We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Nearby Hotels
$76
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citrus Hikkaduwa(Hikkaduwa)
$88
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aditya(Hikkaduwa)
$231
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant(Hikkaduwa)(Great Value!)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbeach Hotel(Hikkaduwa)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,927)
Filter reviews
1,928 results
Traveler rating
911
639
203
87
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
911
639
203
87
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschaaya tranzcrab restaurantpool barsri lankacorner suitemain restaurantaction stationssea turtlespublic beachseafoodlarge turtlesspecial thanksdinner buffetpool sideprawnsprivate balconyrestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,230 - 1,235 of 1,928 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The best thing we enjoyed was the sea and the beach. It was an excellent, safe location for sea bathing. Because of the location advantage the beach was bit corwded. But still the experience was super. Food also was very good; there was a good spread. We enjoyed all 3 meals very much. Rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly. Only negative point is that we were not offered a welcome drink even after checking in until we asked for it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dulani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the warm hospitality extended by our staff. We apologize that the welcome drinks were not served to you and please be rest assured that this is a one off lapse as all our guests are always served with welcome drinks upon their arrival. While thanking you for your feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I arrived late at the hotel , called the room service asked if chicken halal , i am muslim , he said yes , I make order and it deliver to room , look good , but I open inside above patty I see bacon , I called again room service ask what bacon he say poke , ( poke in halal chicken burger ) I throw it . Now I join trip advisor I want know from management what meaning of this ? Y like this , we see lot Arab travel to your hotel if same repeat and people advice in Arab county in travel site about this ? It's not good . Please comment if your menu like this ?

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 361,122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you and we are taking very serious action to ensure that this sort of incident will not repeat in the future. We are halal certified operators and all meals are clearly labeled with pork being served separately with clear labeling. We do have certain meals where different meat items are mixed and we profusely apologize for erroneously including an undesired meat in your meal. While thanking you for your valued feedback we wish to reaffirm and stress that this sort of occurrence is the first of its nature and will not be repeated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel for a holiday that we guarantee will be memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at this hotel and had a great time. We were greeted with a fresh papaya drink and given a quick tour of the main facilities before being shown to our room. All the bedrooms overlook the pool and the beach and as such we had a great view and a clean large air conditioned room. Our only complaint with the room is on occasion we could hear noise from downstairs. While this was infrequent, on our last night (before a very early flight) we did near vibrations through the walls and we were on the 4th floor. However, on the plus side, the room was kept clean and mopped every day so there was so left over sand from the beach. A very relaxing environment all in all and a very comfy bed.

We were on a bed and breakfast board and the breakfast was faultless. While it had croissants, egg, sausage, bacon and cold meats as you would expect, there was also a fresh waffle/pancake station and a station where you could order eggs/omelettes as ordered. There was an array of different fruit juices.

We went to the Crab (the a la carte restaurant) on the first evening and while it was pricey for local prices, the food was lovely. They had several added touches such as pesto nibbles to start, sorbet between courses and chocolates after your meal. We had the singapore crab and the prawn rendang which were very nice. We also tried the mediterranean tapas restaurant which was also very tasty. The staff are all very attentive and do everything they can to ensure your meal is an enjoyable experience.

We did order the room service one evening. It was cheaper than the a la carte restaurants and very tasty food. It took around half an hour to arrive and was delivered on a table. We were very satisfied with the service.

The pool service was great as well. They provide beach towels and when they staff see you coming, they bring over cushions for the sun beds and put your umbrellas up for you. The pool is lovely although it was a shame the crows seemed to enjoy it as well. fireworks are let off to scare them away but they are very persistent. Staff do come around asking if you would like a drink throughout the day and are all very welcoming and polite.

The hotel is in a great location, and surrounded by a lovely beach. Unfortunately we were unable to snorkle as the conditions were not right but I would love to go back and experience this and the coral reef surrounds the beach. We were lucky enough to meet some wild turtles on our stay.

As we were leaving early in the morning and would miss our last breakfast, the staff kindly put together a breakfast box for us. Just one example of how helpful the staff were.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Hikkaduwa. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is in the perfect location and has all the necessary facilities. A very enjoyable and relaxing break.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff at every level always strive to exceed guest expectations and we are we are happy to know that you were pleased with their service. While thanking you for taking your valuable time to write to us we eagerly look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel has a great beachside location with extensive grounds, the main buildings offer large and professionally run dining areas which cater for a very international tourist market. The bedrooms were perfectly, but as has already been mentioned they can get damp. Lifts were very busy, slow, and broke down occasionally. On balance a good blend of modern efficiency and a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbrookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope to have you with us again for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were staying in Hikkaduwa in a small guest house and went for meals in the hotels nearby, we chose this hotel because it looked expensive and had some class. We arrived and were challenged and told to buy a meal ticket from the reception but a waiter took my credit card and did it fir us, which took 29 minutes. We chose from the extensive buffet table our starter, then on to the mains, the meat was cooked to perfection but the potatoes were uncooked, so too the carrots and swede or some such vegetable, I complained to a waitress, who called the Head Waiter who asked why I was not happy, I showed him that they were uncooked as it was impossible to get a knife into them, they took my plate away, then the Chef came out and I told him the problem. When I looked they had removed the offending items from the buffet table, they did give me some beautiful king prawns in a dish. I feel there is no excuse for bad food. Such a fabulous environment but such a disappointment too.

Room Tip: We did not stay there but I would recommend it only not sure if the food is up to standard
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. We apologize that the food served at the Hotel did not meet your expectations. We always strive to maintain the highest quality standards in our food along with all other aspects that make our Hotel a truly remarkable resort. your feedback is truly invaluable to us and helps us to improve what we offer at the Hotel hence we thank you sincerely for taking time to express your concerns to us. We certainly look forward to having you with us for a holiday that we guarantee will be memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews