We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
44
52
22
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
52
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conwalk along the beachtuk tukrooms are big and cleanfour nightsmini barsun loungersrestaurants and shopslovely beachseacolombo
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 122 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

Let's start with the pros:
The location is very good. The beach is not crowded at all but you are still close to nice bars and restaurants.
Also the rooms are pretty spacious and clean.
The view from the rooms facing the sea is really nice.
Now the cons:
The breakfast is the worst I have ever seen. There was next to nothing. We had to go and buy stuff to have what to eat.
Taking a nap during the afternoon was almost impossible because of the cleaning ladies. Not because of them working but because they were talking and laughing loudly.
Then the owner clearly doesn't understand the concept of service charge. You will have to pay the service charge EVEN IF YOU TAKE YOURSELF SOMETHING FROM THE MINI BAR...
If you pay by card you are charged an extra 3%. Not mentioned when you are booking though.
Nonetheless the hotel organised a New Year Eve party. Although they made a lot of garbage on the beach in front of the hotel with all the fireworks and stuff, they haven't even had the decency to clean. They left everything on the beach. This is disgraceful.

Thus I wouldn't recommend this hotel. There are a couple of other hotels really close that are far better.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marcel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

We provide a standard English Breakfast
Fruit Juice, 2 Eggs, Sausages, Bread, Butter & Jam, with choice of Tea or Coffee.
Occasionally a buffet of seasonal fruits and local curries and vegetables are provided.

It's nice to know that our housekeeping staff has done their job perfectly keeping your rooms clean.

I am sorry for the bad experience due to your lack of understanding of basic hotel policy and local regulations.
Service Charge goes only to the staff. The idea behind is that instead of a "tip" left at the table for just the person serving food, a token of appreciation reaches everyone, from the chef, all the way to the cleaning lady.
As the minibars are restocked and cleaned by our staff, the fee is still applicable.

Your concern for our environment is much appreciated. I can personally assure you that by 8 AM 1st of January 2018, the beach was cleaned as it's being done everyday.

Hope this clears up all your concerns.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

What a find! Once you hit the coast, prices unsurprisingly rise considerably so this lovely place is affordable too! We loved it!!

Try to get a room overlooking the pool and the sea. Rooms are big with air con. Bathroom was slightly outdated but was clean and so we weren't bothered at all.

Food on the site is ok but if you walk along the beach you'll find some lovely places to eat. There is an chilled place right on the beach if you turn right on the beach. We had some beers and watched the sun go down.

Staff were very friendly and accommodating. They helped us with a transfer back up to Colombo.

Would definitely come back here again. Thank you

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you very much for your review.
Travel Safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017

Nice hotel with attentive staff, although lacking in atmosphere a bit. The manager Mihindu was very organised with the booking and everything we requested. The pool in fairly small but is clean. They don't serve any alcohol but you are welcome to bring your own and keep it in the fridge in the your room. The breakfast was very disappointing - not great quality - no fresh fruit or vegetables. However, when i spoke with the Mihindu on the second day he immediately sent out some of the staff and bought it back for us and provided on subsequent days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a view
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Babyshouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016

We booked this hotel directly through net, and we did not face any problem; there is no need to pay in advance (maybe because we went in a lean season). The rooms were really spacious, the washroom was clean (even at the European standard), and the view from the balcony was awesome. We did not try the food there though. The swimming pool, however, is rather shallow, but was kept clean.

Room Tip: Book the sea-facing rooms with AC.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maitreya1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Thank you for the review.
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Unbelievably cheap accommodations for what you get - we had ocean-view rooms. When we first got there, our rooms had two extra bedsheets, enough towels for two people (and some to spare), toilet paper and a spare roll - pretty amazing, considering we often had to ask for these at the other places we'd stayed in on our trip. plus clean bathroom with a curtained shower + toilet area - not that this bothers me, but some people might prefer not using the toilet and showering with no barrier - Oh and working wifi! Some from our group decided to just stay in and pool/beach it because we'd been travelling for a bit and finally had a nice comfortable place to stay. The hotel staff downstairs were really sweet, and remembered how I liked my eggs (well, our group was only one of two that were there, so it really wasn't that busy). Breakfast was complimentary as well! The only thing I was sad about was that we didn't get the Sri Lankan breakfast, because we didn't tell them early enough - so we stuck to western breakfast (toast + egg) and of course, don't forget to ask for tea! Drink it black - great flavour to the Sri Lankan tea!

Our first night there, we decided to hit the town and found ourselves at a beachside bar/shisha place - nice place, pretty big, on the beach, friendly (though young) crowd, about 2 kms down from the hotel; but didn't look like there were too many locals. after we left the bar, we decided to just walk along the beach to get back to our hotel. It was night though, and we did need cellphone flashlights and the sea was rough and waves kept washing over our feet - it was a nice walk though we thought we were lost because it seemed further than we had thought at first. There were lots of stray dogs in the area and lots of partiers asking us where the party was.

definitely recommend a stay at this hotel, there are great little tourist shops selling those ubiquitious elephant pants! as well as a pretty nice kothu roti place down the street, about a 10 minute walk from the hotel down galle rd (i think - the main road off the hotel) - also the galle fort is about a 30-min drive from the cottage, so if this is your base, defintely recommend checking out the fort as well. there's also an indian restaurant down the street if anyone is craving indian.

Room Tip: ocean-view rooms - beautiful views!
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Priya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Thank you for the review.
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews