We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Suite Lanka(Hikkaduwa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbeach Hotel(Hikkaduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
44
53
22
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
53
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conthe ownertuk tukwalk along the beachrooms are big and cleanswimming poolfour nightsquiet endmini barsun loungersrestaurants and shopslovely beachrelaxing stayfridgeseaweligamacolombo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 123 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Certainly the best budget hotel you can find on the beach. This one is situated on the Narigama beach which is a lot quieter and lets you enjoy in peace. The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from the Hikkaduwa beach which is a lot more crowded and where all the nightclubs, bars and restaurants are located, so you are not missing out much on all the fun. There is small pool and a garden in the back facing the ocean. There is free wifi in the lobby area and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They are stationed at both the entrances on the hotel i.e. the main road and the beach, so its not an issue how much ever late you come to the hotel they will always open the gate for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd Floor have a much better view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HMtravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Thank you for the review.
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Clean and basic rooms in a great location by the beach within a few minutes walking distance to beach bars and restaurants. Small pool and garden and free wifi in the lobby area. We only booked one night as we then moved a few hotels up the road as Ocean View seemed a bit quiet, but we wished we'd stayed as it offers a quieter location which isn't in the midst of all the parties and late night bars. If you're looking for something clean, basic and somewhere to get a good night's sleep then I'd recommend this. They also organized a pick up from the railway station when we arrived.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BaselEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Thank you for the review.
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is located right on the beach, 7 minutes walking from Hikkaduwa's best surf spot, and only 5 minutes walking to some other beach restaurants and bars. The hotel has a great backyard with a nice pool and some palm trees providing shade. We stayed in the hotel for 5 days in a room with sea view, and we really enjoyed it. The room is simple, but has everything needed. The service is great, and the staff was really friendly and helpfull! The food offered in the restaurant was really nice, and if you want you can enjoy western food like pancakes and french fries. The freshly mixed juice provided in the morning was delicious! We would definetily go back!

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview have a fan and A/C, we found that the A/C was not really necessary in December.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Schulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Thank you for the review.
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Ocean view Cottage is a basic but wonderful Hotel. The reason we stayed there is its proximity to beach. You can feel the sound of waves in your room at night & can watch the sea sipping your morning tea in balcony. There is a long common balcony for all the rooms, which was advantage for us as we traveled in a group of four couples. Although you can't expect too many amenities here but its value for money having basic furniture, clean rooms & AC. Swimming pool is cleaned regularly. There is no big restaurant in the hotel but they provide good breakfast. Overall we loved our stay at Ocean view Cottage & would like to stay here again during next visit to Hikkaduwa.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manisha05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Thank you for the review.
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I really loved the location of the Ocean View Cottages. The hotel is right on the beach but with a nice pool and some great green space. It is close to some good restaurants and away from the more congested parts of Hikkaduwa.
The problem really is with the cleanliness. Maybe it was the off-season, but the attention to detail was not there. The tablecloths in the restaurant were dirty as were the sheets in the bed. There was a strange stain on the wall and when it rained the ceiling in the bathroom leaked.
Overall it was above average, but I can't go all the way up to Very Good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DohaWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews