We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for couples to have a relaxing stay”
Review of Aditya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aditya
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent place for couples to have a relaxing stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is one of the top hotels I've ever seen. The rooms are super spacious, the service great and the atmosphere is pure relax.

The only thing you might not like is the beach (the sea is very roof). Even If I went with friends, I would recommend this hotel - boutique for couples.

By the way, they have a room with the universe in the roof, pretty cool

Room Tip: Get the Universe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUANDDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Ayubowan!

Thank you for this fantastic review. We are glad that you have had a relaxing stay at Aditya and that you enjoyed the galaxy lights on the ceiling, a feature in two of our Shanthi Suites!

Due to your stay being during the monsoon season, you were unfortunately unable to enjoy the nice stretch of beach that Aditya is located on.

We hope that you will visit us again soon to enjoy a milder beach and sleep under starry skies at Aditya.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    60
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
108
404
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Aditya is a lovely boutique hotel - it has fantastic design elements - loved the architecture, art (minus a few of the portrait photographs which seem to stare back at you in a most disturbing way), and very spacious rooms. Food was good - and they did pretty well considering the hotel was running a high occupancy - definitely stick with the Sri Lankan fare over the western options - breakfast hoppers (sri lankan) were amazing...but if you opt for eggs, I fear they might be microwaved, and the kitchen is fully Halal - so no porkie fixes, if that is your thing. Service was great - the staff are well trained, engaging and extremely friendly. The rooms are spacious, but see if you can get a sea view rather than garden view - it felt a bit claustrophobic. For your transfer to the resort - insist that the driver take the new highway and not the backroads - it can change a 2 hour journey into a 5 hour journey (which was way way too long despite the great insight into Sri Lankan villages along the way). The resort is about 20 minutes from Galle - which is definitely worth a visit to the old town. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view. Opt for the suite on the top floor if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your kind words about Aditya!

We hope you had a great time during your stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed the food and the ambiance.

We look forward to seeing you back at Aditya and please do take the expressway during your next visit for a more comfortable journey.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Highly recommend a stay here. Gorgeous rooms with a plunge pool in each and the rooms are tastefully done. Lovely beach front. The Thai food is truly authentic. Had a lovely Thai red curry seafood with steamed rice.. totally out of this world.. Go there, you wont regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully done. Ask for the high ceiling rooms. Check out the Thai food. Truly aut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed Aditya and that you have tried out the Thai menu that we have introduced to widen the menu choices on offer.

We hope to see you soon at Aditya!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

There are highs and lows to this resort but sadly we experienced more of the lows. We were there in a large group and paid US$275 per night for our room - we stayed for 3 nights.

The Highs:

- Once through the gate the setting is great and pool very nice
- Food very good and reaonably priced
- Staff very obliging

The Lows:

- It takes 3 hours to get there from Columbo airport
- The sea view rooms are bright and airy, the garden rooms are not. We were allocated a garden room which was gloomy and a bit foisty with a large mosquito population. The toilet flooded our bathroom a few times before we were moved to another gloomy garden room.
- Maintenance and housekeeping could be better. They used the bath towels to mop up the toilet flood, our air con failed and a few guests had to get the room safe fixed.
- The room design is flawed. There is no decent dressing table mirror in the aircon part of the room and the bathroom is like a sauna making it hard to dry hair and apply make up. Also very short on draw and hanging space.

We felt the room prices should have been around $150 to $180 per night and would have ranked it higher at this price point. Also had we been allocated a fully functional sea view room our opinion would have been better. Do consider the long drive from the airport if you are considering Aditya for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Simple - insist on a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubaiexpattraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Ayubowan!

Thank you for taking the time to review Aditya!

We are glad that you enjoyed the ambiance and the food. However, we regret that we could not make your stay more special.

To address the issues that you have mentioned in your review:

A flat rate for all rooms were based on a request from your host in order to make the reservation and payment process easier for her guests. Sea view rooms are sold at a premium when compared to the garden view rooms since the former have a better view. We had also, at that point, advised that the guests be informed that the different suite categories were available. The rates were also discounted since 10 suites were to be booked and then a per night rate calculated based on the special offer of stay for 4 nights and pay for 3. Your stay was subsequently shortened to 3 nights, but we still upheld the same rate as a measure of goodwill. We regret that this miscommunication has taken place between you and your host.

Perhaps the drive from the airport would have been faster if the driver had been advised to take the expressway in order to get to Aditya. The drive from the airport to Aditya via expressway takes a maximum of 2.5hours. In the near future, the airport expressway will be connected to the Southern expressway and travel time from the Airport to Aditya reduced to 1.5 hours.

While we regret to know that your stay in your suite was not comfortable, you were allocated one of the more requested Shanthi suites, which has the galaxy lights on the ceiling and is enjoyed by a majority of guests. The bathrooms are open air and have fans fitted in them in order to avoid them getting too warm.

We are extremely apologetic about the flooding of the toilets and the inconvenience it caused. The situation occurred due to a rather unusual problem of a pen being stuck in the drain. Back to back bookings of the room did not allow us to delve deeper into the problem, but it was fixed as soon as possible and we apologize wholeheartedly for the inconvenience.

As you have mentioned, our staff is very obliging and our housekeeping team is highly trained. All the bathroom linen is in white and therefore you may have been misled between the bath mats and the towels.

A remote control is provided in the room and guests usually set the temperature according to their preference. We noticed that the only issue with the air conditioner was that the temperature of the room was higher than our usual setting.

Pest control for mosquitoes is carried out on a regular basis and mosquito repellents are provided in all rooms and plugged in during turn down service every evening. Mosquito nets are also available on request.

Once again, we are extremely sorry that you did not find perfect respite at Aditya, which is what we strive to provide for any guest. We hope that you will visit us again.

Warmest Regards,
Shami and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

What an incredible Hotel, just 12 suites, my wife and I spent 5 days and stayed in a Garden Suite, which has an outside Bathroom and Jacuzzi which was great, the room was very spacious, although I would say they need at least a little more wardrobe space.
From leaving the room you have everything on your door step , from the pool & pool side bar great opening times , as long a guest is around the bar opens and stays open !!. The Restaurant offered fantastic menu and you can have your meals anywhere you like, so if you want a romantic table on the beach they will do that for you. The quality of the food was unbelievable from breakfast, through to dinner, our compliments go to the chef and the waiters.
The location in the South of Sri Lanka allowed us to see quite a lot of the countryside, Galle is the major town and the Fort is worth a visit.
WE certainly felt relaxed and the staff were excellent in looking after us again this is important to us, we certainly will come back to Aditya for a 3-4 day break from the rush of Dubai as its only 4.5 hours way to Colombo and once the highway is folly open in 2013 it will take 1.5 hrs to travel to Aditya.
Excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Ayubowan!

Thank you for this great review! It’s wonderful to know that you have enjoyed Aditya to the utmost and we hope that you will come back soon for a well deserved break to be pampered and spoilt by us.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Aditya( never could get the right pronounciation ) We arrived down a narrow driveway which means you are a good distance from busy Galle Rd to be greeted by a ice Sri Lankan lady who put a frangipani lay around our necks.This was the start of wonderful service in very impressive surrounds.Our room was huge,on one side you looked out onto a pond surrounded by tropical plants ,and the other was private plunge pool and outside sitting area.Near the pool is a large open air shower and bathroom.
Unfortunately it is monsoon season so the ocean is definitely too rough to swim in, but the nearby pool was lovely and getting 2 lounges by it never a problem.
The breakfast had a choice of 3 different menus,2 western style which was fresh fruit or home made yogurt with treacle or buffalo curd( try this ,I loved it ) followed by eggs anyhow with sausage and if you have room bakery items or banana pancakes.The Sri Lankan breakfast of soup and hoppers was also excellent.We rarely needed anything else till dinner.
The hotel arranges tuk tuks to Galle at 1500 rupees return or Hikkaduwa 800 return,each places are both worth spending some time at.There are other longer trips but we had already done a lot of sights so were happy to stay local.
The dinner menu is large with plenty of variety of styles and very reasonably priced.A bottle of French red,2-3 courses each all for under $80 Aus.They will serve your meals by pool,ocean or in room.We wanted to watch the AFL grand final in our room on our last morning and the full breakfast was served in our room and we had late check out.
I also had a massage which was very good.
We loved this place and really could not fault it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your fantastic review! It was great having you with us and we are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay at Aditya!

We hope you come back to Aditya soon to indulge in more laid back breakfasts, our spa – ‘Nirvana’ and luxurious pampering.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolkenstein, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A serene getaway far from the crazy chaos of the city. Refined service and a pleasant charm pervades the entire property. Breakfast on the beach, your own stretch of private beach. An elegant reading room, ocean sized bathrooms and private plunge pool combine to pamper you. Freshly squeezed juices and ornately presented food are a hallmark of the cuisine.
.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimitriwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you found your serene oasis at Aditya!

We hope you will be back soon to relax and unwind! We look forward to your next visit to Aditya!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
3.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,666 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
421 reviews
8.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
21.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
386 reviews
16.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aditya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aditya

Property: Aditya
Address: 719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aditya 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aditya is an exclusive all suite luxury boutique hotel on a hidden stretch of beach close to the historic city of Galle. The hotel is small and intimate and its rooms are amongst the largest and most lavishly appointed on the island. The accent is on unrestrained luxury, personalized service and total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aditya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aditya Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing