We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply our favourite place to stay in Sri Lanka”
Review of Aditya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aditya
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply our favourite place to stay in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We've loved Aditya from the first time we visited in 2008, and every year since then. Our visit this year did not diminish that feeling even one little bit. Aditya is still, somehow, special. The light and space of the property with well placed objet d'art is a sensory delight. Every angle is worth a picture.....Talking of sensory delights - the food was sensational! Best sweetcorn and crab soup we've ever tasted.

We enjoyed an excellent Spa treatment from a very well trained masseuse from Thailand.

Aditya is most certainly borne out of a passion rather than a business and simply delights, pampers and inspires time after time. We just don't know how they keep it running so well!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U_k_Hitherandthither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about Aditya. We, at Aditya, love having guests like you back, year after year, and we ensure that each time you visit, your time with us will be relaxing and memorable. We are honoured & humbled that in your travels to the many places that you have visited, that you hold Aditya in such high regard. We strive to give our guests a unique and rejuvenating holiday and are extremely glad that we have played a part in making your holidays special.

Our Spa Therapist is the latest addition to our team will be delighted to hear such lovely comments!

The Aditya Team were delighted to serve you and we look forward to seeing you once again at Aditya!

Warm Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    60
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
106
399
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salmiyah, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Aditya hotel by far is a unique hotel with its own chicness and style. The whole concept of this hotel is targeted towards peace and 'alone' time. This place is typically for couples no matter what age. Away from the commercial scene, and the busy world, Aditya secludes you into a heaven of its own kind. My husband and myself were very fortunate to stay at this marvelous boutique hotel and experience what everyone this board spoke about. After a long flight and a tiring journey we were welcomed by a warm smiles and fresh flowers followed by refreshing king coconuts. When we entered the room, a breeze of comfort surrounded us, making us feel on top of the world, the open air jacuzzi was everything you need to create romantic ambiance. On our last night we had a wonderful surprise of tea candles all over the room. It created a mood that still gets me giggle when I think about it.
We stayed there for only 2 days but went with suitcase full of memories.
We would like to thank the most efficient staff we have ever met, from the reception to the room service to housekeeping..everything was just simply perfect. Special mention about the security, we were very impressed that we were taken special care of as the security took the rickshaw drivers information whenever he picked us up. Kudos to the team at Aditya. We will definately return for some more of you oomph!! (FYI we have already recommended your glorious hotel to our friends)

Room Tip: Choose the sea view room, the jacuzzi faces the sea and its just devine!!!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyVerushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about Aditya. We strive to give our guests a unique and relaxing holiday and are extremely glad that we have played a part in making your holiday memorable.

The Aditya Team were delighted to serve you and we look forward to seeing you once again at Aditya!

Warm Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is one of the most luxurious places you can find in Sri-Lanka. Hotel is situated on the beach front, each room has a Jacuzzi and outdoor showers, and very lovely high selling .. a bungalow type experience... i would put the hotel at the same level as The Dati in Malaysia and the Banyan Tree in Phuket Thailand, only difference is that at Aditaya you got more value for your money and more of a homely experience and better service staff per guest!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamerdarwazeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about Aditya. We, at Aditya, are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will visit us again.

Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The hotel only has 12 rooms and is beautifully built like a large bungalow, with open air public areas and a lovely pool bar. Our room was called Surya, which we were upgraded to, it was two floors, had an open air bathroom and a plunge pool with a view of the ocean. Huge windows overlooking the ocean, and a second balcony. Its the most luxurious suite I've seen, and I've travelled alot! The staff are amazing, very prompt and helpful, yet never intrusive. It's a great place for a couple though we were 3 girls and loved it!! Our third bed was placed on lower floor of our suite, since there was plenty of space!

The only thing which needs improvement are the spa treatments. The treatment rooms are lovely but the therapists not skilled or trained enough. We tried both the male and female therapists; the male was better but still not good enough. The female therapist had to be arranged from elsewhere, and was very disappointing.

All in all, we would go back anytime to Aditya, it was paradise!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyeshaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about Aditya! We strive to make your stay at Aditya memorable and would love to see you and your guests once again.

We do apologize for the incident about the spa and are very sorry that it was a disappointing experience for you. While it is no excuse, our female spa therapist had to leave suddenly due to personal reasons but we are now pleased to inform you that we do have a new, well trained, therapist from Bali, the latest addition to our team.

We do hope that you will visit Aditya once again.

Shami and the Team
Aditya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We just spent a weekend at Aditya with the family. This is located on a clean sandy beach, a few kilometers before Galle, the main city in the southern Sri Lanka. What is unique here is the tranquility and the relaxed atmosphere it offers. The lobby is very spacious, uncluttered and decorated simply but exquisitely by someone who had a great eye for colour.

Bedrooms are spacious, well equipped, each with a unique view of the garden/beach and all amenities including a well stocked bar and a plunge pool/jacuzzi on a private verandah. The bathroom, which had an open-air rainshower, was more spacious than bedrooms in some hotels!

There were no buffets. There were no fixed meal times. The menu had an excellent choice ranging from Sri Lankan, thai, indian to standard western. Food was delicious, artistically presented by efficient, friendly waiters who walked and spoke in such a manner not to disturb the tranquility of the place! (A quotation on the menu read 'Music with dinner is an insult both to the cook and the violinist. G. K. Chesterton' !)

This is certainly not a place to spend only a weekend. I would certainly like to come back and spend at least a week here, just doing nothing, perhaps relaxing with a good book.

Oh! forgot to mention. This is an ideal private space for honey-mooners..... ;)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Aditya. We, at Aditya, are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will visit us again.

Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Aditya is perfect in every way. From the room/staff/service/food/ambiance - everything is 100%. My favourite place in Sri Lanka. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Aditya. We, at Aditya, are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will visit us again.

On behalf of all of us at Aditya,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Aditya has been -simply amazing- from the moment we arrived. There's no other way to describe the most beautiful part of our holiday!

The staff made us feel as though we were the only couple at the resort. Attention to detail was second to nothing. Oh, the food.. the food.. the food... every meal was just so perfect - never enjoyed eating so much. Every dish was just right. They catered to our very specific needs on food and all staff members we interacted with seemed to follow through this so well, almost like clockwork. It was easy get caught up in how perfect every moment at Aditya was.

The suite was just stunning. It was spacious, but subtle in it's appointment of luxurious trimmings and tastefully furnished, it didn't ever over-do that 'luxury' thing, and continued to surprise us as we wandered through Aditya's magical spaces. If it wasn't for the pool and the beach, we'd probably never have left the suite!

If it wasn't meant to be a holiday, we'd probably have never left Aditya! Aditya sets a very high bar, and it is noteworthy to mention that everything you see on their website - pictures specifically - are spot on. There is no exaggeration to how seductive Aditya itself is, just as they say. Overall Aditya has set a whole new benchmark for resorts and hotels alike.

We just can't wait to come back next year!

i&j
ps: for more pictures of Aditya, feel free to check out http://ima.lk/r6RHCK

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Aditya. We, at Aditya, are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will visit us again.

On behalf of all of us at Aditya,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
3.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,609 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
420 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
232 reviews
24.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
21.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aditya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aditya

Property: Aditya
Address: 719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aditya 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aditya is an exclusive all suite luxury boutique hotel on a hidden stretch of beach close to the historic city of Galle. The hotel is small and intimate and its rooms are amongst the largest and most lavishly appointed on the island. The accent is on unrestrained luxury, personalized service and total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aditya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aditya Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing