We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Idea, Enclosure is Cruel”

Turtle Hatchery Hikkaduwa
Ranked #4 of 32 things to do in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Idea, Enclosure is Cruel”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Loved the idea that they were saving turtles. A little cruel as full sized sea turles were enclosed in 1.5 x 1.5 meter concrete boxes (Possibly 2x2)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    323
    121
    30
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Turtles”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Turtle hatchery, we were shown around each of the ponds and got to hold a baby turtle and also tickle a larger one. They are obviously running the place on a small budget, there's no money wasted on fancy trimmings etc but it is doing a wonderful job of helping protect the turtles from extinction. We weren't asked for donation or entrance fee, but were happy to buy some items from the 'gift shop' as a way of donating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FirstLadyNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Creature!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were saddened by the story of the founders of the Turtle Hatchery. There were few big Turtles handicapped which was very sad. It is a small place with few ponds for turtles of different ages. We knew these places depended on donations so we donated few hundred rupees. While we were getting on our bike a guy walked up to us and handed us a business card, we smiled and thanks him, then he pointed out to the bottom of the card that said 500 rupees each, basically he was asking for more money, which would have been fine to pay at the entrance but sneaking up like that felt like a scam and we left feeling disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank octobersym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Turtles”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Good place to know more about turtles ,its basically for the protection of the endangered species...they have turtles from egg to the large size ones..they allow you to take the photographs if you want to

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bangalore_ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“you get to hold them”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

this is a very small place... and the highlight is you get to hold the just born ...

found the sad story narrated by the caretaker a bit carried away ... he will ask donation for the temporary shed which is broken and the way he is struggling to maintain the place ...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VigneshBalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Hatchery Hikkaduwa also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Galle District
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 

Been to Turtle Hatchery Hikkaduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing