We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value family room in friendly hotel”
Review of Manidi Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manidi Villa
Ranked #88 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good value family room in friendly hotel”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here and found the atmosphere very relaxing and the staff most helpful.
We found genuine family rooms hard to locate in Sri Lanka but this one is a good size and felt quite airy.
Its set on the top floor which is nice but you will need to be active and use the stairs as there's no lift.
Sadly like many towns in Sri Lanka , Unawatuna has a stray dog problem which results in nighttime barking / howling , this is no fault of this or any hotel but maybe they could get together with local businesses and deal with the problem as otherwise this hotel is nicely located away from the other noise of seafront bars.
We didn't eat in as there's so many good restaurants in Unawatuna to try but were invited to share their special new years Singhalese breakfast which was a nice experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were walked here fom another property of the owner , although we had reconfirmed booking there
Breakfast is basic, butter, jam, toast , coffee,
Staff is rude, especially the manager . Room is not cleaned for 4 days.
The mosquito net on the window had 3 big holes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in early Jan 2013 and were very satisfied with our stay. The owner and staff were welcoming and friendly when we arrived, providing juice and carrying our bags upstairs. The villa is lovely and our room was very clean. It was large and had a 4 poster bed which came with a mosquito net (we only had to plug one hole with tissue paper) and basic en suite, which was good enough. The room had WiFi but there was a better signal on the terrace where we emailed / surfed the internet from the comfort of a hammock. The beach was around 150metres walk but we were delighted to find that we were at the best (ie quieter, aka less touristed) part of it. The Japanese pagoda was a 10 minute walk, although when we were there there was some kind of construction work going on at it. We never ate at the villa because there were some excellent restaurants nearby at much better prices than the main part of the beach - try the small place underneath Upul Guesthouse, along a small corridor to the side. It's cosy (4 tables) a bit chaotic (make sure she actually takes your order before the two tables that arrive after you) but extremely tasty (we ate here twice) and well priced. There are plenty of villas and guesthouses in the area but if you're not bothered about the sea view then consider staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Manidi Villa, Unawatuna, could be better. The owners and staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean but oddly furnished. With more attention, particularly to detail, the property could be much better. For example, I had great difficulty locking/unlocking my room door, the mosquito netting in the bathroom was full of holes (and no blind/curtain), the breakfast jam was cheap and nasty, the bedroom curtains couldn't be closed easily... I wouldn't recommend it - there are better places at similar prices. A shame because it could be good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, chilled guest house - close to the nicest part of Unawatuna Beach, and close to the best restaurants.

After cancelling the awful 'Surfcity' guest-house, the 'Manidi' was a revelation.

The owners were lovely - so friendly and welcoming, - and nothing too much trouble. Rooms spacious but basic - mosquito nets and firm mattresses, and hot water that was hot!

A great,relaxing vibe to the place and superb value for money.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaversLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in this great villa in Unawattuna. It has great and peacefull location, 5 minutes from the beach. The staff is extremly friendly, smiling and always helpful. Rooms are cleaned every day and are nice furnished. We were always relaxing on the terrace with lot of plants. Just internet connection was a bit slow but was ok. Unawattuna is a great place with a nice beaches. We enjoyed Manidi Villa very much and we would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: choose a rooms in the 2 floor, also the rooms with a fan are fine, nr. 13 is nice. Relax on the terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Citrus Hikkaduwa
Citrus Hikkaduwa
#7 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
834 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relax Inn Hikkaduwa
Relax Inn Hikkaduwa
#70 of 150 in Hikkaduwa
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaLanka Hotel
CasaLanka Hotel
#76 of 150 in Hikkaduwa
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manidi Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manidi Villa

Property: Manidi Villa
Address: Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna,, Hikkaduwa 28000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manidi Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Manidi Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing