We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Stopp Winter 2012 - 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
vinslöv
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First Stopp Winter 2012 - 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Arrived early in the morning from Doha, Qatar. The journey from the airport took 3hrs more than 2 hrs just to get out of Colombo, so many tuk-tuk, small bugs coming from all over the place, driving on the left o right side of the road, Once we left Colombo we were on the motorway o saw nearly no traffic at all until we got to Hikkaduwa
There we were met by the hotels GRO,( guests relations officer ), a very nice o friendly girl Maleesha - such a beautiful smile
Came into a some what rustic foaje, beautiful wooden furniture, received refreshments which we were glad to receive after the long journey
Our hotel room was bastant with its wooden furniture but this room we could only enjoy for two nights as on the third there was a rain storm o the roof flooded, the duty officer helped to change rooms but even this room had a leaky roof, we tried for the third time to get a roof that was ok. The day after we were given a new room - a superior deluxe on the third floor - a very good room, with a better view of the sea. The beds were really big o comfortable, though their blankets could be thicker
Breakfast was also a delight for our western palate, absolutly scrumptious, spicey but not too spicey. We had half board in 3 weeks o there was only a few times that there was a repris of food. Entertainment on the other hand was the same for each week, though there was different for each evening - it was interesting to see the local artists o their instruments
The staff of the hotel were very quick to resolve anything that needed to be done.The GRO was helpful in finding out about different excursions o making the arrangements for us. We missed her smiles on her day off
We appreciated the Swedish flag being on show during our stay - thank you
On the down side, firstly the small motor boats with there engines running ALL the time spurting out smelly fumes, the sales people going up o down the beach trying to sell their goods, not accepting the word NO. Then there were the crows, forever screeching from dawn to dusk. One more thing, rules should be followed by every nationality that visits referring to swimwear even small children should stay in their own area .Noise from the traffic both cars, lorries o trains could be heard from outside is also a downer, fortunately we had earplugs with us. Maleesha (GRO) made arrangements for an excursion to the moonstone quarry roughly 20 min from the hotel, good guide telling us about it, bought some stones in remembrance of our 41 Annisversary
Maleesha ,GRO, helped me with my sunburnt by bringing with her in the morning fresh aloe leaves to put on

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We have good news for you regarding the time taken from the airport. The journey from the airport should take only about 1 ½ hours once the extension of our expressway is completed as projected by the end of July. We drive on the left side of the road, but we do agree the driving conditions are a bit chaotic in Sri Lanka.

Thank you for your comments regarding our food, service & entertainment. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the storms we had during those few days. These storms caused a lot of damage in the area but luckily ours was minimal compared to the others.

Thank you too for the good comments regarding Malessha & her ever caring nature.

The issue regarding the boats & the vendors on the beach are unfortunately beyond our purview. All other comments too have been noted to ensure a comfortable stay for all guests.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    245
    111
    24
    36
See reviews for
174
286
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed with my husband and two kids in Coral Sands three times and had the best time of my life! Personnel has taken good care of us, since the first time when the kids were still under school age, until now when they are already getting close to teenage. Location is perfect, one just walks out in the morning and jumps into the see to snorkle with the giant turles and fish. Breakfast is excellent and pool area is clean and comfortable. There are nice restaurants for dinner close by and one gets to the surfing beach after 20-30 min walk by the beach. I just warmly recommended Hikkaduwa and Coral Sands to a colleague of mine!

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 can be connected for family with kids. last time we were there rooms had not yet been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

My team & I are delighted that you & your family had a wonderful time at CORAL SANDS on your third visit with us. It gives us great pleasure to welcome our repeat clients to the hotel. Due to some strange coincidence, the largest number of repeaters visit us during the month of February. This year too, we had 2 felicitation parties for them. We hope you would be with us for the next felicitation of our loyal customers.

Thank you for the recommendation given about us to your colleague.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you are looking to do some snorkelling or scuba diving, this is a very ideal location. Just by the hotel's beach side, they have a a big coral reef and fishes. I even spotted two giant turtles. They have a good scuba diving shop just next to their hotel on the beach side. Their breakfast and Dinner spread was brilliant. We even had a cultural show put up for us on one of the nights we stayed. The buffet was arranged on the coast and some local traditional dances were done. Had a great time at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in the blue wing , seaside facing room.. It had a great view and a big balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive comments.

We are glad that you had a wonderful time while staying with us. Many of our guests have had the amazing experience of being ‘accompanied’ by a turtle or two while snorkelling by the reef among the colourful fish.

We are pleased too that your stay coincided with the Beach BBQ . We hope to make it regular feature as the feed-back has been extremely positive.

Looking forward to your next visit to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed two nights in Hikkaduwa.
The room was comfortable and clean, TV and a/c.
We had a balcony.
Great pool.
Helpful staff.
Food is good - we had breakfast and dinner.
WI Fi worked only in the lobby.
Bring mask to snorklel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yossi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good comments regarding our service, rooms & facilities.

Wi-Fi is FREE and is available in the lobby as well as the bar, restaurant & the pool deck.

Snorkelling is a 'must do' for all who come to Hikkaduwa. Masks can be hired but alternatively you may bring your own.

We look forward to welcome you again to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although expensive this hotel is well woth visiting. The location is really good, the food this year was better than ever and the staff are not only friendly but work tirelessly to resolve any problems that arise.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor where you will get a good view of the sun stting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We hope you had an enjoyable holiday this year as well. Our staff will be pleased with your comments about them. Our chef would certainly be delighted to know that the hard work he puts in has been noticed & is appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

been there with my family .. everything was perfect , room had divine view .. recommend for families as well as couples for relaxed holiday . very good welcome drink and a warm welcome .. easy access to the hotel as its by the main road ..

Room Tip: ask for a downstairs room facing beach which have front and back entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxdukez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

On arrival at the hotel in the rain, we were initially very disappointed as we felt it didnt justify the high room rate we were paying ($185 inc taxes for half board). Given that we still feel it was vastly overpriced we did enjoy our time here. It is set right on the beach with a gate to keep the beach sellers away although they do still call through the fence and try to attract your attention! The pool staff were very helpful and attentive and there seemed to be plenty of loungers available - most comfortable ones are around the pool! The room was of adequate size and had a nice terrace. There was a safe in the room and a fan but no mosquito net. The bathroom was fine but could have done with some renovation.

We are keen snorkellers and were pleasantly surprised by the quantity and size of fish in the swimming area just to the right of the hotel. We were persuaded to go on a "catamaran" out to the rocks to the left of the hotel but there really wasn't anything extra to see there and wasnt worth it. Our highlight was swimming with 2 huge leatherback turtles just off the beach!

Breakfast and evening meals were both buffets and very pleasant with lots of choice. The waiting staff and reception staff were also very attentive and helpful.

There are some tourist shops along the road outside the hotel (mainly to the right) but it is worth bearing in mind that it is a main road with no pavement so you do need to take care. There are always tuk tuk drivers out the front as well who can take you whereever you want. We were fortunate to meet one called Aloha who was an enterprising young man with his own scrap book to show us what was availlable in the local area. His English was really good and would thoroughly recommend him - you can't miss him, his tuk tuk has Aloha on the front and back and he is a lovely young man. He took us to the turtle sanctuary about 25 mins away but was happy to stop and let us take photos and tell us about the Tsunami memorial etc. As we had been away for over a month and our laundry was building up he also took us to the local laundry to get it done as we were having trouble finding one and hotel laundry was very expensive!

One of our complaints about the hotel was that they did not seem to make any effort to control the mosquitos. Having come from Bali where hotels spray regularly to try to keep the mosquitos down we were surprised by the number of mosquitos everywhere. As wifi was only really available in the reception area, everytime we sat there we were bitten quite badly despite wearing repellent. We did ask for our room to be sprayed each night which was done and seemed to help a little. I know mosquitos are a fact of life in tropical climates but when you are a mosquito magnet as I am it is really annoying.

Room Tip: The ground floor deluxe rooms are a little larger than the 1st floor ones and have a nice terrace op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mir63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review. All good comments certainly make us happy but constructive criticism will always be welcome as it would alert us of any shortcomings which would in turn result in remedial action.

Our peak tourist season extends from the 21st of December – 20th of January. You would appreciate the fact that the rate is understandably higher during this time.

Mosquito nets are provided on request. Hooks are installed on the ceiling of all the rooms for this purpose.

Wi-Fi is FREE & is available in the lobby, restaurant, bar & the pool deck.

Mosquito eradicating work is done on a regular basis. Spraying is done sparingly as we have to be mindful of the guests who are not in favour of this. We will definitely be alert to the unlikely presence of these offensive mosquitos in the lobby & action will be taken if found.! We thank you for the alert while apologizing for any discomfort you may have experienced.

Looking forward to your next visit to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,
Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Property: Coral Sands Hotel
Address: No.326, Galle Rd, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing