We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
Review of The Red Lobster

The Red Lobster
Ranked #30 of 111 Restaurants in Hikkaduwa
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We ate lunch here, I had a "spring" roll, husband had prawns in garlic sauce, his was a large serving of fried shrimp, very hot very fresh very large. My spring roll was a cross between an egg roll and a chimichanga. The filling was good and perhaps it was a good spring roll but it wasn't what I expected. The bill with 1.5 lt of water was under $10.00 usd.

Worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdlanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    115
    47
    31
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“tasty and pleasant”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

everything was really good,tasty and wide variety of food. we also liked service. best place to eat in hikkaduwa

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rice and Curry - Yummy!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This restaurant does not look typically Sr Lankan, BUT, it served the best traditional Sri Lankan rice and curry meal for two we had out there. SO much food!!! If you sit upstairs it's a lovely atmosphere, with music, incense and the view from the balcony.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ravenjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice curries”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

very good food and beer at very good prices staff very pleasant

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great curry”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I ate here every night. On the first night I had pizza that wasn't very nice but my own fault,when travelling in Sri Lanka if you order pizza you will get a big biscuit with tomato ketchup and rubbish cheese.
I lean't my lesson and ordered the vegetarian curry platter on future occasions. This was absolutely delicious and each night I came was given more dishes for the same price.
Its a nice place to sit upstairs and have a beer and people watch and the staff are very nice and will spend time telling you about the area.
Recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pablo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lobster also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 

Been to The Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing