We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Aditya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aditya
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Amazing relaxing boutique hotel. The rooms are stunning and we had a lovely ocean view room with an a balcony which housed a huge day bed and plunge pool with stunning views over the main pool and beach. With only 12 rooms you feel as though you have the place to yourself which is fantastic. The food is delicious and the staff were warm and friendly. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Ayubowan!

Thank you for a great review of Aditya!

We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will find us worthy of another visit in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 612 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent several nights at the Aditya Hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and offered us a very warm welcome. The rooms are simply spectacular and very clean, the staff tidied our room twice a day. The open bathrooms and the plunge pool outside are the icing on the cake. We also recommend the restaurant in the Hotel for Dinner, they offer a wide variety of different foods and cuisines and every dish we order was simply excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Garden and Sea View Room and actually preferred the Garden View Room (Dhatri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 644fabianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your excellent review of Aditya and our facilities and services! Chef thanks you for the kind compliments!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit to Aditya!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have traveled extensively around the world, in many 5* hotels - but this, quite easily has been the best. The minute you walk in you can only be impressed with the decor, and roominess of the hotel. Our room was on the first floor - it was huge. Beautifully decorated in antique furnishings - bed area, sitting room, balcony with double day bed and plunge pool. Very large open bathroom. The plunge pool was a welcome relief after a hot day - better than a shower - try it with chocolate and champagne!!! The attention to detail was amazing - and we certainly were not able to find fault with anything.
Our daughter was getting married there - and we would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a wedding venue. Fatema in the Head Office in Colombo handled EVERYTHING - food, menus, wine, canapes,flower choices, cake design, ceremony and even the surprise elephant that our grandson rode along the beach on towards the newly married couple! Bit of a show stopper!!!!
The spa had the best masseur ever - Aunty Maureen says thanks! It was also the base for the 'girls' to get their hair, make-up, and dressing - ready for the wedding. It was lovely, cool and relaxed and you really did feel pampered.
The wedding from drummers, dancers, flutist, traditional ceremony, cultural show, and fireworks was sensational.
We booked all the 12 rooms which made it very special to have the hotel to ourselves.
The staff were exceptional - friendly, helpful and it was just a pleasure to be there - nothing was too much trouble. Aditya has a policy of you can eat what you want when you want. Our typical teenage grandson only ate burgers, steak, chicken (with chips) - no problem at all - it was accommodated with ease and no fuss. Breakfasts had the most wonderful fruit platters, and silky smooth buffalo curd with honey - and you could have eggs or egg hoppers with curry (try them - they are great!).
One of the highlights of the 4 days was our Rest of the World v Hotel Staff cricket match in the field next to the Hotel. We are all cricket fans - but we were not expecting the hotel team to turn out in full kit!! Our flip-flop, flabby English/Australian team were no match, but it was fabulous fun - thanks guys.
Every meal was cooked fresh, with fresh ingredients and to a very high standard.
I could not find anything to fault at this hotel. They made the wedding so special and everyone said it was truly the best wedding they had ever been to - some accolade.
So thank you Aditya - for a very special holiday.

Room Tip: Book Mantanda - fantastic room with amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Ayubowan!

Thank you so much for your splendid review of Aditya. We are so glad that you enjoyed the rooms, the food and the ambiance and the Spa!

It was an honour to have your daughter’s wedding at Aditya and are thrilled that everyone enjoyed themselves so much.

The cricket match was a treat for the team as well and we hope that you all had as much fun as we did!

It was a true delight for the team to have you at with us and we all look forward to welcoming you all once again.

Thanks and Warmest Regards,
Shami and the Aditya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This small boutique hotel is just wonderful. It has twelve suites, all very different, but all are lovely.
Very friendly and helpful staff, food just great. Personal attention is given to everything.
Would go back. So relaxing, very romantic, and great to be away from the large hotel's and the mass of tourist. don't stay here with all your children, go and have time away just as a couple.The beach is long and very quiet.You are able to swim as long as you are careful and do not go to far out.A big thank you to all the staff, we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliza1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review of Aditya! We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Thanks and Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel with my family. The food was good and the staff was excellent. I would strongly recommend this place. The property is kept very clean. It was lovely having breakfast overlooking the ocean. The Manager Shamindra is most outstanding.

Room Tip: The Suriya room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eresha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your kind words about your experience at Aditya! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Thanks and Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We are a well travelled couple and have stayed in varying levels of luxury accommodation in our travels. This property is up there with the very best. I am not going to repeat what most other people have commented about Aditiya because I will be repeating my self. The property is well managed by Shamindra who takes his time to talk to his guests.

A special thanks to the team for arranging sweets and decorating the room as we informed them we are on our honeymoon - this is a very nice touch indeed.

I would like to summarise the pros and cons which I hope will help Shamindra in managing the property.

Pros
1. World class service
2. The property is kept very clean
3. Staff is well trained and not intrusive at all
4. Food is good but for example, the rice and curry can be even better (we only had one proper meal here)
5. Room decor and house keeping excellent, although the plunge pool water was not cleaned after the first day.
6. The views from Sagara suite we stayed in was second to none and it was so relaxing to enjoy breakfast facing the indian ocean.
7. Excellent pool staff, who even followed us to the beach when we wanted to take a dip in the ocean.

Cons
1. We were disappointed with the SPA treatment from the Balinese therapist. My wife had a one hour body massage where she lacked in skill when massaging the upper body and did not pay enough attention to detail and lacked consistency. I had a similar experience when i had treatment on my nails where she failed to smooth out dead skin in me feet.
2. We had no wifi for most of our stay and this could have been handled more professionally by the front office gentlemen ( two chaps) who promised many times they will re-set the router but did not follow up or concerned whether we got the wifi connection. However, Shamindra was concerned about this when I mentioned it to him on 2nd night and he gave a proper explanation and apologised. They are in the process of changing the service provider so should not be an issue in the future hopefully. Either way make sure you speak to Shamindra if you don't get a satisfactory response from front office guys.

We would love to return next year for a longer stay in this property.

Well done.

Ayuobowan

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KK_SAM999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your kind words about Aditya and our team! We are extremely happy that we were able to make your stay with us ‘heavenly’ and appreciate all the wonderful comments.

With regard to the issues highlighted, we have passed on your valuable comments to the Spa and have also changed to a better Wifi service provider. We always appreciate feedback that will help to make the Aditya experience better.

We look forward to having you with us again!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I will preface this review by sharing that I run a UK travel agency and as such am lucky enough to be fairly well traveled. However after a trip to India many years ago which wasn't what I had hoped for I was a little cautious about how I might find India's island neighbour.

We had booked the entry level standard room, and this is what we received. Whilst the room was spacious, well furnished, and had all the amenities you could want I would suggest other guests pay the extra and upgrade to the next category as all the rooms have a plunge on the terrace/balcony and our terrace overlooked some sort of generator which hummed all through the day - not disturbing, but enough of a noise to discourage you from siting out there as it spoiled the tropical ambiance. However there were many other places to laze around on the property so we just read out books and lay in the sun by the main pool most days when not out and about. Our room was called Aryaman - and if you are booking a standard room I would request not to have this room because of the outlook from the terrace, and also as it is directly below the gym and you can hear the equipment being used above you - although you can still enjoy the hotel as we did if you do end up in this room.

The food was good generally. The waiting staff all seemed to work very long hours (the same faces were there for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner) and were exceptionally softly spoken although spoke considerably better English that I could claim to speak Sinhala. We had a couple of meals where what was ordered was not what arrived but the staff were charming and apologetic do this was not a major issue.

The major disappointment I had was with the transfer which we had arranged directly through the hotel. Considering the UK tour operators who sell Aditya classify this as a luxury property (a status which is generally deserved) I would have expected the car service to be of a similar quality. However this was not the case. We paid over US$200 for a round trip car from Colombo through the hotel and considering this was about double the cost I could have booked a transfer myself for I was very disappointed. The car sent for us on arrival was something in the UK we would call a 'banger' and there was a leak which had made the back seat wet and therefore after the two hour transfer we were sitting in clothes which had become wet through sitting on the soft wet seat. The driver appeared to have some sight issues and did a lot of swerving about even when we were the only car on the road and was constantly changing between full beam and dipped to try and gauge distances. We expressed our concern about this rather harrowing start to our Aditya experience when we arrived at the hotel and asked for this to be noted and for a different driver on the way back. We were given a better driver on departure and a slightly better vehicle (it was a newer and dryer car although not a quality model) although for a luxury hotel I would have expected some reduction in price for the awful arrival transfer and yet we were charged in full - so the moral of that story - if you go to Aditya don't use their transfer, arrange it separately!

Finally I would say that the pool service was very thin - we never got offered a drink from the bar while by the pool. This is something I could understand if it were an all inclusive resort but as they would be making money from bar services I was surprised a member of staff never circulated to take drink orders which would have helped increased their bar revenue.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedestinationlounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your review of Aditya and we appreciate your kind comments and value your feedback on Aditya, especially with your extensive experience in the travel industry.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Aryaman and found the other areas of the hotel relaxing and are truly apologetic about the mixed up orders at the restaurant. We will make sure our team is more vigilant when taking orders in the future.

With regard to the transfer, we are extremely sorry about the mishaps that took place during the journey. We have not had any previous complaints about the airport transfers and try to provide a reliable and comfortable service while remaining reasonably priced (at USD 115) at all times. We will make it a point to inform the driver of the complaints regarding your transfer and are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for all the constructive remarks that will help us improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you at Aditya again and hope that we will be able to provide a perfect service during your next stay with us.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
3.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,722 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
425 reviews
8.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,777 reviews
24.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aditya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aditya

Address: 719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $185 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aditya 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aditya is an exclusive all suite luxury boutique hotel on a hidden stretch of beach close to the historic city of Galle. The hotel is small and intimate and its rooms are amongst the largest and most lavishly appointed on the island. The accent is on unrestrained luxury, personalized service and total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aditya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aditya Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing