We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heart warming experience”

Turtle Hatchery Hikkaduwa
Ranked #4 of 32 things to do in Hikkaduwa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Mangalore, India
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
343 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“A heart warming experience”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

To start with there are a lot of turtle farms on the way to Colombo, I guess most of them are same. Although the entry fees is on the higher side, its worth it because you can interact with the turtle very closely. Its also a learning experience to know about this endangered species. A guide tells you all the info on the turtles

There were quiet a lot them the hatchery we visited in various tanks. We as adults enjoyed it a lot. If you going there with children I guess they would have lot more fun holding these tiny turtle (and few big ones too). There is a souvenir shop too

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mgprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    330
    123
    31
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Turtles”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It was lovely to see the eggs and baby turtles which are put back in the sea. Not so sure about the fully grown ones in small tanks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

It was great! The baby turtles were so cute I got to hold one. If u are a turtle lover u have got to come here! Tonight I'm going to release some baby turtles!
(This review written by my 8 yo daughter- the man who runs this is a true gem- it's free but we left a donation to help him feed and help the turtles. Go here. Learn about the turtles and his history which is quite sad however he has risen above a lot :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacsea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very touching experience”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

You can see and touch a lot of turtles, new-born and a very old ones there. The owner will tell you stories of each of his pets :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Memango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We visited the turtle hatchery on the way to Galle. They do a fantastic job there. The fishermen sell the turtle eggs to them and they keep them and let them hatch. They are very caring and have some old and also injured turtles there. They let us hold a baby turtle that had just hatched and we put it in the water so it could swim.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hulagirlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Hatchery Hikkaduwa also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Galle District
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 

Been to Turtle Hatchery Hikkaduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing