We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful end to our holiday!”
Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Staines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful end to our holiday!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

After a fantastic 6 day tour of Sri Lanka we were looking forward to a week of rest and relaxation by the beach and we were not disappointed! Although located right on the main road, once through the front door the hotel is a little gem! Not a 5 star palace, but then it does not claim to be. It is a friendly and welcoming place that could easily be worthy of 4 stars once all the renovations are complete. The location on the sea side is amazing with the most beautiful views of the sea and all the glass bottomed boats and although you can occasionally hear the traffic on the main road, it is certainly not a problem as the rooms all face the other way! In fact the sea is noisier than the cars! The friendly service is very good although food was a little slow at the bar at lunchtime-by European standards, but then you're on holiday, so we shouldn't be in a hurry. However the waiters in the main restaurant are the opposite, clearing your plates almost before you've finished, and all the other staff by the pool or gate were very attentive. The rooms are clean and in good condition and they are cleaned twice a day - thoroughly each morning and then briefly again with a turn down service. Although the wifi does not work in the rooms which would have been good, it works well in the main reception areas and by the pools and in the garden. The two pools are lovely and very often we were the only people in them. The food is very good, with a wide selection each night in the buffet and wine is about £10 per bottle. The bar is lovely with reasonable cocktails and drinks and very comfy chairs, along with a pool table which our 2 boys used regularly. Down on the beach the snorkelling is good and there is a protected area. You can also go out in a glass bottomed boat to see the coral, but make sure you book it yourself from the Wildlife centre just along the beach to the right, as this is officially owned and run by the government. Be wary of all the touts as they have to buy tickets too and make their own profit from you on top. Just along the beach you can reach other bars and restaurants and we can recommend Refresh between the Chaya Tranz and Citrus. Not cheap but excellent seafood with a wonderful beachside location. You can also walk this direction to see the giant turtles who frequent this area, and if you're lucky like us you can wade out into the sea to feed them! An absolutely amazing experience. You can walk along the road past all the little tourist shops which are great and very good value, but there is no pavement so take great care. We did not know about the spa opposite as no one told us until we were leaving, so we cannot comment on that. There is a good selection of trips on offer from here, which should be mentioned on the hotel's website. There is a beautiful estuary about 45 mins away (Madu Ghanga) with a very interesting boat trip about 2 hours long. There is a moonstone mine and a mask museum. You can go white water rafting (2.5 hour journey) or you can visit the rainforest. Obviously there are all the main Sri Lanka attractions too, but if like us you've toured Sri Lanka already, you will probably have seen all of those, but if not they are on offer. Overall this was a great hotel choice and great value. All 4 of us - parents and 2 teenage boys had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were perfect and by choosing first floor the views right across the sea are even be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very comprehensive review.

My team & I are delighted that your family had an enjoyable stay with us. We are grateful to you for sharing all information concerning your holiday in Sri Lanka, which would no doubt be very useful for future travellers.

We are deeply appreciative about your positive comments regarding our service and facilities as well as the detailed account of your stay with us.

We hope you will visit us again to experience an ‘improved Coral Sands’.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa
Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    262
    116
    25
    36
See reviews for
190
297
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It is very good staff cleanliness is OK buffet breakfast and dinner fairly OK superb garden facing beech swimming pool very clean fantastic service exallant I was in Delux room pretty good must have more channels in TV.

Room Tip: Take beech side rooms avoid main road traffic noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nihal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are appreciative of your comments regarding our location & other facilities. All comments have been noted & improvements will be done where necessary.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa
Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great hotel can get a little busy in the 2 large pools, great breakfast/ Dinner buffet, staff very helpful and friendly. WiFi only works in reception area and restaurant. Location is directly on the beach. I was in a deluxe room (21) overlooking the beach absolutely priceless.
The only thing that I thought was odd was the hotels massage/spa Ayurveda centre is across the main road (hotel gives you a discount voucher to go there) very basic but worth it for the "Steam Bath" Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean View deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased with your positive comments regarding our location, the helpful nature of our staff as well as the buffet meals.

Wi-Fi is a free service offered to our guests & currently available in the public areas. The Littoral Ayurveda Centre located across the road is affiliated to the hotel & offers a free foot massage for every check in. Improving the ambience of this area is in the planning stage & would be a reality soon.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have pretty mixed feelings about this place. The place doesnt look so impressive from the outside, thats probably because its still under renovation like most of the other Sri Lankan hotels post their long civil war ended. We booked this hotel through Cox and Kings. Those guys booked me in the standard room after paying a whole lot of extra money for which I would have got a room in Chaya Tranz if I had booked through Agoda/Booking. Anyways, we entered Coral sands and the reception was just too wonderful. The sea waves were visible rite from the entrance of the hotel, people lazing in and around the pool with their beers and the books. The receptionists, the bell boys, the waiters were all too hospitable and welcoming us into the hotel. Looked like we were about to start off on an astounding holiday. It as lovely. N then we were shown to our rooms. We were left flabbergasted exactly the way when we entered the hotel and saw the scene but this time our feelings exactly the opposite side. Almost gray white mosaic flooring, the wood splintering out the the doors, damp floors, brownish moist linen, never cleaned since bought curtains, cobwebs hanging around the almirahs. We were shocked! There was no way we could have stayed in those rooms. We went back to the reception to check if this was actually happening. They weren't taken aback because they understood what I was saying. They were sorry and they did accept that the standard rooms are a notch below, well i would say much more than just a few notches below. This was supposed to be a 3 star and you expect even a standard room to be clean and comfortable if not luxurious. We asked if we can upgrade to deluxe but they were just full, most of the hotels in Hikkaduwa were because of the long weekend in India. It was full everywhere and just when we were thinking our holiday's kinda screwed, the Hotel Manager Sanjay comes in with a great news. They just had a cancellation of their deluxe rooms and we could upgrade if we wanted. Was this news music to our ears. We were so glad and thankful that Sanjay came up to our rooms to inform us personally and make this possible. The deluxe rooms were like heaven to us after we got out of the standard rooms. The flooring, the furniture the bathroom, the linen, the curtains!!! This was like a completely different hotel. Finally our holiday began!

The hotel's best for snorkeling and if you wanna live right on top of the waves, but if you want a bit more of a luxurious time in Hikkaduwa there are couple of other properties you'd wanna try. I only saw Chaya Tranz and Citrus apart from Coral Sands. Chaya Tranz is heavenly and the rooms at Citrus are better than Coral Sands.

However, i found the people in Coral Sands and their hospitality the best. The review wouldn't be complete if i didn't thank Sanjay and Maleesha for making our stay wonderful at the Coral Sands!!!

If you ask me if i will ever go back to this hotel, i do not know. i may.

Room Tip: DO NOT TAKE THE STANDARD ROOMS even if you get a clincher or a deal. But then again the rooms may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanoo019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS
Dear Guest,

Your review has been read with much concern.

I need to state here as I have reiterated many times before that the standard rooms are basic without the additional facilities available in the deluxe rooms, hence the very low rate. The issue of the exorbitant price you have paid for a basic room is beyond our purview as your booking came through an agent who may have unfairly quoted high.

I sincerely apologize for the lack of attentiveness on the part of our House-keeping Dept., as they have failed to check every detail of the room before releasing it for occupation.

We have noted your comment about the exterior of the hotel. This area is earmarked for improvement with the next upgrading programme.

My team & I are glad that you had an enjoyable stay despite the initial snag. We are appreciative of your mention of Sanjay & Maleesha who would spare no pain to ensure that every guest has a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned with family after 12 days at this hotel. A fantastic place to stay, all the staff were amazing and the facilities were excellent. A lovely buffet breakfast, huge choice, both local and international dishes and beautiful fresh fruit everyday. Our room was spotless, cleaned everyday and had a fantastic view over the Indian Ocean. Only grievance was the bar not selling any local stout! Thanks for making us feel so welcomed. Derek, Janice, Joe and Tom Flockton-Meddeman.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room, though the road was very busy outside we slept very well with minimal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekMeddeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to note that you are back home safe after your extensive tour.

Many thanks for the superb grading given for our service, food & location.

Hoping to see you again at Coral Sands.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent location, the hotel is based on the beach front.the hotel pool is small but adequate. We had a good choice of meals and the rooms are clean. The staff are very helpful and we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are accessible easily for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

My team & I are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us enjoying the facilities on offer.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Coral Sands from the 30th july to 11th august. (With a 4 days trip around Sri lanka inbetween) We must say we enjoyed our stay here and were sad to leave. The staff here are excellent and provide a high level of service, always smiling and welcoming!
On arriving we were pleased to be upgraded from our standard room booking to a deluxe room on the ground floor, room 003. Which opens out onto the garden, we loved this, having my 6 year old son, meant he could come and go from the swimming pool back to the room.
We were on a half board basis and found a good variety of food for breakfast and dinner.
We had beautiful sunny days for our stay considering it is off season and spent time at the hotel pool, there are plenty of sunloungers and shades. The beach is lovely and just yards away accessable through a gate.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Hikkaduwa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorimcvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extremely positive review. We are delighted to note that you & your family had an enjoyable stay with us.

Families with children are allocated rooms close to the pool whenever possible – of course if there is no request otherwise. Our ever-conscientious pool attendant is on duty till 5 pm & would keep an eye on all the children.

Your positive comments regarding our service, food & location are much appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,661 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
421 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#13 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Property: Coral Sands Hotel
Address: No.326, Galle Rd, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing