We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD”

Home Grown Rice and Curry
Ranked #12 of 110 Restaurants in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good food..i enjoyed food here.If you want to taste sri lankan style rice and curry g there.small smart place.recommond for everyone

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank priyankara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    57
    20
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just 100 meters from the main road - and you are in another Hikkaduwa, better one. Comfortable terrace, smiling young girls and great, tasty, yummmmy food! It took time to persuade my fife to taste local food but after visiting Home Grown and eating their curry she insisted on next visits. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baruh_vonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went to this restaurant twice as food so good and it seemed even better second time of going. The restaurant is just off the main road but it obviously very popular as very busy and a large turn over of customers. local curry and the noodles were awesome. would definately recommend this place

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank VILLA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Great place for traditional rice and curry at a very reasonable price, was recommended to us by one of the locals and was not disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank leannedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I LOVE this place :-)”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a hidden gem in Hikkaduwa and we were so happy to find it on Tripadvisor. The value here is amazing, you cannot beat it. There are many pricey restaurants in hikkaduwa that offer a lot of the same things but this beats them all :-) it's also very refreshing to be off the main strip as this is tucked down a side street. The restaurant is very cosy offering only a few tables which makes it more intimate and personal. The staff here are very lovely and accommodating and very happy to help. We have been here several times so far and they also offer a very good breakfast. I'm sure we will eat here a number of times again before we leave Sri Lanka. I usually like to try as many restaurants as possible but I can't possibly when they offer such amazing food and value.

Go here if your on a budget or just want a hearty Sri Lankan meal. I would recommend the curry and rice special, it's awesome!

See you again soon :-) x

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Grown Rice and Curry also viewed

 
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 
 

Been to Home Grown Rice and Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing