We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed for 5 days in early December 2011. Originally paid for a standard double but when we arrived it turned out that all the standard double rooms have two single beds pushed together. I paid extra $100 and got a superior double on the top floor. Lovely room with a proper kingsize bed and great views from the balcony. Worth the $100 extra. Had 3 dives with the friendly on site dive company, went surfing further down the beach, rented a motorbike via the friendly reception staff. Great fun exploring further down the coast.
Free wifi in the reception area was greatly appreciated. Enjoyed all our meals in the hotel restaurant. Only down side is the busy main road behind the hotel, which can be noisy at night. Most of the hotels in the area have the same noise problem. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Get a superior deluxe room on the top floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarolGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay as well as the other activities & excursions. Your decision to spare a few minutes to share your experiences with others is much appreciated.

All of us at CORAL SANDS look forward to your next visit,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.,
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    245
    111
    24
    36
See reviews for
174
286
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Sorry guys, really don't share any of the positive reviews of this place.

I felt completely conned here due to the awful quality of the room for which our 2 night stay cost an extortionate USD$510 (and this was just a basic standard room). Admittedly $100 of that was for the New Years Eve Gala Dinner (which despite their best efforts tasted as heavily salted and tasteless as the other dinners there). Subtract that and we're left with a room that cost USD$410 for which you get: NO TV, NO wi-fi, NO complimentary bottled water, NO blankets, NO shower gel, NO shampoo (just some of those free sachets you find in magazines), NO shower caddy (so you have to put the free magazine shampoo sachets on the bathroom floor), very uncomfortable pillows and awful 1970s brown wardrobes.

The only good thing about the place was the balcony and sun-loungers outside the room and the access to the beach.

Sorry Coral Sands, we felt very ripped-off and that has left a sour taste. I don't mind spending the money at all but not on such a poor quality sub-standard room. I appreciate rooms are expensive in peak-season and NYE particularly but we stayed in better $35 places over the same period that provide everything you don't and who do not charge the excessive 25% hidden taxes that you do!

I simply can't recommend this place to anyone because of above issues. We had high hopes of staying in a really nice place to end our holiday and felt very let down. So much so, of the 7 hotels we stayed at in SL, I have to give this by far the the worst rating of all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Room_204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, contents of which have been noted with much concern.

As you obviously seem to know this was the peak season and a supplementary charge is added on - hence the high total that you have paid. The Standard rooms are sold at a lower rate as these are basic ones without the additional facilities that are found in the deluxe rooms. Despite the reduced facilities these rooms are sought after because of the exceptional view they offer of the Indian Ocean, and the guests do have access to a wonderful beach area, as well as a lot of space to relax and sunbathe. We have recognized the shortcomings of the rooms in the Reef Wing (where your room was located) and these rooms are to be refurbished this summer. 20 other standard rooms were renovated to a deluxe level, prior to this season, and we will continue to upgrade our services to ensure that guests of Coral Sands Hotel have a wonderful experience.
We had over 200 guests for our New Year’s Eve Dinner. We have had no complaints regarding the food and have received a significant number of extremely positive comments about the extensive menu offered on that day as well as on other days. The other reviews below are a testament to that. We apologize that you did not find it up to your level of satisfaction, but had you brought this to our notice earlier, everything possible would have been done to ensure that you walked away with a better culinary experience.

There has been no hidden tax. In the Booking.com voucher, it is clearly stated in the important information section that the supplementary charges and all taxes will have to be paid by the guest on top of the total given by them.

We sincerely regret any pain of mind caused & hope you would visit us again.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
155 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a half board basis (all that was available) over the Christmas period in a standard room. Hotel is on a prime location, right on the beach (although Hikkaduwa beach is not as nice as the beaches further south) and has a hotel affiliated dive shop who we found to be pretty good. Room was fine but noisy cleaners were chattering and banging in the corridor throughout the day, there was a decent sized spider (about 3-4 inch legspan) in the room one evening which I killed then the cleaners left its leg on the floor the next day and there was a small cockroach in the bathroom. Also, the hot water was sporadic (although it was overcast when I stayed so perhaps the hotel used solar pannels). The food was buffet and okay, dinner was great the first night but very average on the second. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel boasts regular returning mature customers (proudly shown in picture frames next to the number of visits - more than 30 in some cases). The pools were nice and clean and, if the congested (or sociable, depending on your opinion) feel of the place is to your liking, then you might like this place a lot - some people must do.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Your reviews help us to identify any short-comings & result in improved facilities & services.

All issues raised by you are being dealt with. The lively young lads of the House Keeping Department have been advised to keep their voices low while on duty. The head of House Keeping will make sure that cleaning is done perfectly without leaving any room for complaints. As you rightly say we enjoy our work and all this hard work is to ensure guest satisfaction.

Thank you once again for alerting us about these shortcomings.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Coral Sands again,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We travelled to Sri Lanka for the first time in December 2011 and we booked the Coral Sands hotel from the website, we were not really sure what to expect.
When we arrived at the hotel we had a VERY pleasant surprise!! The images on the website really don't do the hotel justice. It is much nicer than it looks on the website.
We were so impressed by the hotel on every level. Our room had lovely modern décor and was spotlessly clean. The pool and bar area were just gorgeous and the restaurant was a lovely place to return at the end of the day. A huge buffet was offered every night with a great mix of local and international cuisine.
The location was perfect for us, the nights were calm and peaceful- just far enough away from the 'surf back packer' lodgings found further down the coast.
Above everything else, the thing that really made our stay so enjoyable was the staff. All the staff from reception, restaurant through to house keeping were so genuinely friendly and they bent over backwards to make us comfortable and feel at home. Their attention to detail was extraordinary, this is probably the best service we have experienced in all our travels around the world. We had the impression that the staff care a great deal about their work and really enjoy working at the hotel.
If you are looking for a lovely, clean, peaceful, friendly place to stay in Hikkaduwa then look no further than the Coral Sands.

Room Tip: We stayed in an XL room and it was excellent, the first floor rooms have an amazing view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGs_vacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all the good comments re. the room, pool, bar & the staff.
Customer satisfaction is of paramount importance to us & all of us from each & every department work with this in mind. Sri Lankans are genuinely friendly & this is reflected in their work as well.
We hope to see you again at CORAL SANDS,
Kind regards,
Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Coral Sands upgraded rooms are really nice and comfortable, but the regular standard rooms are awful.But it is a super noisy, congested property great for travelling with family its quite child friendly and its difficult to get a quite spot. But the location is good to explore hikkaduwa everything is just a stone throw away, and exploring all the local markets is much easier without any transport.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade. the basic rooms are scary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unbelieevable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

As a frequent traveler to Sri lanka I have stayed at coral sands on a number of occasions. However since I haven’t visited the island in 4 years, I haven’t had the opportunity to visit Hikkaduwa. I can safely say that the level of service, the quality of food and the standards of the rooms at corals sands Hikkaduwa has increased exponentially since my last visit in 2007.
I was presently surprised when I walked into the hotel lobby and the manager in charge recognized me as soon as I walked in. I was greeted with a refreshing “ambaralla” juice and a cold towel and my bags were whisked away to my room. I stayed in one of the hotels super deluxe rooms and I was surprised by the level of luxury it offered compared to the room I had on my previous visit.
In terms of food, the hotel offered a variety of delicacies ranging from traditional Sri Lankan cuisine to various western dishes. They were more than happy to oblige when I requested for an item which was not on the menu at the time, and I was told not to hesitate in making any more special food requests in the future.
Last but not least the beach front and the location of the hotel can rival any 5 start location I have been to in the subcontinent. It has a stunning beach stretch that spans for almost 1km , and the local diving school offers various day excursions to nearby ship wrecks and other diving sites. For the less adventures traveler, there is always the option of snorkeling in the nearby coral reef, and also the opportunity to take a refreshing dip in one of the hotels multiple swimming pools
I would like to inform travelers that this is the first time I am writing a review on a hotel. The reason I write this is so that other travelers to Sri lanka can enjoy the level of service and exceptional value for money I received at my stay at coral sands. I wish to return to Sri lanka in the near future, and without a doubt I will spend a couple of days at my favorite vacation spot

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhilan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Hotel was very nice. The rooms were a little old and there was a little mould around, but still good quality compared to most other hotels that we stayed at in Sri Lanka. Food was good and the service was very good.

Lovely pool next to the beach, but there were alot of people at the gates trying to sell all of their goods to you.

Room Tip: choose 001 or 002 - as these are on the ground floor and open out straight onto the pool. Very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamb-dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Property: Coral Sands Hotel
Address: No.326, Galle Rd, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing