We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most amazing place to soak up the island life...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Relax by our beautiful pool
Veranda
Our outdoor tiki bar
Lush tropical garden
Kitchen with 6 ring stove and oven,microwave,coffee machine,fridge/freezer and other appliances
Enjoy fresh coconuts,our garden has 40 coconut trees
The Orchard room with two single beds
The living room with comfortable seating,TV/DVD and music
Master King Bed with bathroom and air conditioning
The Coral Room double bed with en-suite and air conditioning
The Orchard Room with en-suite bathroom and air conditioning
Complimentary toiletries made from organic essential oils
Veranda dining
The Coral room
Enjoy the veranda and the wildlife in the garden.
The Coral Room
Chill in the Hammock with a cold beer
Veranda
Veranda dining
Relax and watch TV
Sunset in our garden
Its the little touches that matter
Close to one of the best beaches on the west coast
Over 1 acre of stunning tropical garden to rewind and relax
Attention to detail at The Coconut Orchard
Enjoy cooking in our wood fired pizza oven
Christmas cheer
Fresh flowers from our garden greet our guests
Narigama Beach sunseekers and surf paradise
The best Sri Lankan curries are right here!
With over 39 coconut trees and many more fruits such as papaya,passion fruit and mangos help youself
Tropical Breakfast
The Coral Room en-suite
Master Bathroom
Living room
Master Bathroom
Master bathroom
Reading nook in Master bedroom
The garden at night
Desk/Laptop area
the best surf beach close-by with villa surf board storage
Unwind in the evening by candle light
Our garden is a bird watchers dream,many different species of tropical birds can be seen.
Fresh fruit in our garden
Enjoy a daily fresh coconut
Gamini our property manager will look after you with the best of Sri Lankan hospiltality
The best sunsets
Hikkaduwa beach
Mango tree in our garden
The Coconut Orchard deveilled calamari
Fresh fruit
The Coconut Orchard special seafood curry
Sunset in our stunning garden
Hikkaduwa Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
csmith75
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most amazing place to soak up the island life of Sri Lanka!”
Reviewed April 14, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

Our family of four stayed with my parents at the Coconut Orchard for a week in April - and were honoured to be the last guests at the existing villa before it is been renovated. We absolutely loved our holiday here and couldn't have wished or dreamed for more.
Here are the highlights:
Location: beautiful and large garden, just a 2 hour easy drive from the airport and a 5 min tuk tuk ride from Hikkaduwa village - and Gamini always on hand to take us there and back. There's a mobile phone in the villa with the driver's number in to make things as simple as possible. We used this for trips to the beach (kids loved the ride itself!) and for dinner by the beach.
Garden: green, quiet, large enough for ball games, lots of wildlife spotting of birds, chipmunks, and iguanas, and lots of places to sit whether you want to be as a group or enjoy some quiet shaded time.
Pool: beautifully clean, lovely depth means that you can stand up in it from one end to the other so very safe for the kids to swim in, and lots of lovely loungers all around the pool
Outdoor bar with fridge: a great place to hang out whether playing card games with the kids in the shade or enjoying sundowners
Villa: very stylish, lots of lovely finishing touches, bathroom filled with lovely toiletries, clean bathrooms, spotless kitchen, games and books to keep us all entertained. Lounge is small but we never used it anyway as too much to enjoy outside
Verandah: the perfect place to relax on a chair, eat dinner under the stars, play games and enjoy a coffee as the sun rises.
The food!!!: I could rave about this all day. We ate at the villa every night bar one as Gamini is just the most wonderful chef. We had the most incredible vegetable, meat nd seafood curries, all beautifully presented and a the perfect choice for all tastes; one night we had a seafood bbq cooked over the large fire pit which was fun in itself; and another night we had homemade pizzas cooked in the pizza oven. Gamini was the perfect host, and would ask every morning what we would like and organise all the shopping, cooking and clearing up.
The staff: Gamini and Ramia were wonderful - and looked after everything if and when we needed it. They were both so friendly, my kids adored them, and they made us feel so welcome, safe and well informed about everything.
Andrea: the perfect host from start to finish. Was always available to answer questions, and gave us some top tips for our visit from organising airport pick ups and a visiting artist to recommending that we bring mozzarella for the pizzas. She genuinely cared if we had a lovely holiday - and her personal investment and love for this villa really shows. Thank you so much!
We are sad to see this villa come down, but really look forward to returning once the new villa is built. Would recommend The Coconut Orchard to any families or couples who want the perfect Sri Lankan getaway - no better place to soak up the island life!

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKMCAULEY
1 review
“Coconut Orchard - Total Bliss”
Reviewed February 10, 2019 for a stay in February 2019

Andrea is a wonderful host and very responsive. I had the pleasure of staying in Coconut Orchard for few days February. It is a delightful house with spacious private garden and fantastic pool. The house is very comfortable, exactly as described with tremendous ambience and is located close to nearby towns and beaches if you are looking for a change from lounging at the pool…although the pool is total bliss.Coconut Orchard is the perfect get away and the owners and staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, attentive and not intrusive…Gamini’s Dahl is the best I have ever tasted. I highly recommend and enjoyed every moment all be it brief and will definitely be back. I would highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salokin Y
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed February 4, 2019 for a stay in January 2019

I spotted this property a year ago and needed a visit a property where we could just relax and be looked after. Contact with the owner was simple and painless.
On arrival there was a wonderful curry meal and bottle of bubbles awaiting us and from that moment on we did not have to lift a finger.
A wonderful garden setting with all manner of wildlife passing through the private gardens. Our breakfast was prepared for us and we sat out with the garden views of a little corner of paradise.
We only ventured out the one day to do the touristy stuff and the rest of time we relaxed by the splendid pool in wonderful settings being waited on hand and foot. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff even coconut drinks in the pool. We did not feel the need to eat out in the evenings as the quality of the food cooked by Gamini far exceeding anything locally.
I would highly recommend this piece of paradise.

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
546samant...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa - you must stay here!”
Reviewed September 30, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We booked with the owner, Andrea; who was great to deal with from the start.
When we arrived at the villa we were welcomed by Gamini the host/manager/chef of the villa. From the minute we arrived we were treated with such kindness, helpfulness, politeness and hospitality. Gamini is such an amazing host. He helped us organise a 3 day trip away with a driver who was just fantastic. We ate out locally a couple of times but in the end came back to Gamini and his cooking! From whole fish on the fire to an amazing array of seafood and vegetable curries his food was the best! He is incredible!
The villa is impeccable - inside and out. There is loads of space and the gardens are immaculate. The beautfiul flowers and wildlife we were surrounded by were lovely.
A short tuk tuk ride out when we wanted to go out was easy to organise and cheap.
Sri Lanka is a beautiful country, The people are helpful and kind. As opposed to the rest of Asia where you can feel pressure on spending your tourist dollar and everyone charges different amounts for the same thing. Sri Lanka is very different to this.
Gamin and the house cleaner- Ramya - were accomodating and just amazing. They made our holiday! We didn't want to leave and we will definately be back!
Thank you to Andrea, Gamini and Ramya xxx Sam, Alison and Tanya xx

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G
Arlesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Utter, Utter Bliss”
Reviewed August 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I was very fortunate to stay at the Coconut Orchard earlier in the year with my daughter. It is everything you could ever want from a holiday rental, but rental does not do it justice, it is more like a luxury home from home!

The staff keep themselves out of your way but are always there to assist should you need anything. Get Gamini to cook you some food, you will not regret it one bit, he did me a sumptuous seafood BBQ for my birthday.

The villa is located in a very quiet area but you are just a short Tuk-tuk ride from the busy main street through Hikkaduwa with a multitude of bars and restaurants serving fantastic local food.

All rooms in the villa were very nicely decorated and always kept clean. The grounds are simply stunning, it is very easy just to spend all day there without a pang of guilt!

This review is late because I tried to book Coconut Orchard for Christmas and remembered I had not written one yet! (It was booked up and had been since last Christmas)

Great communications with the owner, Andrea.

If you get half a chance to stay here then grab it with everything you have, you will not regret it.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantosol
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Farewell Rat Race, hello Coconut Orchard”
Reviewed August 7, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Lots of reviews talk about the ultimate this or this ultimate that - However in the case of the Coconut Orchard, it's all true. Private, serene, deeply luxurious, attentive yet invisible assistance when needed, this is pure heaven. Poolside by day, stars by night. We ate well, chilled out, made love and then made love again. Life doesn't get any better...

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukkageez...
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed August 4, 2018 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for a number of weeks from March - May 2017 and had the most incredible holiday. The house is just perfect, off the beaten track, surrounded by a cinnamon plantation and with at least an acre of private grounds. There’s a huge private swimming pool and outdoor shower, large covered plantation style verandah, BBQ & fire pit, tiki bar with bar stools and a wood fired pizza oven - and that’s just outside!!!!! Inside is equally amazing with 3 ensuite bedrooms, a large lounge with folding doors so it opens fully to the outside and an amazing kitchen. Andrea is clearly a keen chef demonstrated by how well designed and equipped the kitchen was and given we stayed for so long we were able to self cater all sorts of exciting new dishes. The icing on the cake is Gamini and his daughter Hiru who looked after us as if we were family and have since both become firm friends. Gamini’s talents are endless and he looks after everything behind the scenes and will be around as much or as little as you’d lIke. He’s also an amazing chef and did BBQ, Pizza, Garlic giant prawns and fantastic Sri Lankan curries at the drop of a hat. Hiru’s smiling face greated is every morning as she did the housekeeping and she surprised us every day with a fresh flower arrangement in the bowl on the vernadah. Finally Andrea is a super host, not only does she have an exquisite eye for interior designing but she was very communicative and helpful on any queries we had. Thank you Andrea for sharing the Coconut Orchard with us, it has become our little piece of heaven in Sri Lanka and we intend to return each year.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing