We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Review Highlights
Buddha

This statue was a real wake up call to really how tall the second tsunami wave was. 30m high was... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Beckybrummer
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Huge Buddha Statue

Whilst visiting the area devastated by the tsunami we encountered this huge Buddha... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
MarkIngmanthorpe
,
Wetherby, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 561 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hikkaduwa
from $36.00
More Info
from $49.00
More Info
from $32.00
More Info
from $1,600.00
More Info
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
293
186
74
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
293
186
74
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buddha statue beautiful memorial lost their lives japanese government terrible event fitting memorial railway track tranquil place photographic museum boxing day turtle hatchery sri lanka brings home mother nature tragic events must visit place galle road
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 561 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2017

You can't miss this statue if you come to Hikkaduwa. It's a big and very important statue and gives a comfort for people living at Hikkaduwa.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank 873heidir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017

This Giant Buddha (it is a copy of many in Afghanistan, destroyed by The Taliban) is a memorial to the worst rail disaster in world history. On 26th December 2004 the tsunami came ashore and killed at least 1700 passengers on the Colombo to Galle train, also most of the villagers who lived there.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

We stopped here on a trip from Negombo to Galle and must admit that I was absolutely shocked at the photos on display. I was not sure that such graphic photos should be shown but I was alone in such feelings as it was considered that the awful result of nature should remain for others to see. I spent some time speaking to a Buddhist monk who worked in London for some years and he gave me a blessing (donations gratefully accepted). Our visit did not allow us full time to approach the monument but just to stand and gain some kind of comprehension of the terror that wave, the height of the monument, must have brought is terrifying.

I did not notice but perhaps there should be an advance warning sign of the graphic nature of the pictures on display.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank binonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017 via mobile

Built by Japanese buddhist community in loving memory of the 40,000 people who died in the 2004 tsunami. Especially 1700 of whom were on a train just metres behind the statue. Apparently the top of the statue is the height of the killer wave!
Well worth a visit and buddhist monks on site willing to give you some history if you take the time to listen.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Suci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

If you are going to Galle via the Galle Road (ie not the express way and along the ocean), please stop and admire the monument and take a moment to remember the impact of the tsunami.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Alsha16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews