We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Hikkaduwa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Hikkaduwa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were very worried about the humidity/dampness issue before arriving at this hotel but it turned out to be a great place for a 2 week stay. We were staying on the 4th floor and didn't experience any dampness or humidity issues apart from a slightly damp smell when we returned from a 2 day trip. I think as long as you get a room on the 4th floor and keep the aircon on all the time you won't have an issue with humidity or dampness.

The location is excellent, right in the centre of Hikkaduwa perched on the corner of the coastline so the beach runs right round the edge of the hotel. The beach right in front of the hotel isn't that big but there is a much larger stretch of beach just beside the hotel - just a 1 minute walk away- that is swimmable because of the coral reef.

The rooms are spacious and all have an ocean view and a massive balcony with a day bed. The beds are comfy, the bathrooms are nice and have a great monsoon shower. The Wifi worked perfectly the entire time we were there.

The only downside of the room is that it's very difficult to control the temparture with the air conditioning unit. It is automatically set at 24 degrees but on some days it felt considerably warmer. We called reception to come and help us turn the temperature down but it took 3 visits to get the room moderately cooler.

With the exception of the main restaurant and the bar, the whole of the ground floor of the hotel is outdoors but covered and the open air vibe is great. The garden area and the pool are massive and it was never a struggle to find free sunloungers.

Breakfast was outstanding, probably one of the best I've had in any hotel around the world. They have a full selection of Sri Lanka and Western (Continental, British and American) options with 2 live cooking stations, 1 making pancakes and waffles and 1 making eggs and omelettes. The one downside for the breakfast was the daily struggle to hail someone down to get a coffee. They should really just have a self service table as the guys kept disappearing or forgetting that you'd asked for one. Some days it took 3-4 requests to get 1 cup!

There is a pool table hidden round the corner in the bar and they offer DVDs at reception to watch in the room. We took 1 movie which was blatently a copy and was such poor quality (picutre and sound) that it was unwatchable.

On the whole, Chaaya Tranz is a great place to stay and the level of service throughout the hotel was great. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Top floor has an amazing view and the rooms seem to be less damp than the other floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edimbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    515
    155
    60
    64
See reviews for
446
564
46
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights (room only) during the slightly rainy season in Hikkaduwa.
Location : Perfect! With a lovely beach. About 5-10 minutes from station which is very good as I would recommend taking train to Galle. There are few shops & restaurants nearby.
Rooms : Clean, inviting & good with private balcony facing beach. However, the balconies have sort of like a common space as an air vent. So, your balcony is open at the middle to the balcony so not as private as you would want it to be. Some of the things in bathroom looked rather old but they change if you ask them to. During our stay, we faced some electricity issues but they promptly fixed it.
Staff : Polite and very friendly
Food : We had only dinner buffet in their main restaurant which was excellent with live band. Apart from that we would highly recommend to try out their crab restaurant which has some of the best dishes and turns to be cheaper than the buffet. Note that most restuarants in Hikkaduwa are not cheap.
During our stay, we were pleasantly happy to see some Srilankan weddings in the hotel and found the place very alive.
Wish we could stay there for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do invite you to try our specialty Crab restaurant upon your next visit as we do serve the finest seafood in the town. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 10 nights from 05th September 2013, the staff and management of this hotel are a credit to the company, nothing was too much of an effort. Hotel pool and grounds are great, good selection of food and nightly entertainment although in the off peak season. Overall we had an excellent time. Only draw back were the rooms. Our initial room was on the 4th floor(best views) although being off season we found it cold if the air conditioning was on therefore, we turned it off and used the ceiling fan. After coming back from a 3 day island tour, our room felt damp and the floor was wet. We tried to dry the floor with towels but to no avail. In the end we requested a room change and moved to the 3rd floor. Upon initial inspection, the room looked fine, so we unpacked for our last few days. We found this room to be very damp, all the walls, the floors and the cleanliness something to be questioned when you looked in detail at the bathroom etc. Speaking with some other guests, they had also requested room changes due to the dampness issues and wet floors.
Do not let this put you off booking this hotel as once the issues with the rooms are sorted, it's a 4* property in a great location in Hikkaduwa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments regarding the dampness of the rooms which were faced due to high condensation of the air conditioning. Weare taking necessary measures to mitigate this occurence and seek your kind understanding on th same. While thanking you for sharing your feedback, we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in Chaaya Tranz in September 2013 for 2 weeks. Some people were saying that September is not the best season to visit Sri Lanka, we really enjoyed the vacation. It was raining almost every day, but only for 15 minutes and it didn't spoil our rest at all. We got tanned and swam in the ocean. By the way hotel is near a wonderful beach! Tides in the ocean are high, but near Chaaya there is coral reef which breaks tides and it is possible to swim safely. We were swimming every day, jumping on tides) There are two turtles who come every morning and you can feed them. There are no beach beds on the beach, they all are located on the teritory of hotel (beach is public), but it is even better because there are annoying beach boys on the beach who try to sell you smth or invite you to excursion. They are nice and friendly, but a bit annoying.
Rooms in the hotel are nice and cosy, with big balcony. All rooms have ocean view, but it is better to live on 3rd or 4th floor. Humidity is high, but if to turn on air condition it gets better. We didn't leave tips to cleaners (we once tried and left $1, but the quality of cleaning was the same).
Food in the restaurant is delicious! Breakfasts were pretty much the same every day, but still we had a choice. Suppers were wonderful! Not even once they repeated! A lot of local food to try, seafood, pasta, soups... Delicious! As usual, local food is spicy with curry and chilly, but there is a lot of European dishes. Drinks are it served, only for money. Quite expensive( Ask for water (not bottled), it is free.
We went on two excursions: 1 - to Kandy and NuvaraElya, 2 - to turtle farm and river safari. Both were great! First one is long (we left hotel at 4 a.m. and returned at 2 a.m. the next day). It was hard, but amazing! We say Budda temple, elefants orphanage, botany garden, tea factory and plantations, waterfalls.... Views were wonderful! I recommend to go on such excursion to see Sri Lanka from inside, to see how they live not on the shore but in the middle of an island. The second excursion was shorter, only 4 hours. River Safari is interesting) we saw monkeys, varans, turtles, a lot of birds... Great way to see nature) Firts excursion we bought from a guide who met us in the airport, the second one - from the beach boy. Both were quite good, with good transport.
In general, vacation was 100% great) Andsome rains didn't spoil it. Hotel is worth staying, service is wonderful, we had everything what we asked for)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon whilst staying with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again, perhaps to celebrate your wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited this place on our way back from Unawatuna to have lunch, with my family. This hotel is amazing with a lovely beach and pool. It doesn't have that grandeur look from outside but as you walk in its a different look altogether. The place is clean and so are the surroundings. The staff very friendly and polite and the Sunday Buffet tops it all. Well worth the trip, as it has an amazing spread. We had an amazing time relaxing and even got lucky as the turtles were out to greet us at sea. Had a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shehani m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was at Tranz for three days (two nights) on a full board basis with my colleagues.

The hotel at the first glance doesn't look that luxurious, it appears to be a large standard beach hotel that you can find in SL. However what is inside is a slightly different story.

Positives:
- The rooms are pretty large and well decorated. There are concrete couches with soft mattresses on the balconies which give a really good view of the sea.
- Large selection of food. During all three meal times, the selection of food was really good. There are additional "action stations" in addition to the main buffet.
- Location. The hotel is located a walking distance to the main coral reef Hikkaduwa is popular for. There is an additional reef (coral and rocks) right in front of the hotel which allows you to walk a long distance to the sea during the low tide. Be careful not to damage the corals though.

Negatives
- No private beach. However there is a strip of beach which is rarely used by others right in front of the beach. A large garden space allows you to sun bathe and relax as well.
- Balcony arrangement. The balconies have sort of like a common space as an air vent. So your balcony is open at the middle to the balcony above. This is a bit of a privacy issue for me.

The hotel is painted in very bright colours. Some may not find this to be of their taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KulendraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I live in Galle and it's a hobby of mine to visit hotels in the area for lunch and, if possible, a swim, in either their pool or the sea. The SW coast in general is not ideal, and in many places dangerous, for swimming as the sea can be very rough and the beaches shelve sharply, probably more so since the tsunami. However, there is often a reef-like rock formation off the coast where you can see the waves crashing, while towards the beach it's much calmer. In the case of the Chaaya Tranz a small bay also helps, as you can see from Google images. Because of the topography, the hotel and its grounds have a fine view along the shore, whereas most hotels simply look out to sea. And compared with, say, the Bentota Beach Hotel, the attractive grounds are close to the sea and the outlook is arresting. Many hotels simply give onto the beach, where you are exposed to hawkers and may not have enough shade. The pool is large and an interesting shape.

What I'm trying to say is that, provided you are persuaded by the reviews of the CT as a hotel, you will not be disappointed by the setting, which is as good as it gets along this entire coast. The plus for non-residents like me is a 'lunch package', which gives you a buffet lunch, use of the pool, a towel and the excellent changing-room, finishing up with tea and cake. On weekdays this costs Rs 2100 (£10.50) and on weekends Rs 3000 (£15). The lunch is ampler at weekends but the hotel is also much busier as lots of Sri Lankans come to eat - the hotel is not at all exclusive, which I like. To be honest I would not rate the food much above average, and I mean Sri Lankan hotel average. Finally, the staff are without exception charming and very helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We sincerely thank you for recommending our Hotel and all its offerings. We do hope you would stay at our resort so that you could experience our warm hospitality at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
3.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
21.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon

Property: Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Address: Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#5 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
112 Km away from the bustling city of Colombo and located on the Southern shoreline of Sri Lanka is the district which offers a 24-hour party on the beach. Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon Hikkaduwa, rated a four star is built along the golden sands, calls out to all those who enjoy island-life and beach-life with a promise to pamper its guests with the Southern Sri Lankan hospitality. In each room there is a spacious private balcony looking out to a view of the Golden Belt of the South Coast. 2 family suites, 4 corner suites, 4 deluxe rooms, 140 superior rooms. Air conditioned and equipped with a DVD player, 32" LCD TV, WiFi, mini bar, safety deposit box, telephone with IDD, complimentary tea and coffee making facility, hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Hotel facilities and services: a selection of dining venues, the main restaurant, specialty crab restaurant, pool restaurant and coffee shop. A lounge and pool bar that offers a wide array of local and international spirits, a roof-top spa facility, banquet hall and conference facility (300 to 500 pax). Moreover the hotel houses a freshwater swimming pool, PADI certified dive center and an excursion counter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa Hotel Hikkaduwa
Coral Gardens Hikkaduwa
Coral Gardens Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing