went out to eat one night, in the rain, and saman ran along to restaurant with umbrellas so we wouldnt get wet on way back...hows that for service. the hotel is exposed to the elements so all due respect to BL for is continual work to keep place maintained.....people should take into consideration weather conditions before they criticise.....flooding, etc etc. in fact we stayed in quite a few hotels whilst in sri lanka during our stay, at higher rates and can honestly say for rates they charge at nippon villa they should be proud of their very high standards of service etc....thanks BL, his lovely wife and children and his wonderful staff....you made our stay memorable for all the right reasons........

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hikkaduwa srilanka
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2010

dirtiest and worst.staff by the names of saman(sarong man),shiroma and sriyani are creating a bad atmospere,some they argue with each other and ends in fighting.saman is a drunkard.no security for guest.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed here since some of our freinds were already here. The rooms were small and the beds not comfortable. They bathrooms werent that clean and the hotel didn't have any accessories in it - no phone/ TV/ AC. They also didnt have a good selection of food from the restaurant and the service was very poor.
The location of this place is good - its in the center of Hikkaduwa and close to restaurants and a nightclub. I wouldn't recommened anyone staying here unless you have no intenstion of actually staying in your room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#18 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#15 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nippon Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nippon Villa Beach Resort

Property: Nippon Villa Beach Resort
Address: Galle Road | Wewala, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nippon Villa Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Nippon Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nippon Villa Beach Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing