We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute paradise with all the home comforts”
other travelers have booked this property
relax by the private pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
relax by the private pool
open plan living and dining area dining area and staircase to first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
relax by the private pool
open plan living and dining area
dining area and staircase to first floor
indoor dining area
formal indoor dining
kitchen island and hob
the kitchen
double staircase
the view upstairs
upstairs landing
upstairs landing to third bedroom
master bedroom
master bedroom view
master bedroom dressing area
master bedroom and veranda
master bedroom en-suite
veranda off master bedroom
bedroom 2
bedroom 2
bedroom 2 dressing area
bedroom 2 en-suite
bedroom 2 veranda
bedroom 3
bedroom 3 dressing area
bedroom 3
bedroom 3 en-suite
outside dining area
outside dining table and stools
ground floor veranda
Lagoon view of The Retreat
the cabana
cabana view with ponds
our paddle boat on the lagoon
jetty view of the lagoon
front view of the villa
three wheeler in the driveway
the pool and gardens
rear view of the villa
sunbeds by the pool
pool view of The Retreat
side entrance
the fantastic team at The Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Nicki S
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise with all the home comforts”
Reviewed February 13, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

I have friends who have stayed at The Retreat and I had high expectations based on their experiences but nothing could prepare me for the most wonderful two weeks I have just had. I was travelling with my partner, my sister and her partner and 2 friends who stay at The Retreat every year. From the moment we arrived in Colombo and were met at the airport by Channa from Hikkasurf, to arriving at the villa and meeting Prem and Sunitha, to meeting the “tuk tuk boys” and being transported wherever we wished, I felt like a “princess”. Nothing is too much trouble and to say we had 5 star service is not doing it justice.
Arriving at the villa I was in awe of how gorgeous it actually is - a spacious open plan lounge/dining area with tasteful cultural decor, a kitchen with everything you could need if you want to cook - a tv with DVD player and a large selection of DVDs, a selection of books to read and there is even a table tennis table!. Upstairs the 3 double bedrooms with ensuite facilities are all beautiful with excellent storage and air conditioning and all lead onto a joint veranda overlooking a beautiful swimming pool. Waking up every morning, opening the doors, listening to the wildlife, no traffic noise, looking out on nothing but beautiful trees, the lagoon and the pool can’t be beaten.
The beauty of this villa is the versatility; you could use the villa as a base and visit the sights - the Hikkasurf team will provide whatever transport you need whether it be a tuk tuk, a car or a minibus and can arrange any sightseeing tour with that personal touch...they care and it shows.... or you could spend your whole holiday in the villa with Sunitha cooking for you (she is a wonderful cook). Hikkaduwa is a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away where the restaurants serve the most tasty local cuisine which is very reasonably priced. There are bars on the beach serving very tasty cocktails and a lively nightlife into the early hours. There are shops galore selling everything from clothes to spices-wooden crafts to jewellery.
Having a beautiful villa in paradise with such an attentive team cannot be described in a review.... you must experience it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2018
Wow, what a wonderful review Nicki. We are so pleased it lived up to expectations, both in terms of the comfort of the accommodation and the service provided by our "staff". We will of course let them know that you have heaped praises on them all. We and the team look forward to your return visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W
1 review
“Honeymoon in paradise!”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Having booked for our honeymoon we were very excited. We were greeted warmly at the airport by the lovely Sanje who Phillipa had arranged to pick us up. We had looked at the photos on the website and thought we knew what we were expecting, but the villa was so much more! Prem and Sunitha, the housekeepers, were very welcoming and made our stay extremely comfortable throughout. We ate at the villa every night during our stay as Sunitha ps cooking is fantastic. Prem shimmied up a tree to get coconuts and Sunitha cooked us some coconut honey pancakes for breakfast.
The villa is spacious and light, with more than a touch of luxury. The gardens are well kept and the pool is fantastic, we were in it at all times of day and night (ask Prem to put the lights on)
The Hikkasurf boys were at our beck and call and took us everywhere.
The beach at Hikkaduwa is fantastic and there are wild turtles just casually swimming by. At sunset make sure you take your camera!
Our honeymoon was made extra special by staying at the Retreat and we would definately recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Thank you Rob and Laura for this lovely review and great comments about our team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workout22...
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely relaxing and tranquil place to stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I with our 2 daughters ages 3 and 1 1/2 along with our live-in nanny stayed 11 days at Philippas's place. The pick from the airport in Columbo was arranged by Philippa and went very smoothly. When we got to the Retreat we were greeted by the amazing staff Prem and Suneeta with warm meal already prepared for us as per Philippa's offer in an email earlier. The house was absolutely amazing and the profile pictures don't do justice. We had breakfast every morning by the pool while the kids started the day after breakfast by jumping in the pool. Prem keeps the pool perfectly maintained and cleans the leaves and stuff multiple times a day. The staff at the house also made a grocery list and got everything we needed plus for lunch and dinner choices we made. We would obviously pay for it in advance and they would bring the change along with receipts. Suneeta is an amazing cook and after second day we decided to have most of our meals at the house as nothing came close to her cooking anywhere out there. We even had some Sri Lankan local friends that came to meet us at the house and they loved the place and service as well. This is a very quite and tranquil place. We were given a cell phone and we could call the TukTuk or Car to go anywhere. The transportation part is covered by a family of father and his 3 sons. Channa (driver) for most of the time took us to where ever we wanted to go at the beach or the near by tourist attractions. All in all I am pleased to say we will definitely be coming back to stay here next year to relax and unwind.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise!”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The retreat was our first stop on a 3 week first time visit to Sri lanka and we fell in love with the place. The villa and grounds are just stunning, everything is so well cared for and it is truly a place to relax and be spoilt. Our children range from 8 to 17 they all loved it and were all happy in the pool or spotting the local wildlife. The whole team at The Retreat are amazing - we used Channa, Sanjay and the Hikkasurf team throughout our stay in Sri Lanka and they even came to pick us up when we missed the train! Prem and Sunitha are just lovely - Sunithas cooking was the best food we tasted in Sri Lanka - I recommend the curried banana. We were only there for 6 nights but we felt so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. One of our teenagers is dog mad and after finding one locally with a poorly ear Channa took us to the pharmacy to get some medication and Prem and Sunitha administered it after we had left - Channa then sent us a picture to show it had healed -my daughter was so delighted! That is the kind of people that run the retreat - some of the nicest and kindest you will meet. We will be returning to Sri Lanka in 2019 and the retreat will definitely be on our list.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Wow, what a wonderful review, thank you so much. Prem Sunitha and the Hikkasurf boys will be so happy. Look forward to welcoming you back in 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We used the Retreat as a base to explore the area. It was perfect for our needs. We are a family of 4, our 2 children in their early twenties. Sunitha, the housekeeper and her husband, Prem, who maintains the pool and the gardens, were very friendly and informative. We felt welcomed and relaxed as soon as we arrived.
We used the tuk tuk company, that is recommended by the villa, for all our travelling needs. The "boys" showed us around the area, stopping at the usual sights, but also gave us ideas as to where to visit. We hired two tuk tuks every other day and we went to a tea plantation, Galle, around Hikkaduwa, tsunami museum, river boat ride, moon stone mine, turtle sanctuary and still found time to chill around the pool back at The Retreat.
The villa had everything we needed. Sunitha cooked dinner for us every evening. She is an excellent cook and as well as my daughter being a vegetarian, she provided so many delicious meals. Prem and my husband, or my son, went to the local shops each day to buy provisions for the day, on the back of their scooter. The whole house was kept spotless and the bedrooms were very large. (The only negative thing about the place was having to get up every few hours in the night to turn the aircon back on in the bedrooms. It is on a timer switch with about 4 hours as its maximum.). We were very lucky with the weather for the beginning of July. We had no rain during the day during our entire stay of a week. It did rain in the evenings, which cleared the air. We had sunshine and a few clouds. We couldn't swim in the ocean as the waves were too rough, but we were taken to Jungle Beach by tuk tuk, where there is a natural cove and we swam there one morning. All in all it was a great holiday using The Retreat as our base and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful, spacious place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PYOUNGMAN
NORFOLK ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I have recently returned from the Retreat which belongs to the Parents of one of my work collegues therefore I followed in the footsteps of many of my collegues who have been here before and they all said that you would love it so i knew we would not be disappointed. But i could not have imagined the experiences that we have encountered. The Retreat is just that a home away from all the stresses of everyday life, with everything you could wish for to make your stay perfect. But the Icing on the cake comes from the resident team. We was treated like kings and queens here at The Retreat by Prem and Sunitha two of the kindest people you could wish to meet who have such a passion to make your stay one you will always remember. To make the perfect package the owners of the Retreat have brought on board a local family tour company Hikkasurf were drivers Channa Kumara and his team have given a first class service from Guided tours to Tuk Tuks anytime day or night to take you out and about. It is with a lump in my throat and a tear in my eye when we said our goodbyes on the last day and we had to bid farewell to these amazing people, but overall thank you for letting me have this opportunity of living in Paradise for 2 weeks.

All advance planning at booking stage was handled in a first class manner by the owners, I had many questions prior to departure and all communication via email was handled in a timely manner.

We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
wonderful review Paul, I will ensure both Prem and Sunitha and the Hikkasurf boys are aware of the praise heaped upon them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marstew
Norfolk
2 reviews
“Fabulous accommodation, excellent staff and the setting is beautiful and full of wildlife. GO”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This was our 2nd visit to the villa. We first went in 2015 and covered a lot of Sri Lanka seeing all the sights. This time we went to enjoy the villa and the local beaches using the local train as well as Tuk Tuk's. We were so looking forward to returning to the villa, which has all the luxuries to make a self catering holiday like a 5* all inclusive holiday. Shopping is easy, we took Suneetha and Channa on our first morning and got 3 weeks supplies in Galle, stocked the freezer and cupboards. We stayed by the pool watched mongoose, birds of all sizes, went to the beach swam with turtles had lunch in some lovely restaurants along the Hikkaduwa coast, went on a safari, saw elephants, crocodiles and many other small animals and birds. However, most days we spent swimming and reading by the lovely pool at the villa and spent our evenings eating the wonderful food that was prepared and cooked for us by Suneetha and Preme. All in all an amazing holiday again and we are looking forward to another 3 weeks in 2019!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
lovely review Marian, so pleased you enjoyed it all second time around as often it can be a disappointment when expectations are so high. We will welcome you back in 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing