We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place great food great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

i will definitely select CTH as my next day out.food was excellent .I experienced a superior customer service during our stay . and we got opportunity to take part in a birthday celebaration of a foreign guest which was hosted by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BernardFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaminda S, Resident Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. It is great to know our culinary expertise exceeded your expectations. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed over the weekend ,.i would say amazing hotel by any standard set in hospitality trade ,.starting with guest relationship ,From the front office Manager and the staff towards all levels ,.reflected excellent customer care ,.layout and the positioning of the hotel was great ,.room comfort and design is above any standards ,.great food over all the meals we enjoyed ,.infused with lots of varieties ,.at last we enjoyed immensely and hope to return for another stay very soon .

Room Tip: If to enjoy the view,.select rooms ,.2nd floor onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chameekara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaminda S, Resident Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights n January 2014, and upon arrival got given a complimentary upgrade to their master suite! Spacious rooms with very good amenities. Service was good, a little slow in the poolside due to number of visitors. The beach can get quite crowded and runs parallel to the main road, however, the other side of the hotel has a nicer and quieter beach stretch. This hotel also has a resident 'turtle whisperer', Gamini, who feeds these giant turtles at 9am and 3pm directly on the hotel's beach - a phenomenal experience! He charges between Rs1000-Rs2000 for every feed, depending on how much time you spend with the turtles. Not to be missed if you are staying at this hotel! All in all, a great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach/pool view although you will still get a bit of noise from the main motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raishalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaminda S, Resident Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed for three nights on our last leg of our Sri Lanka holiday in this resort. I personally enjoyed our stay here. Our room has a nice view of the pool and the beach so we got lucky to have that. Great photo opt for sunset too. It was a descent room, clean, spacious for two, hot and cold shower, okayish cable channels, buffet selection is great, staffs are very helpful. Definitely would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: High floor towards the beach rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaminda S, Resident Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

In December 2011 we (my mother, myself and my wife) went to Chaaya Blu.
In December 2012 we (my mother, myself and my wife) went to Chaaya Tranz. During my stay in Chaaya Tranz in 2012, I had to move rooms as the floors used to get very wet and in general the room was very damp. One could feel the dampness in the bed linen and there was a musty smell in the room. When I first complained I was asked by the hotel staff if I had turned the air-conditioning on. This was a really stupid comment to make as air-conditioning is something the occupant of the room has a choice of turning on or off and also regulating the temperature to his or her individual preferences. The food offered daily during my stay in 2012 (breakfast and dinner) was excellent in terms of quality and variety.

Our stay in 2013.
Period of Stay: 29.12.2013 to 05.01.2014 (departure on 5th). 7 Nights
No of rooms: 2

Booking:
My mother made the booking (Voucher Number ZR0014370) on 03.09.2013 and paid RS. 105,000 as an advance. She specifically asked for two rooms on the 4th floor which were adjoining each other which was confirmed at the time of the booking.

On arrival 2 rooms on the first floor had been allocated which were adjoining each other.
I was able to have a room on the 4th floor on arrival but my mother had to take the allocated room 119 on the 1st floor. She moved the next day to the 4th floor and I occupied room 430 and my mother was in room 433 which were almost next to each other.

Comments about our stay:
Room 430 was damp. When we moved in the AC was at 22 deg. going full blast. The curtains had not been cleaned and had black marks where the folds are. I pointed this out to housekeeping supervisor. I am not sure if the black areas were dirt or mould. Again when I reported the dampness I was asked if I had turned the air-conditioning on. I moved from room 430 to room 406 which was better but this room was also damp but the floor was not so wet compared to the other room. It is impossible to sleep with the AC going full blast in the evenings as it is far too cold. My mother who is 78 and her companion who is 80 could not sleep with the AC on full blast so her room also started to have water on the floor. Imagine what could have happened if they slipped in the night on the water on the floor when going to use the toilet.

The dampness in the rooms seems to be a common problem as I met some other guests who said they even had mould on the walls. There is some defect and it is unacceptable to charge guests when you know this problem is there. Something I would consider doing is to get an expert (I know this is possible) to measure the amount of fungus on the walls/curtains etc. and what type it is to ascertain what adverse effects it could have on the human respiratory system.

I am annoyed because nothing has been done about his issue of dampness since 2012. Also the food quality has gone down significantly since 2012 in terms of variety and quality.
The New Year’s Eve Dinner however was fantastic! Compliments to the all those involved in organising it.

By the way I asked the hotel how much a taxi would cost to go to Galle. They said they could arrange it and it would cost 35 US $. This is about Rs. 4600 for a 20 k.m. trip. I came from Colombo in a luxury van which cost Rs. 9600 for 120 k.m. I could understand the hotel charging more than the standard amount if they were running their own Taxis as they do in Mt. Lavinia hotel. The charge rate is 230 Rs. per k.m. (compared to about Rs. 80) which in my opinion is exploitation.

I for sure will not visit Chaaya Tranz in Hikkaduwa again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaminda S, Resident Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We thank you for the constructive feedback which is truly invaluable to us and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement.
While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel, for a stay that we guarantee, will be memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed two nights, in last week of December 2013 at this hotel. I was with my wife and son. It was our second time at this hotel and we had a great time. As a hotelier with extensive traveling around the world, and working in the hotel industry over 33 years, I value this hotel as a very good location with friendly people. It is the people who make the difference in a hotel. We enjoyed freshly prepared food according to our taste. The fish restaurant is excellent. The view from our room was unforgettable! We will come again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priyantha-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaminda S, Resident Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed food at Crab seafood restaurant & Tranzfusion buffet during your stay. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Worst room I have ever stayed in. Walls and ceiling, all surfaces dripping with water, everything damp. The shower floor sloped AWAY from the drain and flooded the entire bathroom. The pool and grounds are nice enough and the buffet was OK although service was miserable. but overall this place is way over-priced and the rooms are disgusting. You may catch legionnaires disease. Or cancer from the mosquito killing cloud of toxic gas all over the grounds every evening.Eat there if you really have to (but why would you with rotti stop just next door), go in the pool if you want to,but make sure you check your room (with balcony door open) before paying for a night.

Room Tip: Check the room for damp and that the damp doesn't arrive if you switch the AC off or open the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R5263WFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaminda S, Resident Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. Constructive criticism is always appreciated as it helps us to better our product and service offerings, so we thank you sincerely for sharing your honest feedback which is deemed invaluable to us. Areas highlighted by you, will certainly be considered as areas of improvement. Whilst thanking you for sharing your feedback with us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our resort for a more memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
426 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#15 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon

Address: Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#5 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $127 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
112 Km away from the bustling city of Colombo and located on the Southern shoreline of Sri Lanka is the district which offers a 24-hour party on the beach. Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon Hikkaduwa, rated a four star is built along the golden sands, calls out to all those who enjoy island-life and beach-life with a promise to pamper its guests with the Southern Sri Lankan hospitality. In each room there is a spacious private balcony looking out to a view of the Golden Belt of the South Coast. 2 family suites, 4 corner suites, 4 deluxe rooms, 140 superior rooms. Air conditioned and equipped with a DVD player, 32" LCD TV, WiFi, mini bar, safety deposit box, telephone with IDD, complimentary tea and coffee making facility, hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Hotel facilities and services: a selection of dining venues, the main restaurant, specialty crab restaurant, pool restaurant and coffee shop. A lounge and pool bar that offers a wide array of local and international spirits, a roof-top spa facility, banquet hall and conference facility (300 to 500 pax). Moreover the hotel houses a freshwater swimming pool, PADI certified dive center and an excursion counter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa Hotel Hikkaduwa
Coral Gardens Hikkaduwa
Coral Gardens Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing