We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, run by beautiful people”
Review of Why Not Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Why Not Guesthouse
Ranked #79 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, run by beautiful people”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely family run business with great rooms, yummy food and full of big smiles!
We checked out a lot of guesthouses and restaurants and Why Not was by far, the best value, best food, and it had such a good vibe.
We stayed in one of the ground level rooms and it was perfect for us. Clean and bright with its own bathroom and table and chairs out the front. From there you walk into the beautiful restaurant overlooking the ocean.
They also have a cool surf shop run by Dimuthu where you can hire boards and have surf lessons. He ended becoming a great friend of ours as did all of the staff.
We joined in the weekly ping pong and fusball tournaments which were always really fun nights!
The staff were so good to us, nothing was ever too much to ask. The treated us like family.
Overall, we had an amazing time staying at Why Not. We highly recommend it and we will definitely be going back! xxxxxxxxx

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    10
    0
    8
See reviews for
5
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The people who run why not are the nicest, friendliest people I met in the whole of Sri Lanka. They would do anything for anyone even threw me a birthday party after knowing me for only three days. The eight days i "stayed" here were incredible and it is purely down to the hard work of Dimuthu, Himalli and all the staff at why not. It is situated on a perfect stretch of beach for surfers even having a reasonably priced surf shack attached. Mama did even help me heal my hand when it swelled due to a suspected spider bite. I could not recommend this place more making some amazing hopefully life long friends along the way, From the Captain's Wife/Ship Medic.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good standard, If you can afford it the penthouse is absolutely stunning as are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonSunbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time at Why Not after spending 12 days here in October I could not wait to get back for 35 days this time. They have a good selection of rooms to suite all budgets and the family who run this place could not be more friendly if they tried. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they looked after me like a son. Food in the restaurant is very good and well priced for a beach front restaurant. I will definitely be coming back to Sri Lanka soon and Why Not is the first place I will head too. Thank you to everyone there for making Sri Lanka and Hikkadua such an amazing place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have stayed in the Why Not for two years running, the latest was in Jan 2014. I like the place for a number of reasons. It is right on the beach with an elevated position ideal for sunset watching.
The family who own the place and the staff are very friendly and look after the guests very well. I have seen the old mother making and applying herbal remedies to guests who have been injured surfing etc.The owner can arrange any service for you at a good price. You get a home away from home feeling.
Its a nice hang out place with a lot of nice people around.
There are some very nice rooms upstairs well furnished with a great view. There are basic rooms downstairs at cheaper prices, they are not luxury but at the price they are good value.
There is a good bar restaurant with free football, table tennis, good music or you can just take in the view.
There is a great surfboard rental center on the premises.
I am very surprised to read one review here stating that people were dishonest towards him, my experience was totally the opposite.
I think the fact that myself and many other guests go back year after year speaks for itself.
I recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

One of the best places.Nice location,just on the ocean.Very tasty food(we tried cuttlefish,octopus,prawns on gill,different noodles and rice).
Nice waiters.
The design of the restaurant is very pretty. With great music,not all the time,but often.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved our visit at Why Not. Not only because of the location just by the beach. But the staff was amazing. Kind people who helped us with everything. It felt like I was a part of the family there.
The food was great, I loved the tea. And it was the perfect place for hanging out or just do nothing but looking at the sunset.


Greetings from sweden!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fannie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've been coming to Hikkaduwa since 2005 and staying at Why Not. I am really surprised at a couple of the reviews here, because I and my friends have always had a fantastic time staying here and when I have stayed at other places in Hikka I have never found a place that equals it with regards to safety, comfort and price.

Why Not is on the sea-front and has a range of rooms to suit all budgets. The downstairs rooms are cheap and cheerful and perfect for the budget backpacker or somebody who wants a cheap weekend away. When I was volunteering I stayed in these rooms. Since I have been working I have usually opted to stay in the rooms upstairs that are newly renovated, have a view out to sea, have lovely comfortable beds and a 'chic' cement finish / Asian minimalist feel to them. Again, for the prices they charge I think it is very reasonable.

One of the main reasons I keep going back to Why Not is the family, they are lovely people and give the beach-side guesthouse a family feel to it. I also REALLY value the fact that you can go there by yourself, as a single female, and feel extremely safe and not worry about being pestered by anybody. Moreover the other people who stay there generally tend to be friendly and warm, especially those that go back year after year. Dimathu who runs Why Not is fab and can sort anything out for you at a fair / good price, whether it is a van to Colombo or renting bicycles.

Overall, over the years this place has been amazing and has given Hikkaduwa that 'homely' feel for me, so much so that although I am getting married to a lovely man from Colombo, we are getting married in Hikkaduwa and having the wedding reception there because we love it so much and Why Not is part of why we love the area. We want our friends and family to love Hikka too so we will definitely be taking them to Why Not and recommending it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmseColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.2 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Hansa Surf Hotel
Hansa Surf Hotel
#91 of 172 in Hikkaduwa
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfing Beach Guest House
Surfing Beach Guest House
#50 of 172 in Hikkaduwa
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Long Beach Guest House
Long Beach Guest House
#73 of 149 in Hikkaduwa
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Beach
Hotel Royal Beach
#82 of 149 in Hikkaduwa
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Universal Beach Guest House
Universal Beach Guest House
#7 of 149 in Hikkaduwa
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Why Not Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Why Not Guesthouse

Property: Why Not Guesthouse
Address: 101 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family-run restaurant and guest house in a fantastic beach location offering spectacular sunset views and surf.1 top floor ocean view apartment offering spectacular views, sleeps three, one double four poster bed and one private single bed, lounge, private balcony, a/c, bathtub/shower and hot water.2 double modern en suite rooms with fan, one offering an ocean view balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Why Not Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing