We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and peaceful”
Review of Sea Front Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Front Villa
Ranked #64 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice and peaceful”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

nice and friendly family. near to the beach and busstop!
the rooms are clean and a good local breakfast.
I can recommend this beautiful and quiet location,
very near to Hikkaduwa,..the place to be :)
Sonia from Switzerland

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soniarosa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Sea front. Rooms are very basic but clean. The guesthouse is about one kilometer away from the Hikkauwa beach with all the reastaurants. Be aware of the street noise also at night (as everywhere in Sri Lanka). The family was very nice and helpful and served good basic breakfast. Good quality for the money, good guesthouse but don't expect luxury. We warmly recommend this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snttu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a perfect stay in this family run hotel! We booked for 2 days and end up staying for almost a week.

The rooms are simple but nice, comfortable and clean, with a lovely patio. It is a small hotel, so since we booked two rooms we almost had the whole place to ourselves.
The owners are incredibly friendly, though never intrusive. The whole family is is very helpful, especially the owners son Saranga. When one of us got the flu, they made tee all the time and even took us to the doctor. They really stretch to make you feel as comfortable as possible and you really feel part of the family. The owners wife is a seamstress, so you can also order some clothes by your liking. You can hire a car and they organize trips or the ride to the airport.
The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk to bars and shops or a short ride with a tuk-tuk (100 rupees - if you are a good bargainer). The distance from the strict center and the surfing spots is what makes it more easygoing, since Hikkauwa is otherwise quite crowded with tourists. (see the map) The only downside of the location is that the road is a bit noisy, but we heard that the road plans in Hikkaduwa are about to be changed anyway.

We would definitely recommend it to others as well. We stayed in lots of hotels through Sri lanka an this place was one of the best places for this value.
Thank you Saranga and the family!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 10ab12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at ‘Sea Front’(we actually stayed on for almost 4 weeks). Wasantha, Pearl and Saranga are welcoming but never intrusive. Anything you ask for is provided with willingness and a smile – they really seem to care for their clients.

The rooms are comfortable and very clean. If you need an extra chair or table, it is immediately available. Although there is no a/c, the rooms are always shaded and the large ceiling fan keeps the air comfortable. The en-suite bathrooms are clean and functional – the cold water shower actually starts to run lukewarm after a while!

The included breakfast is served in the family dining room or on the patio terrace. Lots of fruit, eggs cooked to order, plus lots of toast and jam. Coffee and tea of course.

An added bonus is Wi-Fi, plus Saranga will let you use his laptop by arrangement which saves the hassle and cost of getting to an internet café downtown.

There is a ‘guest’ lounge where you can watch TV – Saranga subscribed to BBC News especially for us at no cost! The patio terrace is a nice place to sit in the shade. Both nice places to sit with a drink.

‘Sea Front’ is positioned just across the road from the most beautiful stretch of sandy beach (nicer and quieter than Hikkaduwa), so in about a minute you can be dipping your toes in the Indian Ocean. The sea can be rough though, so be careful. The road is noisy day and night, so bring ear plugs with you if that might bother you. We actually got used to it! A positive though, is that the frequent buses stop right outside.

We end this review with a ‘thank you’ to Wasantha, Pearl and Saranga.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aghada_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaLanka Hotel
CasaLanka Hotel
#76 of 152 in Hikkaduwa
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star Holiday Resort
Star Holiday Resort
#21 of 152 in Hikkaduwa
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Front Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Front Villa

Property: Sea Front Villa
Address: 795/B, Galle Road, Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Front Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The facilities and services provided by Sea Front ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel provides tours, car park, smoking area, pets allowed, Wi-Fi in public areas to ensure our guests the greatest comfort. Step into one of 3 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as fan, internet access – wireless, desk, non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea Front Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing