We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!”
Review of Abba's

Abba's
Ranked #61 of 124 Restaurants in Hikkaduwa
Price range: $4 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: ABBA'S Restaurant has been open for the past 30 years and our mission is to provide high quality food and service to our customers. Please visit us during your stay at Hikkaduwa as our restaurant is just under 5 minutes away from Colaral Sands, Coral Rock and Chaaya Tranz Hotels.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Best seafood that i have ever had! Wonderful and unforgettable valentines dinner. Abbas restaurant standing few meters away from the main road, simply an escape from a busy night , with their quite and intimate ambiance. And the main event , our big platter of seafood that you are required to pre ordered a day before, an assurance that its served with freshness,and quality i must say the best seafood ever!!! Oh, that spring roll to start was also amazing! Service is heartfelt and genuine, such an amazing experience! Thank you ABBAS!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 74 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Me and My Husband was in a business trip and got a chance to taste this lovely food at Abbas.
We were amazed by the food and the service of them. Highly appreciate and recommend for anyone seek something value for money. Thanks Abbas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nadeema D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Amazing place
Maybe the best place I have been to eat and relax in Sri Lanka
Good food good atmosphere and a good company with the staff
Will definitely be back

Thank Ozwogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place a few paces up from the main road. We had the fortune to meet mr Cuda the first thing we did. Had a splendid lunch and got recommended the jumbo prawns for dinner. We decided to come back for the evening and also for the rest of the time in Hikka. Beer always perfect. And the owner mr Pathric was also very hospitable and friendly. Would recommend anyone to come here. Just walk up the stairs and you're there. Really... The food is amazingly excellent!

Thank StiffStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We ventured to this restaurant based on the positive Tripadvisor reviews, but were disappointed.

On arrival we asked about Sri Lankan curries, but were advised that because of competition from cheaper local restaurants, Abbas didn't offer them (the waiter advised us to go to Refresh for a good local curry).

My Thai chicken curry was good and chilli hot and a good-sized portion, but my wife's pasta dish was horribly sweet, whilst the red wine was chilled (yuk).

Perhaps they were having an off night......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BillF2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abba H, Manager at Abba's, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Sir and Madam,
From the management of Abba´s Hikkaduwa we would like to thank you for your visit to us and for your review. You are correct in saying that we do not offer traditional Sri Lankan curry for the reason it is an option available in over 90% of Hikkaduwa restaurant´s.At Abba´s we keep a small but varied menu with meat ,fish vegetarian, Asian and continental dishes where we put envasies on quality.We are are happy you enjoyed your thai green curry and the portion size.All our dishes are made to order using fresh local products, we do not use factory produced sauces, maybe this is the reason you felt your pasta pomodoro was sweet, our tomato sauce is made with fresh , sweet and ripened local tomato.You are correct in saying that our red wine is served chilled, it is our experience that most of our guests like it so, but if you request room temp. red wine it is available. In closing we regret that you did not have an altogether fulfilling evening, we would like to welcome you back to Abba´s in the future where we a little more communication we are confident we can satisfy your every need.

We very warm regards,

Abba management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abba's also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Galle District
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 

Been to Abba's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing