We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As wonderful as the other reviews say”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aditya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aditya
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“As wonderful as the other reviews say”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

It is difficult to write anything different from what has already been said. Ignore the one poor review, we didn't suffer from mosquitoes nor did we mind the open bathroom. With temperatures over 30 deg C, the cool jacuzzi was very welcome. On one night we asked to eat on the beach, so we had a table set up overlooking the sea lit by lamps and the moon. Quite magical. This must be a great place for a honeymoon, but make sure you pay the extra for a sea view.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurogolferoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    60
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
101
396
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

An absolutely delightful little boutique hotel. After our four and a half hours taxi ride from the airport, Aditya was just the place that we needed to unwind and relax.
We were met at the front door by Fernando and his staff and were welcomed most warmly before being be-decked with garlands of freshly picked frangipani and a glass of the most delicious pineapple juice.
We were shown to our room by Fernando - and what a room! We had booked a Sagara Suite looking out onto the ocean. Soothing and calming background music was playing when we entered the room. The bathroom was enormous with its plunge pool at one end (no it was not heated - but we found that not to be a problem. In fact it was a delight to step into the cool water after the long trek from the airport.) Yes it is open to the elements at one end - but we enjoyed this, being able to listen to the crashing sounds of the waves as we dropped off to sleep.
As for mozzies - why on earth haven't those people who in the past have complained at the lack of nets, actually asked the management? We did - and were provided with a large self supporting net that covered the entire bed. An we experienced no problem whatsoever.
The staff ensured that our Ruby wedding anniversary was celebrated with a room decoration of 30 brightly coloured burning tealights and a gorgeous chocolate torte on a plate on our bedroom table appropriately enscribed.
Food was superb and we were offered a variety of dishes every evening. Fish included yellow fin tuna, mahi mahi, seer and grey mullet. The egg hoppers for breakfast were something that everyone should try! Chef NAMAL was only too willing to show us around his kitchen.
How is it that Aditya rates only Number 2 hotel in Hikkaduwa area on Trip Advisor? We defy any hotel in this area to better what we received at Aditya!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshConblocCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

Kirsty and I were married at Aditya on 8th Jan. We stayed for 14 nights. A number of things make this hotel a must to experience. The food is stunning, the menus extensive. The staff, provide service to rival the best hotels in the world. The rooms are stunning. We had the Surya suite for 14 nights. If there is a better room, with a more exquisite and romantic shower I'd love to visit it. Our wedding day with 12 family and friends was amazing, everything we hoped it would be. This hotel does price according to the experience, it is worth every $ and more. We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

Aditya is a small luxury hotel you will never forget. The staff is so friendly, professional and helpful. The place is very quiet, which makes it ideal to relax and unwind. The food is excellent, the chef serves a worldkitchen of outstanding quality and the prices are reasonable.
The rooms are very spacious with a private plungpool. Some rooms even have a second bed on the terrace!
We have come here several times, and are looking forward to the next time...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
178 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is in the tsunami area of Sri Lanka and was built after the event. The hotelk is really wonderful, great pool, 2 mins from the sea, fab rooms and great service. We would recommend it and if you can stretch to a suite do go for it as they have there own patio and plunge pool with jacuzzi. Paradise!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

In preparing for this trip, I read almost all the reviews for Aditya, but when we finally got there, we realized that the reviews, for the most part, had not really prepared us for the experience. First off, you really need to understand why you are on vacation. If you are looking for a lot of activity around the pool, a lively bar scene and a trendy resort restaurant, this should not be your destination. If, though, you are looking for absolute relaxation, attentive service and unbelievable food, this is your place. Aditya is a cross between your own private villa and a 5-star hotel. It is personal and private, but with an incredible chef, flawless service at your fingertips and a personal concierge to help you navigate any adventures you desire.

You enter the resort down a long narrow stone-walled alleyway and emerge in a peaceful garden courtyard onto which the open reception area spills. You are greeted by the hotel’s attentive staff and led to a comfortable seating area where you are brought fresh fruit drinks and give a lei of fresh flowers. There is no reception counter or waiting in lines here. As you relax to the sounds of the ocean, all your paperwork is taken care of and you are escorted to your suite to settle in.

The suites are magnificent. We stayed in the ocean-facing Sakra that had relaxing views of the gardens, pool, and sea. It was appointed in tasteful, local furniture and had a raised seating area inside that looked over the balcony wall to the ocean. The balcony was huge with a set of chairs and a large, queen-sized daybed that was made up every morning for relaxing. Lastly, there was a nice-sized plunge pool. Although not heated, the temperature was tolerable and the design was extremely comfortable in which to lay. The bathroom, though, was the highlight. With a massive shower at one end, and completely open to the ocean at the other, the bathroom spilled out into the tropical air through the aforementioned plunge pool. It was unique, but completely functional. We went in November and were not bothered by mosquitoes or bugs of any kind and the extremely high ceilings and massive ceiling fan kept the space comfortable and cool. As well, the clever design and depth of the bathroom ensures that you get to enjoy the outdoor feel, but your privacy and safety are completely maintained.

The main areas of the hotel are very well thought through. There is a restaurant, sitting area, bar and pool area which flow into each other, but the interesting use of interior support walls, colors and varying levels of the floor make it feel both open and secluded. As well, almost the entire back of the hotel is open to the ocean. With 40 ceilings and no walls, the sound of the ocean simply echoes gently throughout the entire ground floor.

The restaurant is absolutely world class and the chef is a genius with the local ingredients. As with all areas on the ground floor, the entire restaurant opens to the garden and the sounds of the ocean are a subtle companion. As many have said, you can get your meals anywhere, anytime and in this paradise, there are more than a few places you would want them. The restaurant staff is pleasant, friendly and extremely efficient and because there are only 12 suites, the waiters get to know your needs very quickly and anticipate without being intrusive. The menu is extensive enough to keep you satisfied for a long stay, but if you would like something special, the chef is willing and able. We spoke with him on several occasions and he is charming and helpful. For Sri Lanka, the food prices are a bit high, but they are less than you would pay in for the equivalent in the US or Europe. If you are looking for something different, there are several decent restaurants a short tuk-tuk ride away, but we never saw the need.

As I have already highlighted, the hotel is really for relaxing and we spent the majority of the week between the pool and the beach. The hotel staff that attends to these areas is outstanding and caters to your every whim. One day on the beach, the guys showed up with some freshly cut coconuts and straws. It was the first time I have ever tasted fresh coconut milk. The sitting area on the beach is great and set in the foliage outcroppings. The staff will set up lounges and an umbrella and keep you in supply of fresh towels, drinks and food for as long as you need. Swimming in the ocean, though, was a bit rough and the steep angle of the beach that lead down to the water can be challenging. Since I am more of a pool swimmer and beach sitter, this did not bother me, but if you are looking for calmer water, this may not be the best choice.

That said, a 10-minute ($3.50) tuk-tuk ride down the road leads you to a great beach with crystal-clear, calm waters and great snorkeling. A 75-meter reef creates an easy snorkeling area, but if you are more adventurous, you can have a private boat and a guide (I recommend the great guys at Poseidon) for around $27.00 to take you to a reef island about 100 meters off the coast. There you will see everything you can image. Go around 10:00am, as the seas can get rough later in the day.

The other excursion we took was to Galle. This is worth the 30-minute tuk-tuk ride ($8.00). It is an old Dutch fortress city and for the most part has not been renovated or modernized. It is a like a living museum. The architecture is Dutch colonial and each street has a few hidden gems. Highly recommended.

The big question for us was how to get to Aditya from the airport. The Colombo airport is actually easy to navigate and you can ask the hotel to arrange a car. The driver will meet you just as you exit baggage claim and it costs about $110.00. The ride, although only about 150 km, will take about 4 hours, but is scenic and safe.

I travel extensively for both business and pleasure and have, some will say, an impossible standard. Aditya is one of the few places that not only met, but exceeded my expectations. The trick to enjoying Aditya is understanding that it is a place for relaxation. If that is not for what you are looking, please do us all a favor and book a huge resort somewhere else as your need for excitement will ruin the experience for the rest of us.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2W3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

We came from the Villa Bentota to Aditya and spent most of the time wishing we hadn't moved. The Aditya is an ok hotel but worth about a quarter of the price it charges. We started in a room with no view and a passageway used for (as far as we could gather) delivery lorries, rubbish bins and air conditioning units running alongside it. After an evening here we moved (at additional, although discounted cost) to a suite that was far fancier, split level and with a fabulous view.

Both rooms, however, suffered from bathrooms that were completely open to the elements (I don't know if they have rooms without this feature). While this might look exotic when you first see it you quickly realise some of the downsides...no temperature control and absolutely full of mosquitoes.

The other major disappointment was the plunge pools that each room, I believe, have. Again, a fabulous enticement in a brochure but a freezing cold (again no temperature control) plunge pool isn't what you want unless it's sweltering outside and otherwise you are paying for a fancy feature you don't use.

The food was fine but not great and very pricey, as was Aditya in general. It is also about 30 minutes from Galle so not great for sightseeing and the beach outside is almost non-existent (a very steep drop down to the sea caused by treacherously strong current) so you are confined to the (average, not overly new/clean) pool.

We have a large number of friends who have since been to Sri Lanka and have stayed at nicer, far far cheaper hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
3.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
24.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
15.2 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aditya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aditya

Property: Aditya
Address: 719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aditya 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aditya is an exclusive all suite luxury boutique hotel on a hidden stretch of beach close to the historic city of Galle. The hotel is small and intimate and its rooms are amongst the largest and most lavishly appointed on the island. The accent is on unrestrained luxury, personalized service and total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aditya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aditya Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing