We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic beach location, faultless service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
South West UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach location, faultless service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

This relatively small hotel/hostel is very good value for money. It's not the Ritz but everything you need is there and a perfect location on the beach. Very helpful owner and very nice and efficient staff, nothing was too much trouble.
The room we had was aircon with a fan too near the sea but no sea view (pool view) and at $50 a night was a bargain.
The two sea view rooms looked good and had their own small balcony overlooking the sands.
The mattresses are good quality, towels are provided but are a bit tatty and mainly/handy for use on the beach so bring your own too.
There is a great tuk tuk driver who works outside, great pride in keeping his tuk tuk clean and tidy, who does great unofficial tours, very cheap for a whole day out (great for couples)
Don't expect a 5 star hotel but it's clean and airconed and the service is fantastic, also the cleanest pool I saw out there!

Tip: Before going in the sea the first time ask a fellow traveller or the staff where the coral reef is otherwise you might end up with cut feet!

Room Tip: The two sea view rooms have their own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim_meek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    82
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
53
127
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent absolutely fantastic 4 nights at Drifters in mid January 2012. 2 adults and 2 kids. The A/C room was clean with a fabulous sea view. The hotel is located right on the beach with its own clean swimming pool, what is an added value especially for kids. Lalith – who is the owner – is a very nice and helpful guy. He organized us a 5 days trip through Sri Lanka. Thanks to Chamika - the best and charming tour guide/ driver - we had a chance to visit and see amazing places and learn more about Sri Lankan customs than you may find in books. Nothing was a problem for Chamika and his honest repeated question was: “are you happy?”. We must say: Yes, Chamika, we are happy, we spent the greatest holiday we’ve ever had!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sqba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have stayed before and love this place the drifters family are so walm and kind and the hotel is clean and safe. The food is amazing and when u arrive u will not want to leave !!!!!

The pool and closeness to the beach are the best !!!

Such a happy friendly place

Super!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medicmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at Drifters in early January 2012. We had an air con room for $50p/n. The room itself is nothing to write home about but you couldn't really beat the location on the beach and the service of the staff (Lalith was always really helpful and sorted heaps of stuff out for us and I would highly recommend his drivers!).

I didn't get to see the seaview rooms but have heard lots of good things about them so I would recommend booking ahead to get the best room. Our room (no 16) had its own area out front with a table/chairs and a view of the water. Inside the room was a lockable cupboard which we found really useful. The bathrooms could do with a renovation - smelt slightly of sewerage and the shower was very weak. Also when booking a double expect to actually receive 2 single beds pushed together..

The pool was an added bonus for an afternoon dip and the breakfast was great for RPS500.
If we were in Hikkaduwa we wouldn't hesitate to go back but we would book well in advance for the better rooms!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We lived her for 4 days, clean rooms and very friendly staff. Lalith, the owner is very helpful and always smiles. Lalith also helped us to plan a 5 days, 4 nights trip around the country. It was the best 5 days ever with our lovely driver Sumith. So if you live here or not, don´t hesitate to plan a trip around the island with Lalith.

Linus & Majken

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilltun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is a great hotel to stay in because of the location. Right on the beach in front of the surf, easy to organize surfing lessons, plenty of restaurants around. It is a family run hotel with the owners living on site and nothing is a problem for them. They will organize tours for you, pick you up and drop you off at the airport. The food is good and everything is done with a smile. They were very accommodating when I explained my son had a severe allergy and they even showed me what products they used in the kitchen so my son was able to eat there and relax that all would be OK. Another big plus of the hotel is that it is one of the very few that has a swimming pool which is a nice break after a full day on the beach surfing and sun bathing.
The rooms are clean and spacious. They are cleaned daily and new towels provided but bring your own beach towels. A great family run hotel which I will be returning to.

Room Tip: Down stair rooms have newer bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisebrunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Just back from a second amazing trip to Drifters! My teenagers and I travel a lot and rarely return to the same place twice however this place which we first discovered in April this year drew us back for another week in November and we are planning a third trip ASAP!

The location, directly on the best surf spot of the beach is idyllic and the pool is a welcome afternoon relief from the salt n surf. Lalith and his wife make you feel at home even before you arrive with friendly emails offering advice on trips and tours, all of which are superbly organised. This trip we went to Pinnawella Elephants and had an amazing time White water rafting. Lalith can pick you up at the airport, arrange trips to all tourist sites and deliver you to your hotel on the beach at very competitive rates.

Other things to do from Drifters...visit Galle, Unnawatuna, and go wake boarding on bird lake which is 10mins away by tuk tuk. If in Galle, you must try chocolate brownies at peddler inn cafe. At Drifters all food is yummy, particularly the full fish with salad. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Two rooms facing the sea are worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The3Gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.9 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#13 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#16 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant

Property: Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Address: 602 Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifters is a medium-sized, owner-operated hotel in the heart of the best beach and surfing spot in Hikkaduwa. Drifters offers comfortable, clean rooms built around a garden and swimming pool, with a restaurant opening onto the beach. Service is Drifters' mantra and owner Lalith is always on hand to give personal attention to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing