We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first trip to Sri Lanka”
Review of Aditya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aditya
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
thedestinationlounge
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great first trip to Sri Lanka”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I will preface this review by sharing that I run a UK travel agency and as such am lucky enough to be fairly well traveled. However after a trip to India many years ago which wasn't what I had hoped for I was a little cautious about how I might find India's island neighbour.

We had booked the entry level standard room, and this is what we received. Whilst the room was spacious, well furnished, and had all the amenities you could want I would suggest other guests pay the extra and upgrade to the next category as all the rooms have a plunge on the terrace/balcony and our terrace overlooked some sort of generator which hummed all through the day - not disturbing, but enough of a noise to discourage you from siting out there as it spoiled the tropical ambiance. However there were many other places to laze around on the property so we just read out books and lay in the sun by the main pool most days when not out and about. Our room was called Aryaman - and if you are booking a standard room I would request not to have this room because of the outlook from the terrace, and also as it is directly below the gym and you can hear the equipment being used above you - although you can still enjoy the hotel as we did if you do end up in this room.

The food was good generally. The waiting staff all seemed to work very long hours (the same faces were there for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner) and were exceptionally softly spoken although spoke considerably better English that I could claim to speak Sinhala. We had a couple of meals where what was ordered was not what arrived but the staff were charming and apologetic do this was not a major issue.

The major disappointment I had was with the transfer which we had arranged directly through the hotel. Considering the UK tour operators who sell Aditya classify this as a luxury property (a status which is generally deserved) I would have expected the car service to be of a similar quality. However this was not the case. We paid over US$200 for a round trip car from Colombo through the hotel and considering this was about double the cost I could have booked a transfer myself for I was very disappointed. The car sent for us on arrival was something in the UK we would call a 'banger' and there was a leak which had made the back seat wet and therefore after the two hour transfer we were sitting in clothes which had become wet through sitting on the soft wet seat. The driver appeared to have some sight issues and did a lot of swerving about even when we were the only car on the road and was constantly changing between full beam and dipped to try and gauge distances. We expressed our concern about this rather harrowing start to our Aditya experience when we arrived at the hotel and asked for this to be noted and for a different driver on the way back. We were given a better driver on departure and a slightly better vehicle (it was a newer and dryer car although not a quality model) although for a luxury hotel I would have expected some reduction in price for the awful arrival transfer and yet we were charged in full - so the moral of that story - if you go to Aditya don't use their transfer, arrange it separately!

Finally I would say that the pool service was very thin - we never got offered a drink from the bar while by the pool. This is something I could understand if it were an all inclusive resort but as they would be making money from bar services I was surprised a member of staff never circulated to take drink orders which would have helped increased their bar revenue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedestinationlounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your review of Aditya and we appreciate your kind comments and value your feedback on Aditya, especially with your extensive experience in the travel industry.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Aryaman and found the other areas of the hotel relaxing and are truly apologetic about the mixed up orders at the restaurant. We will make sure our team is more vigilant when taking orders in the future.

With regard to the transfer, we are extremely sorry about the mishaps that took place during the journey. We have not had any previous complaints about the airport transfers and try to provide a reliable and comfortable service while remaining reasonably priced (at USD 115) at all times. We will make it a point to inform the driver of the complaints regarding your transfer and are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for all the constructive remarks that will help us improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you at Aditya again and hope that we will be able to provide a perfect service during your next stay with us.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    60
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
108
404
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was the nicest hotel we stayed at during our Sri Lankan tour. The rooms are stupendous with open views to the ocean. The rooms have many levels and all provide uninterrupted views of the trees and surf. The modern well appointed rooms are imaginative and luxurious. The staff try very hard and succeed in meeting your needs and everyone seemed to care that they do their job right. This is a great place to spend a few days at the end of a tour.
We used boutique Sri Lanka for our tour which included hotels and a wonderful driver named Pri. The local tour company included this hotel choice and we were very pleased that they did

Room Tip: Room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your kind words about Aditya!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and looked forward to seeing you back at Aditya soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to stay here twice within the last few months - and it was very special both times! From when you step in, all is calm and tranquil, and the friendly staff are there if you need them - or very discreet if you don't! The rooms are beautifully prepared with all that you could ask for - and with the wonderful room service we didn't need to leave! Right on the beach, I did get up for an early morning walk, and then had breakfast in the spacious dining area - and what a breakfast it was with homemade jams and pastries! And great coffee! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Ayubowan!

It was a treat having you with us! Thank you for a great review and we hope that you will be back soon to experience the tranquility of Aditya again!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

An effusive welcome awaited us at this luxurious boutique hotel. Our room was called 'Sacra' and it is possibly the biggest hotel room I have ever seen. The bathroom was amazing and I won't spoil it for anyone lucky enough to be given this room. Tea/coffee facilities, television, free wifi and our own plunge pool made our seven-night stay very comfortable indeed. The world-class chef cooked us some beautiful meals. The breakfast was so good it lasted us until our evening meal. Yoghurt, curd, jams, marmalade, bread and cakes were all home-made and delicious. The staff are what makes this hotel exceptional. They are all very well trained, eager to make your holiday memorable and cannot do enough to make you happy. It's a very quiet and peaceful hotel and there is a lovely library area with a well-stocked supply of books and games. An extremely well-run hotel with very happy, smiley staff.

Room Tip: Sea view or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosyglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review of Aditya!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at with us and that we were able to make your stay a comfortable, relaxing and memorable one.

The entire team is thrilled to hear such kind comments about the food, facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you at Aditya again!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been to some marvellous hotels in south east asia and europe but this has to be the best of them all.

As soon as you step in,the calmness and beautiful decor puts you in another world. The staff out number the guests but they are so discreet, professional, smiling and friendly.

As for the decor of the hotel: Very tasteful colours and furnishings kept pristine. There is a member of staff who touches up the paintwork! (very discreet) This is just a measure of what this place is like, every detail is managed discreetly but very effectively.

The rooms - wow!. We had a Sagara suite named "Martanda". All rooms at the Aditya are beautiful and spacious. The Sagara suites have an ocean view and it is worth the extra.

Martanda had a double bed on a raised platform that was forward facing out to the ocean, a plunge pool/jacuzzi and a double day bed on the balcony. The open bathroom was huge with a shower of about 9 square yards! Quality of furnture and fittings exceptional and beautiful.

Exceptionally clean. Rooms were cleaned twice a day and only when you chose not to be in the room - they knew somehow! Tea and coffee, fruit and water regularly replenished

Good TV and DVD, book and DVD library available.

Food - served when and where you wanted it 24 hours a day. No buffets (good!) Extensive choice at very good value. Excellent service at lovely presented tables. There is nothing immediately outside the hotel in the way of cafes/restaurants or shops. You dont need to go out for food because you dont want to miss the great food in the Aditya.

The lovely beach is kept clean by the hotel and you can have the sun beds placed wherever you want by the beach staff. There is also discreet security offcers in place.

Really nice smimming pool and reasonable depth. Always quality sun beds available. Food and drink served to you at pool bar or pool side from any of the menus available.

As we had stayed in Galle the previous 2 days we didn't feen the need to go there. We did however have half a day in Hikkaduwa. Tuk Tuk cost 800 rupees (about £4) - driver stays with you and brings you back. This was good fun. There are some local shops and bars.

Above all, its the staff and management that makes this hotel so special. Lovely memories for us. Thank you.

Room Tip: Sagara suites are worth the upgrade for the views. Martanda room is probably the best of the sagara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for such a flattering review of Aditya and our team! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was an honour having you with us and are glad that you found Aditya so special.

We look forward to your return and do hope that you will come back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This boutique hotel is right at the top of its game in respect of facilities and position. 20 minutes from the fort area in Galle the hotel sits on a deserted and pristine piece of the western Sri Lankan coastline. The rooms are spectacular. We stayed 4 nights, the first night in the Aryaman suite which features a blacklit starry sky painted on the ceiling and were upgraded to the Varuna suite on the first floor on the second night (larger room with much better view and massive outside balcony). Both rooms we stayed in had huge outside cold tubs and outside bathrooms. Everything worked as it should and there were no nasty surprises. The hotel is staffed to almost obscene levels and this can lead to slightly lax service with some of the staff effectively passing the buck. Having said that most of the staff were brilliant. Particular shout for Indika, Charith and the manager Fernando. Also the young new guy supervising the beach and the pool area, he couldn't do enough for us. Only real let downs for us was the poor Internet, it didn't work most mornings and was patchy around the hotel. Also and although there are some good meals on the menu, on the whole, the food is not the fine dining experience they sell. We had better meals everywhere in Sri Lanka including those at cheap beach shacks. Simple things could be done much better. The breakfast meats were really poor. The amount and quality of meat in all dishes was really not good enough. no chicken in a club sandwich!. More gristle than beef in the Rendang!. Poached eggs were very ovecooked twice. They really need to look at the suppliers or the hotel food budget. Most of the fish dishes were, however, OK. We did comment on the quality of the Rendang which they handled really well and deducted 50% from that nights meal bill. However, they do need to up their game on the food to bring it into line with the quality of the rest of the hotel. Having said that, we would return to this hotel because "its almost perfect"

Pro's
Excellent rooms, hotel design, position, massage, beach, cold tub.
Cons
Wifi/internet coverage and quality, Some average food,

Good driver local to Aditya, Palitha Gunawardana (Sasiru Tours) mobile 0094 777951906 landline 0094912275093. He also did our transfer back to Colombo from Ahangama for 10000 rupees using the expressway.. Please be aware if you get a good driver stick with him. There are some drivers who I swear cannot see ten metres in front of them!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are extremely sorry that your stay was not ‘absolutely perfect’.

We are so glad however, that you did enjoy your Aditya experience in spite of our shortcomings. We appreciate your valuable feedback and have made attempts to rectify the issues with the food and are extremely sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Due the problems we face with patchy Wifi signals in certain areas of the Hotel, we are in the process of engaging a new service provider to provide a better quality service. We look forward to completing this soon so that we can provide our guests with an internet facility that is of superior quality.

We would love for you to visit us again, and soon, where we can attempt to make your stay a ‘perfect’ one!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have just returned from staying at Aditya last week and cannot fault it at all.

We were met personally by the manager on arrival and immediate impressions were very good. The hotel is spacious, well laid out and tastefully furnished with Indian and Sri Lankan antiques and art. The room itself was one of the best we have stayed in, and we have visited a number of exclusive establishments in various countries. The suite was called Mitra and had an ocean facing balcony with sunken plunge pool, comfortable chairs and an incredble view through the gardens onto the beach - a great spot for sunsets.The plunge pool (with jacuzzi jets) isn't "hot" - it's a natural temperature, so sort of below luke warm. Contrary to what has been said by some of the other moaning reviewers we thought it was very refreshing in the heat and we enjoyed simply soaking our legs whilst gazing out to sea with a drink in hand.

The spacious room had everything you would expect and more. Some nice touches such as fresh fruit and Sri Lankan sweets, satellite TV (which I only turned on to catch up with some Premiership football which was shown live on two of the channels - footy fans take note!) lovely furnishings, comfy bed, quality ipod dock etc. They even have a pillow "menu" depending on your preference! The bathroom was incredible - huge walk in shower area with a nice powerful shower (ours had a minor problem with the thermostat which we reported to reception towards the end of our stay, but imagine it was easily fixed), double basins, and an open end through which you can walk up some steps into the plunge pool/onto the balcony. Still very private and probably the best view you've ever had whilst sitting on the loo! We loved it.

The food was of a very high standard - we're both "foodies" so are fairly critical of what we eat and almost without exception every dish got full marks. The wines were also very good and pretty reasonable considering where you were and where they came from e.g a very decent 2010 Cote du Rhone for 30 quid-ish. Service is attentive, respectful and friendly - not cloying over attention which you sometimes get at high end hotels. They quickly learned our "quirks" - no watermelon for my wife in her juice, only a small dash of white wine at a time so it doesn't get warm in the glass, silly things but was great they remembered without prompting every time. I would single out their waiter Indika for special praise - he was great. The sous-chef also came out to speak with us at our last meal and was great to be able to thank him in person, am sure there are plenty more people behind the scenes too who deserve a pat on the back.

We enjoyed the pool every day, it was clean and had a well kept poolside with comfy loungers, a very nice lifeguard/pool attendant always on hand to move your lounger or give you fresh towels. Service from the poolside bar was great too (including ice buckets for your beer on request!). The beach isn't the finest for swimming but we knew that already - you can swim with the lifeguard watching you and aparently further down the beach it is a bit calmer. But you don't want to stray too far from the pool and gardens they're so lovely. We went for a few walks up the beach and paddled in the surf.

We visited the fort in Galle on one day and reception booked us a lovely lunch there in one of the old colonial hotels (i forget the name). It was 20 mins and 700 rupees in a tuk tuk, well worth a visit. We had a couple of treatments in the Spa - I had a very good foot reflexology session and a decent massage, my wife had a facial (which she found less enjoyable compared to others she has had she says). The spa itself is very well kitted out.

If I had to offer any contructive criticism I would suggest they improve/expand the pool bar area so that it is a bit more sociable to sit around in the evening. It's a bit tucked away and could be a real focal point for chatting with other guests in the evening or just relaxing with a hand of cards. And very minor gripe but maybe change the music policy - music was only on at the bar in the evenings but a few too many western pop ballads for our liking (although we are hard to please on the music front!). Some more "chill out" or world music would have been nice to echo the surroundings. On our last night there was a local musician playing some nice woodwind instrument which we liked much more!

But those are very minor issues, I can't recommend the place highly enough and we can't wait to return! Thank you to all the staff who really did make our stay extemely enjoyable.

Room Tip: Go for Mitra - we thought we had the best view of the lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank permchiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your fantastic review of Aditya and we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

Your comments on the room, the view, the food, the service and the ambiance have covered every aspect of the hotel and we are so glad that you enjoyed your Aditya experience so much.

Thank you for your constructive criticism regarding our shortcomings. We will definitely try to improve in these areas to provide a service that is even better the next time you visit us.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
3.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,666 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
421 reviews
8.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
21.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
386 reviews
16.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aditya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aditya

Property: Aditya
Address: 719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aditya 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aditya is an exclusive all suite luxury boutique hotel on a hidden stretch of beach close to the historic city of Galle. The hotel is small and intimate and its rooms are amongst the largest and most lavishly appointed on the island. The accent is on unrestrained luxury, personalized service and total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aditya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aditya Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing