We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
69
45
32
20
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
45
32
20
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini cinemasea viewbaby poolgm mrhousekeeping managerfamily suitethe beach is very nicefamily vacationbreakfast and dinner buffetspecial thanksbig balconyf b managereasy accesspool barhotel staffrooms are cleanfantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 198 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

This budget hotel. Staff is also kind and helpful. Some rooms are not good(bad smell had) They are not putting salt and salt holder is not in the table. We need to ask salt holder that from chef. Averagely for price this is good.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Isuru L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biula C, Rooms Divisional Manager at Lavanga Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Dear Mr. Isuru,

Thank you very much for your review & for sharing your experience with other travelers. I appreciate the comment you made on our staff. I have already brought the other issues to the people concern to take immediate actions.(sorry for not getting a chance to correct it during your stay). hope this hasn't put you off a return to lavanga.
Best Regards,
Biula Chandani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Was all in all a pleasant stay. Room was huge and perfect condition. Big balcony.we got an upgrade for free. Swimming pool excellant. Acceptable gym. Good entertainment for kids. Not much places for staying at pool or beach.
Restaurant was a problem. Some excellant food but also some totally disappointments. Pork schnitzel I could not find the meat. And nearly black baken. Pizza made with ketchup would kill all Italian gourmets. Never the less I can suggest the hotel due the very friendly and helpful personal. And due the location and room. Improve some meals and you are a very good place.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank BB T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biula C, Rooms Divisional Manager at Lavanga Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experiences. I very much appreciate your comments on our clean and comfortable rooms. We try to provide the best accommodations you can get in Hikkaduwa. I am glad that your kids loved our out door & indoor entertainments. We are in the process of expanding the pool deck & will be finished soon.
Per your comments, we have already addressed the chef & the kitchen team regarding the food quality & the taste. They took it very seriously & would correct the mistakes.
We hope to see you again in the future and you can reach me directly at 077 0126197 if I can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

This is our second visit to Lavanga Resort n Spa and as usual we have been warmly welcomed by the front office staff and we really enjoyed in our stay and we need to thank to the chef for the our daughter’s 18th b day. And also need to thank all the staff including room boys we really appreciated their help and all are with lovely smile and special thank to the pool incharge he gave our children the maximum happiness with the safety
This is a very nice place to relax with your family and friends
Dayananda

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank sakethika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biula C, Rooms Divisional Manager at Lavanga Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Dear Mr/s Dayananda,

Thank you very much for staying with us for the second time & for the wonderful review with perfect ratings. Our well trained entire staff is one of the major asset we have at Lavanga who always makes our guests satisfied & makes their stay memorable.
We look forward your third visit soon & if any special requests , please do not hesitate to contact me on 077 0126197.
Thanks & Best Regards,
Biula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

Lavanga is a wonderful hotel with a wonderful location right on a beautiful beach.
Excellent service, excellent breakfast and food. Our suite was big, clean and perfect. It was so beautiful with a big balcony with a beautiful seaview and a private spa. All the staf were so kind, helpful and professionel. We enjoyed the pool, the sea and the private Cinema so much.
We stayed here twice during our holiday in Sri Lanka in February 2017. We liked it so much so we changed our plans in Colombo and went back to Lavanga. It is the best hotel we have visited in Sri Lanka.

The executive housekeeper Sanjeewa Dimuthu gave us excellent service every day - thank you so much - we are very gratefull.

A good advise to the hotel:
Everything is perfect - but please do not play dancemusic in the public toilets and by the pool. The nature sounds from the sea is perfect. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank B8018ZIchristinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biula C, Front Office Manager at Lavanga Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We were pleased to read the positive comments regarding our lovely location, facilities & the staff. Also Lavanga management really appreciated the suggestion you made on music in the public toilets.
We look forward your next stay at Lavanga.

Best Regards,

Biula - FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is just on the beach which is perfect. If you will get a room get the one with balcony! Otherwise it doesnt make sense. We were lucky that they upgraded us, which im very thankful for.

They clean the rooms daily. Replenishing water and tea. We were happy with that.

The rest is not that nice. They have some problems with english, so it wasnt always easy to get what you ask for. The first day i went to the restaurant to ask for bottle of wine, they were looking at me like im asking for drugs but nevermind. They had one type of wine each (red,white) the white one was nice. Before i took the white i saw sparkling wine in the fridge. But it seemed to be open. The waiter said no no its ok its new, i clearly saw its only half of the bottle and the net from the top was removed. He was trying to sell me that one, so just be careful if you ask just for one glass. The bottle was there for god knows how long.

The breakfast buffet was nice. Eggs, curries, dhal, pastries, bread, all you need. We had buffet only once because the rest of the days the hotel wasn’t full at all. So we had menu with eggs, waffles and pancakes. Also really nice, just the waiting time is too much, waiting for a tea for 20 minutes and fruits for 40 minutes , Im not joking, is ridiculous!! In empty restaurant!

We also had late dinner in the restaurant. Im sorry to say it but it was horrible, lentil soup was basically flour with salt and pepper and fried calamary still had flour on a top. We returned them.

The staff there was always super friendly and smiling but unfortunately that didnt solve the problems

Its also very low maintenance, its a shame because the hotel would have a great potential. So don’t expect luxury new hotel. People are swimming in jeans in a pool and everything looks quite old.

Pick a hotel somewhere closer to hikkaduwa beach and you will be happier there are many options, also on the beach and even for lower price.

Good luck and enjoy sri lanka, it’s beautiful!!! ❤️

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Radka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biula C, Rooms Divisional Manager at Lavanga Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Dear Mr. Radka,

Thank you for your candid review. We really appreciate both positive & negative comments you made, because its only through feed back such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.
Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had with our restaurant staff & food. We have already had a meeting with the staffs concern & started necessary training. Also resort infrastructure developments are on progress & that will be finished before the tourist season starts.

Thank You!

Best Regards,

Biula C
RDM














Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews