We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great service”
Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went to Srilanka to spend some quiet time for our wedding anniversary. The journey from Colombo airport to the hotel was long and tiring but it was well worth it. We loved the location and got a great sea view from our balcony. We could touch the sea shore within 50 yards from from room. The rooms were good and beach was superb. The sea water was the cleanest that we have ever seen. The service was great too and staff took extra efforts to make us comfortable. I would like to single out Malessa at front desk who was the real star and helped us with every single request.

The only issue is that food was little bland may be to suit European tastes and there were hardly any options for the vegetarians like us.

Overall I recommend the place and would go there again in hope that we get better food options next time

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vpnirbhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

My team & I were delighted with your comments.

Thank you for your positive comments on our location & service. Maleesha is a valued member of our staff & is overjoyed with your comment! The genuine wanting to please our guests, which is an inherent quality in all of us, makes our service stand out.

Our first expressway from Colombo to Galle is being extended to the airport. Your travel time from the airport to Hikkdaduwa is estimated to be approximately 1 ½ hrs once the second phase of the expressway is completed as projected, by the end of August - according to the information available at present

Your comment regarding the variety of food has been noted. Vegetarian options are always available. Our chef will happy to oblige you with a vegetarian dish in the rare even that vegetarian options are not available.

Looking forward to your next visit to Coral Sands.

Kind regards,
Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 709 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great location and grt food marked our Tay. It's on the beach and had grt view. Also on the main road so everything was closeby. The staff were very nice but stay away from some sri lankan visiters who want to have drinks at your expense. Definitely worth staying though most rooms do not have tv or wifi.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank anubhavsinha90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review & all your good comments.

We are concerned about the remark regarding visitors who had made unwarranted requests from you. Action would have been taken had we been alerted. We are saddened that a few unscrupulous SriLankans would ruin the image of our country.

We look forward to welcome you again to Coral Sands.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went to Sri Lanka and stayed with friends near Kandy then for the last 4 days stayed at the Coral Sands Hotel. The mistake we made was staying too long with our friends over the New Year period and not long enough here! The service was excellent and friendly the food was good and the rooms more than adequate with great views out to sea.

The local area is good with some very great value restaurants close to the hotel that will cook dishes to order. I would dfinitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted with your all your comments.

We would like you to return for a longer holiday as intended, since your last stay was short.

Looking forward to welcome you again to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice resort by the beach. Rooms had a sea view and there was a large patio opening up from our rooms with sunbathing chairs to relax. We didn’t use the pools but they looked inviting. Breakfast spread was good and evening entertainment was also nice. Service was good. Good place for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NUPURJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review with all it's positive comments.

My team & I are glad that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us. Ours has always been the ideal place to relax & unwind after a hectic work schedule.

We look forward to welcome you again to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

29.12.2012
Me and my family have toured Sri Lanka the last 15
days, and this place should be the last before we go back to Copenhagen. We have stayed at many hotels during our stay, and none come close to the really low standard of what we have been presented for today. I totally agree about others writing about the really poor standard of the 'standard' rooms. This is so disappointing! What a down! I would have preferred to break off my holiday here and go home with all the good memories we have from our tour. The 2 rooms which we have both have 3 single beds. It looks like a room in a hostel. Our kids room have a TV, our room doesn't.
Christianne Nielsen, Copenhagen, Denmark

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broendholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Your review has been read with much concern.

Our property consists of 3 categories of rooms – Super deluxe & deluxe rooms which are of 4 star facilities and standard rooms which are basic without the additional facilities available in the deluxe rooms. The standard rooms, though basic, are much sought after due to the unparalleled view they offer of the Indian Ocean. Most other reviews below are a testament to the wonderful holiday experience of other guests

Your booking which came through a travel agent was for 2 standard rooms. The travel agents, as we understand, offer the available categories at different prices. The standard room rate is much lower as it comes sans TV & other amenities. You are also aware that an upgrade was not possible as we were running a full house.

We are mindful of guest satisfaction & have been upgrading the standard category to deluxe over the last few years. A steady demand for standard rooms from our guests as well as Travel agents has compelled us to maintain a few of the standard category. While maintaining as standard we hope to refurbish the remaining few in the near future.

We are saddened that your holiday experience was not up to your expectations & we apologise for that. We hope you would visit us again.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Let's get this out of the way...most hotels in and around Hikkaduwa claim to be three hours from the Columbo Airport... yeah right! Expect 4-5 hours, with at least three battling the horendous traffic of Colombo. This is not this hotel's fault, but I felt the need to put it out there after yesterdays journey! Otherwise, this place is pretty much as advertised. The beach is nice and pretty clean, although the boat traffic can make swimming/snokeling right off the sand a little dangerous. After seeing what else is on offer in Hikkaduwa, I'd say this place is the best choice. The deluxe room was very clean and everything was in decent order. We made a lot of use of the patio as well. Both pools were always very clean and busy with kids (good for us as we were travelling with a little guy.)

The staff were great, very polite and hard working from top to bottom. We were initally on the first floor, but the room was without a bath tub, so they were nice enough to move us down to ground level, even though the place was full for X-mas. The food was tasty, but got a little repetitive after seven days. The hotel went above and beyond to make the place feel festive for Christmas with and elaborate buffet, live music, and other little touches through out the week.

Overall, if you are heading to Hikka, I'd stay here!

Room Tip: If you are staying with kids that sleep early, I'd advise the ground floor deluxe rooms. That wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review.

Thank you for your positive remarks regarding the rooms & our service. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Christmas festivities. A tremendous amount of work was done by all of us, especially by the kitchen & restaurant staff, to ensure a memorable Christmas Eve for all guests at Coral Sands.

Good news to future travellers - The time taken to reach Hikkaduwa will reduce drastically & the drive would be very pleasant - once the extension to the airport of the existing highway is completed in July as envisaged.

Your comment regarding snorkelling has been noted with concern. Boats are not allowed in the sea opposite the Sands wing in the area cordoned off for swimming & snorkelling. We hope the authorities will take steps to extend this area to cover a larger area in the future.

Thanking you for your review & looking forward to a visit from you again,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

love this please,
everything went right, staff was very nice all the time. no mistakes. booked a deluxe room- was new clean and pleasant.
took half board, nice food, a lot of options, we eat only vegetarian when we travek and spuriously there were a lot of options.
beautiful view to the ocean from the room,
great breeze.
planned to stay 5 days and decided to stay 2 weeks.
will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maaianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

My team & I are delighted with your positive comments.

Thank you for your observation regarding our location, the courteous service & all other amenities. Your satisfaction with everything on offer has been proven beyond doubt by your extended stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you when you return to Coral Sands as promised!

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
367 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
425 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#15 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Address: No.326, Galle Rd, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $45 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing