We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and close to stransen”
Review of Sunils Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunils Beach Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Located right down to a clean and good beach, it is a hotel with a few years old but clean and they are helpful and it's cheap.
There is a nice pool with a bar next to it and there are some good restaurants on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peternielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 50 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days. Great location next to beach and near surf shack where the kids spent most of their days having surf lessons - Short walk to good beachside restaurants. The beach directly outside hotel is a much quieter spot than up the road where there are rather too many tourists and glass bottomed boats!!! Also have a Great swimming pool. Accommodation may not be 5 star but the location more than made up for it! Rooms spacious and all with balconies. Breakfast fairly simple but adequate. On site travel/trip desk with 'Lanka' the resident taxi/van driver who was so very helpful and drove us around during our stay...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hughwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I enjoyed my stay last week in Sunil's beach hotel with my wife. the hotel is located on the shores and the rooms are pretty decent for the price. the food is good and the staff are friendly. i would recommend this property to all. the only negative is that they do not have a TV in the room and it may be boring in case you opt to stay indoors.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shenoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed here for one night. We liked the fact that the building was just a few steps away from the beach.... not bad, however the best beaches in Hikkaduwa are about a 5 min tuk-tuk north of here.

The room was spacious and mostly clean but unimpressive. Shower showing signs of age.

Overall, the hotel did not have much character. Seemed more like a "building" than "accommodation". I would say there are better options for roughly the same price elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inorv9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and was an enjoyable stay apart from the fact that you will find a few flaws here and there, but nothing to obstruct the fun. Security was also good.A few things like TV, telephone, WI-FI are not available but the room was massive and largest out of the hotels I have stayed. Make sure you only visit this place if you want to just have fun and make this hotel just a place to spend the nights as you can find many other things to do.Staff are very friendly and serve well.Finally the Seagull restaurant is right in the middle of the hotel and have minor refurbishments in between meal hours at the time of our stay, I would recommend eating out , apart from the breakfast which was alright .

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glob3trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Don't go here if you want any luxury - this place has no telephone/ no TV. It however has everything else to offer - large bedrooms/ good A/C/ cheap price/ great beach in front of it/ alot of good restaurants close by. The staff here are very freindly and want to please you. Additionally they had a good breakfast buffet which was a bonus for us considering the price we were paying.
I recommend going here if you want to relax and are not planning on spending your trip in your room all day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Detritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Hotel was OK. Liked the pool and the food. The beach was not good. But you can find a better beaches very close by. Rooms were very simple. No TV ar coffee maker. Had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#15 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
118 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
0 mi away
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
#27 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
188 reviews
0 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#14 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunils Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunils Beach Hotel

Address: Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sunils Beach Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the delightful, sun kissed, palm fringed golden beaches of Hikkaduwa. Located on the Beach, Sunil's Beach Hotel offers you miles and miles of uninterrupted beach frontage probably the best Beach in the South West Coast. We offer you 60 delicately appointed spacious double rooms, overlooking the sea. Air-Conditioned and Non-Air-conditioned Rooms. En-suite bathrooms equipped with shower and toilet. Running Hot & Cold water. Courteous 12-Hour Room Service. Laundry Service. And much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunils Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing