We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Belgorod, Russia
1 review
“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was unbelievable trip.We went to Hikkaduwa to make a wedding day our relatives and friends.There were 13 people.It was very difficult to find a place.But we did it. When we came to Colombo a driver was waiting us, he took us to driffters hotel and villa.Lalith and all people,who work with him are very friendly,and they always ready to help you. And our wedding.It was gorgeous.Thank you for everything.If we will go there more, we will go to driffters.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Chernykh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    81
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
51
125
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I spent 3 weeks at Drifters Hotel. the room was very nice and clean, the staff were very nice and warm and Lalith the menneger is a very nice and decent guy.
Even though this is more of a family and coupels hotel, it can be very nice for singel which are looking for a clean nice place, close to" were it's all heppand" but more calm when you whant some quite.
there is also a very nice swiming pool to realex in after surffing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saske2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I booked the hotel looking at the tripadvisor review. The positive of the hotel is the location bang on the beach. Sea view rooms are limited and we I was not fortunate to get a sea view room. Hotel staff and Lalith himself is very warm and helpful and ensures that you enjoy a good vacation. Negative is rooms are average and found it a bit dated. Overall my stay was nice and enjoyed the walk to the beach.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pushan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriftersHotel, Owner at Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated and I am happy you enjoyed your overall stay at Drifters. I am sorry our rooms did not meet your expectations. When you were with us a year ago it was the off-season so, although we keep the rooms very clean, they can be tired and wearing the scars of a busy season. Before each season starts we do carry out refurbishment, repainting and repairs to make sure the rooms are up to scratch for the season. I hope you visit us again and see an improvement. Best Regards,
Lalith Priyankara,
(Drifters owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I spent 5days at the Drifters in March and we had the best time at this hotel. I am not trying to advertise or promote this hotel but we truly had the best time that its a must to mention it.

Anyway, the hotel is situated right on the beach so you can jump into the beautiful sea within a 1min! Lalith (owner of the hotel) was so nice and really took care all of our needs and tour plus very honest with the tour pricing as well. Lalith also arranged both ways of our airport transfers which was convenient and comfortable plus driver spoke good English so he shared a lot about Sri Lanka .The restaurant manager as well as the housekeeping staff were also nice and friendly and same thing, took care all of our needs. Talk about their restaurant, Drifters served the best food so we ended up having bfast/lunch/dinner daily! and the head chef was friendly too!

We were in room 32 on the 2nd floor which was nice overlooking the sea with a dining table where you can have a drink or dinner and the enjoy the view. Room was very clean, comfortable mattress, A/C and fresh towels. TV is not provided but who needs a TV when you're in Hikkaduwa!

Overall, we would recommend this hotel in a heart beat and best regards to Lalith and team!

Ezan and Nazrul
Singapore

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nezzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We spent 10 days in Drifters. We booked a room in advance on a recommendation of our friends who enjoyed staying there a year ago.

Since we booked early, Lalith (who runs Drifters) offered us a very nice room #16 (2nd floor with a separate balcony). It was clean, with a wide comfortable bed, A/C, small fridge and a shower – everything we needed. We could see, hear and smell ocean sitting on the balcony having dinner or drinks.

Drifters’ is situated directly on the beach. It is a small, rather closed complex, built around inner yard with a swimming pool – no strangers wondering by. Outside the road entrance to the complex you will always find a tuktuk, ready to drive you wherever you need. Drifters’ dining area faces the beach.
The staff is very cheerful and helpful. There was never a time our requests were ignored or even postponed. The yard and rooms are cleaned very well. The water in the swimming pool was always clean. On the beach, just outside the dining area, there are a number of sun loungers for Drifters guests.

Lalith, who runs Drifters, is a very helpful and kind person. He provided us with a good driver (not your average high-speed low-safety one you usually expect) for our 10 day trip over the island, before we came to Drifters, and later he took care of every request we had. You can ask him for any advice or assistance. He also arranged our trip to whale watching and airport transfer. Last day before our departure my boyfriend forgot his iPhone in the tuktuk on our way back from Galle port. Thanks to Lalith, his connections and “find my iPhone” application we found it! That was kind of a miracle, never expected it to happen.

We really enjoyed our stay there and weren’t eager to leave at the end. I can definitely recommend Drifters to my friends. This is a place you would want to come back again!

Thanks, Drifters! You are awesome!

Room Tip: If sea-view rooms are not available, ask to book room No. 16 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in February 2014 and apart from 7 nights we stayed here the whole time we loved it so much. For us Hikkaduwa was perfect for what we wanted and we really enjoyed drifters so we decided to stay here the entire time. We stayed both in the guest house (which is just over the road, short 2 minute walk) and the hotel (beach side) and really liked both. The hotel has great facilities including a nice restaurant and swimming pool, complimentary sun loungers on the beach/pool area and excellent wifi. Both rooms were fantastically clean and the bathroom facilities were good. We stayed in a fan room as we found that this was sufficient enough to keep us comfortable at night.

The restaurant serves great food and it has a great choice of dishes to suit all tastes with a good selection of western food if you are after something more basic. We loved the Sri Lankan food and ate at the restaurant pretty often, it is more expensive than some other places in Hikkaduwa but it is a hotel and personally I found the quality of food great compared to some other cheap places in the town, it doesn't always pay off to go cheap! They also serve the best buffet breakfast which we took advantage of most mornings with generous portions, however if you don't enjoy Sri Lankan food then this buffet isn't for you. Instead you can order of the a la carte breakfast menu.

The staff at Drifters are very accommodating and friendly and you enjoy being around the hotel as nothing is ever to much trouble. The owner Lalith really looked after us during our stay and made sure we had everything we needed. We were actually on a budget as we have been travelling for 6 months but drifters prices were more than affordable.

We also booked our tour with Drifters and Lalith arranged everything for us. I have done a Tour before in Sri Lanka but this was 100% better. We had a great driver Arivinda who made the tour really enjoyable and tried to give us as much information as he could.

So on a whole we really loved this hotel and would recommend it for both singles, couples and families if you are looking for somewhere nice and secure to stay in hikkaduwa.

I did read some reviews before booking this hotel about power cuts and ants being in the room but if you don't want this then don't come to a tropical country like Sri Lanka. Yes you donget the odd few ants in your bathroom and yes the power does go out occasionally but you will get this ANYWHERE in Sri Lanka. This is not the hotels fault, if it could be helped then the power would never go out!

We look forward to visiting you again, :-) Stacey and Chris

P.S we miss your Sri Lankan breakfast!

Room Tip: The guest house is cheaper if you are on a budget and a fan room will be more than enough to keep yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Very very basic for a 70$ room not worth it at all
No power backup system at all if the electricity goes off which can happen often , had to sleep without power and had to actually wake up and run around with the only available security guard at 2:am trying to find a solution
Poor security

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriftersHotel, Owner at Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Sorry you did not have a happy experience with us. I apologise again to you for this but I feel I must explain to you again and to other Trip Advisor members reading your review that such occurrence is not common at all at Drifters.

Like your country, India, Sri Lanka is also a developing country, and power cuts do occur, although this is happening less frequently and the duration of power cuts is getting shorter.
At Drifters we do have a generator to provide backup power; we are actually one of the few small hotels in Hikkaduwa to do so. (If you had stayed with us at New Year's Eve, you would have seen Drifters lit up and party in full swing while the rest of the beach was in darkness because of a power cut that affected half the country).

Unfortunately on the night you stayed with us our regular security guard was on rest day and the replacement guard provided by the security company we employ was first time at Drifters. We have three phase power system and only one phase was down so the guard was not aware of the problem as only part of the hotel was affected. The regular guard is trained to deal with the generator and is also under instruction to call me if there is any problem at the hotel he cannot handle (my house in only 2 minutes away and as many guests can attest, I go to hotel at all times of night to help them with any problems). Our guard service is very good, and one guard on patrol at night we have found to be sufficient for the size of our hotel. But the new guard on duty did not handle the incident as it should have been handled.
When I became aware of the incident the next day I did apologise and explain the situation and did not charge the $70 AC rate for your room but gave the non-AC rate.
I have also made efforts to ensure any guards get properly trained on how to handle problems at night, so I hope such an experience doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
1.0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#12 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#16 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant

Property: Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Address: 602 Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifters is a medium-sized, owner-operated hotel in the heart of the best beach and surfing spot in Hikkaduwa. Drifters offers comfortable, clean rooms built around a garden and swimming pool, with a restaurant opening onto the beach. Service is Drifters' mantra and owner Lalith is always on hand to give personal attention to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing