We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel room facilities unaceptable standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel room facilities unaceptable standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Two of us stayed at this hotel in February 2013.The room booked was probably the dirtiest room of any hotel that we have stayed in over the last thirty years. The Holiday company rep, described it as"Totally Unaceptable." The alternative room we were shown was not much better. We were offered another hotel at extra cost and were then expected to undertake a two night trip away from the hotel as the accommodation was not continuous, again at extra cost. Hotel generally was shabby and much in need of refurbishment.
Advertising for this particular hotel is misleading to the point of being deceptive.Later complaints to the Holiday company have been slow to be dealt with for obvious reasons. We are unlikely to use this company again.

Room Tip: Advertising for this hotel clearly states that it has been completely refurbished. We saw no evidenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    44
    29
    32
See reviews for
43
52
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very fond of the location of this hotel. Very attractive, it has a direct sea view. Sound of the sea waves is like a music to my ears. Rooms are good, food was very delicious. Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner at the dining room was excellent, well prepared. Staff was friendly and helpful. But service delays, happen frequently. It need to be minimised for a brilliant hotel to be.
Thank You !

Room Tip: Rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Hikkaduwa beach hotel was undergoing a few renovations whilst we were staying there, but there wasn’t too much bother from there to be honest. We had a good room, it needed a lick of paint but it was a good size, clean and air conditioned.

It’s a little bit at the end of the strip, if you’re after something more lively then further back down the beach is better suited however for snorkelling, it’s perfect especially when in season. The water is a little shallow so you do have to be careful when you are snorkelling as I hurt myself on the coral which is obviously painful if you scratch yourself on it! The Posiedon dive centre next door was good for all the gear and for showing you the paths through the coral and also take you to try and see turtles.

The walk down the strip is great, Hikkaduwa is a great place for little shops and touristy type treats if that’s what you like and with some really friendly people. There is also a little supermarket directly opposite the hotel which is very handy for water and also a cashpoint.

The pool was lovely , it was a freshwater pool was nice as I’d never swam in one before but really enjoyed it. The breakfast was a little hit and miss but that might have been because we got down there late both the mornings that we were there, maybe if we had started off earlier we could have gotten better breakfast.

The service was lovely, the staff were really friendly and helpful and they were always willing to help.

A lovely hotel, just needs a bit of re-decorating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingwellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I along with my cousin's family and friends stayed at this hotel for just1 night in last year November (2012). When we reached there all tired because of the journey, our rooms were allocated immediately.

We freshened up and the gang of girls decided to take a dip in the pool as it was late to access the beach. That just lifted our moods up and following that we had dinner and the manager told us that he has a DJ arranged for our group (about 25 of us). We had fun dancing away to some Bollywood dance tracks! The hotel is beach facing and we spent some time lazing at the beach deck late at night and enjoying the sounds of the waves. Loved it!!

Accommodation: We were lucky to get a room (pool view) on the top floor, which were the new ones, so they were quite spacious and clean. However, the older rooms in the floors below were old, chipped, and some of them also did not have a proper rectangular room layout. Try and avoid those.

Food: Food was pretty decent compared to some other places we ate before. So no complaints in that respect. We had buffet dinner and breakfast there, both were good.

Location: The best part- it is beach facing. We tried snorkeling the next day which was super fun.

Service - Cant comment much, as I did not try room service. But otherwise the staff was very courteous and warm.

Overall, if you can ensure getting the new rooms, I would say "go for it". However, the older rooms are complete No-No!

Room Tip: Take the new rooms on the top floor, other floor rooms are old and also don't have a good layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabond_Chic321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I walked in off the street as the hotel i'd booked was a building site. I was quoted $60 a night for a room which i thought a bit much so i offered $30 (£20) and they accepted. The Hotel is run down and needs money spending on it, but saying that i enjoyed the place sitting on the terrace over looking the Ocean drinking ice cold beer. The Staff were great my beer was replenished as soon as my bottle was empty, the food in the restuarant was more than ok. A place i'd definetly go back to but for $30 a night not $60

Room Tip: Try getting a room over looking the pool a lot quieter than the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieron54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

OK so I'd read the reviews and was dreading my 2 night stay at this hotel. I didn't book it myself but it seemed to be the only hotel in hikkaduwa willing to take a short booking over New Year. I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised and it's not at all as bad as it's made out to be. It's an old style hotel typical of the 60s or 70s with long gloomy corridors and shabby furniture and paintwork. But we had a big room, the bed was comfortable with fresh white sheets, 4 comfortable pillows, a fridge, good a/c and fan which stayed on when you left the room. The bathroom was better than many other bathrooms in Sri lankan hotels, with hot water, decent shower, proper flushing toilet (not always the case in Sri Lanka). The balcony was not the best, with a "partial sea view" but mainly overlooking a roof space, but we didn't spend any time there. Unlike other reviews we didn't find it noisy at all. We had the gala dinner on NY eve which was really nice with a huge variety of food. The staff really went out of their way to create a lovely atmosphere for NY and there were fireworks and a live band. We found the food at breakfast to be of a good standard, again plenty of choice, nothing to complain about. Wifi was also good in the lobby. The staff were friendly and polite at all times. All in all this was better than I expected.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank heavenlyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We booked 3 nights here and stayed only one. It's like sleeping in the middle of a motorway it's so noisy.
The room we had was nothing like any of the pictures we had seen and the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. The not so friendly cockroaches on our bed head were a bit disturbing.
Saying that the staff were very friendly and helpful but not enough to convince us to stay another night!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pottsandflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#9 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#13 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avenra Beach Hotel
Avenra Beach Hotel
#15 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel

Property: Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
Address: 298 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a breezy welcome at the newly revitalized Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel. The popular beach hotel is now an even better place for you to relax and unwind in style. Come to enjoy our enhanced sea view rooms with stylish brand new furniture, full size glass doors and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing