We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel”
Review of Sunils Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunils Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Hotel was OK. Liked the pool and the food. The beach was not good. But you can find a better beaches very close by. Rooms were very simple. No TV ar coffee maker. Had a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
11
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Many basic amenities very missing, no phone in the room, no TV, no wi-fi, no mini-bar, no bath (only showers available), no room safe, no coffee-making facilities (kettle). 1 choice of beer in the bar.
Recommend bring your own paper clips to secure curtains re privacy
Food --recommend eating out.
Hotel could benefit from a paint job, general decor was "run down " ,like an out of date package hotel. We stayed before the main tourist season but there seemed no effort to gear up to the peak season.
Only good features were the pool and the proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

This year we did not stay at this hotel as we had rented a villa.
However we have stayed twice before and it is a super hotel.
Basic rooms but brilliant pool and gardens and fantastic staff.
So when i decided to renew our wedding vows i knew there could be only one place "The Sunill" with a backdrop of the indian ocean, we had a superb evening.
We hired a band and the food laid on by the hotel was superb.
A truly rememorable day in our lives and a better place hard to find.
well done sunill
Ps
if you need a Taxi Lanka is your man perfect english and a very honourable man

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dclarencejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We traveled around Sri Lanka in August 2009 and Sunils was by far the cheapest hotel we stayed in. The room was the biggest I've ever stayed in and was very clean. OK, so it doesn't have a mini bar, TV, hairdryer, safe, etc, but for this shouldn't detract from the value for money that Sunils offers.
Staff are all very friendly and always happy to help (maybe slightly over-attentive in some cases eg Jimmy the barman).
The hotel is right on the beach and in easy walking distance of bars / restaurants.
The food served at Sunils is very good value and probably some of the cheapest in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitters_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunilsbeach, Manager - Sales & Marketing at Sunils Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2009
Thank you for your compliments and we are very encouraged. We look forward to making a very special offer for all our past guests and you will hear from us when we are ready with this offer.
Hope to have you with us again.
Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed here for 10 nights in August. We had stayed for a few days in 2008 and really like it. Again, we were not disappointed. We stayed for three nights then did a tour to the highlands and then came back for 7 nights. It was low season and the rates were very reasonable. We paid about $30 a night for a double room with air conditioning, and breakfast. There were very few other guests so often it seemed we had the place to ourselves. The pool was lovely and we often had snacks and drinks by the pool. The gardens are well maintained and lead directly onto the beach. It’s about 1 km from the centre of Hikkaduwa and we enjoyed the walk. A tuk-tuk from the hotel is about $1. There are no TVs or phones in the room, which suited us. We were able to ‘switch-off’.

In the evenings we often ate out at small restaurants between the hotel and the town.
Another plus is the staff. Without exception they were all friendly and eager to please.

We will definitely stay there again if we return to Hikkaduwa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Longton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Im a regular to Hikkaduwa. Visit almost at least 4 to 5 times a year purely on leisure! Each time I visit hikkaduwa I go with at least 4 to 8 friends and stay at Sunils. The reason I chose to stay in this hotel is because: Very basic, very clean, very friendly, very flexible hotel and has a very wide beach right in front of the hotel!

Staff is very helpful and always with a smile!! My favourit room is (Room no 34) thats my room! on the beach.

One thing, I wish they can remove the plastic sheets on the fence that they have put to stop sea breeze coming in, this blocks the view of the beautiful Indian ocean from my room ;-)

Chanaka

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanaka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunilsbeach, Manager - Sales & Marketing at Sunils Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We surely look forward to having you with us again someday in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Stayed at this hotel in October 2007 with Family. It is a very simple hotel with basic facilities.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly which is one of the few plus points of this hotel. Avoid the welcome drink at all costs..


The rooms are very basic - if all you require is a place to sleep then Sunil's provides a roof over your head. Had problems with the plumbing...toilet wouldn't flush properly...The aircon. wasn't working properly.

The managment were indifferent to our plight.

The pool was nice and clean, one of the few plus points.

checked out after one night and moved to the Amaya Reef down the road...which i would highly recommend (check review).

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The faulty plumbing and the room facilities or lack therof
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#15 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
#24 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunils Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunils Beach Hotel

Property: Sunils Beach Hotel
Address: Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sunils Beach Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the delightful, sun kissed, palm fringed golden beaches of Hikkaduwa. Located on the Beach, Sunil's Beach Hotel offers you miles and miles of uninterrupted beach frontage probably the best Beach in the South West Coast. We offer you 60 delicately appointed spacious double rooms, overlooking the sea. Air-Conditioned and Non-Air-conditioned Rooms. En-suite bathrooms equipped with shower and toilet. Running Hot & Cold water. Courteous 12-Hour Room Service. Laundry Service. And much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunils Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing