We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whispering Palms Tourist Rest
Ranked #77 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stay at Whispering Palms whenever we visit Sri Lanka. Our first visit was about 23 years ago. It is very clean, great price, fantastic location, you fall asleep with the sound and smell of the ocean. The owner Chandrika, is very friendly and helpful. We give it 10 out of 10☺☺☺and the handy location to great cafes and amenities is hard to beat....you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kerri688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandrika W, Owner at Whispering Palms Tourist Rest, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2014

We take great pride in the quality of our rooms, affordable pricing and most of all our personal touch and customer service. This is why we have many long-standing visitors like you returning to Whispering Palms, for over 20 years - it is a true testament of the overall quality and value we provide. Again thank you for your kind words and I look forward to your next visit to Sri Lanka!

Warmest Regards,
Chandrika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have stayed at the Whispering Palms Guest House a few times. The rooms are clean, modern affordable and comfortable, and it is very close to a variety of different restaurants of different price ranges, the beach, and many other facilities. The owner in particular was a very friendly and kind lady, who was helpful in answering questions and available when I needed assistance. She made arrangements for my travel needs, helped me with orienting myself with the area and was very welcoming and helpful overall. I would strongly

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, which we quite liked. But I don't think there would be any big diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirthi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandrika W, Manager at Whispering Palms Tourist Rest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit at Whispering Palms, Hikkaduwa, and that you liked the proximity to the beaches, restaurants, boutiques etc. We were delighted to have you as our guest, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Chandrika

Manager/Owner
Whispering Palms Tourist Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights at the whispering palms. I found the Guesthouse to be clean and modern, but that is all that was positive. The owner or manager was an extremely suspicious person or paranoid. I was asked to pay my first night in advance which was fine. The remaining 2 days I was constantly questioned about where i was going next and when etc. I was shocked at the total lack of trust and paranoia of the manager. She created a very distrustful atmosphere and really made me feel unwelcome. This is not a place for happy trusting people.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandrika W, General Manager at Whispering Palms Tourist Rest, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for visiting Whispering Palms Tourist Rest. Customer satisfaction is our top priority and we take great pride in ensuring that our guests have an enjoyable, comfortable and memorable experience during their stay. We take our guest's privacy and quiet enjoyment of our facilities very seriously, and as such I am certain the situation described above must have been a clear misunderstanding. If we had inquired about duration of stay it was purely in the interest of managing room bookings. Any discussion with regards to travels was clearly out of courtesy and a desire to support with your next steps. We are sorry that you felt the way you did, and for any misunderstanding on this matter. I sincerely hope that I was able to address your concern. Again, thank you for visiting Whispering Palms Tourist Rest!

Sincerely,
Chandrika,

Manager/Owner
Whispering Palms Tourist Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Very Nice place to stay. The owner is really nice and helpful.
We had really nice time there.
The place is really clean.
It is very closed to the beach, lot if restaurants and shops around.
I recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loubna064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandrika W, Manager at Whispering Palms Tourist Rest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Whispering Palms Tourist Rest and that you enjoyed all the amenities and facilities nearby. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Chandrika

Manager/Owner
Whispering Palms Tourist Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Полина С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OldGurumonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.0 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hansa Surf Hotel
Hansa Surf Hotel
#104 of 196 in Hikkaduwa
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hikka Train Hostel @ Surf Beach
0.0 mi away
Sea Front Villa
Sea Front Villa
#74 of 196 in Hikkaduwa
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Tourist Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Tourist Rest

Address: 382A Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $19 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whispering Palms Tourist Rest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well maintained, clean and spacious rooms in a friendly and safe atmosphere. Just steps from the beach, restaurants, cafes, Ayurveda clinics, art, clothing, antiques, jewellery, supermarket, and many other boutiques. Less than 1 km to banks, post-office, central bus-stand and railway station. Includes Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Whispering Palms Tourist Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing